No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - A1 Summerville Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
33 Orchard Road, Whickham, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4TG
The Summerville Guest House offers three star rated bed and breakfast accommodation in the picturesque village of Whickham, just four miles west of Gateshead. This lovely village location is set on high ground and looks out over the River Tyne. Its location allows guests the best of both worlds – quiet surroundings yet convenience for visiting Gateshead and the Metro Centre. The Angel of the North, Beamish and the Northumbrian coastline are within easy reach. The A1 is nearby, providing access for those travelling between Scotland and the south of England. The A69 provides access to the Lake District. As well as comfortable rooms, The Summerville offers a guest lounge with satellite TV and fridge and microwave facilities. The tariff includes breakfast choices from an extensive menu, which includes a full English breakfast (including vegetarian options), a continental platter, fruit of the day and traditional smoked Craster kippers. Guests are assured of a warm welcome at the A1 Summerville Guest House. *****PLEASE NOTE OUR CHECK-IN TIMES*****
Picture of A1 Summerville Guest House, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice atmosphere!
I have limited mobility, the owner carried my bags to my room, explained where to find everything and took an order for my breakfast, breakfast was great and when I was ready to leave he carried my bags to the car. I didn't feel at all uncomfortable travelling alone, there was a very nice atmosphere, I have recommended the place to colleagues who will also be in the are from time to time, accommodation is pretty basic but that was all I needed! Would definitely go again should I be in the area!

Reviewed by
S Reid

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay!
My sister and I really enjoyed our stay at the A1 Summerville Guest House. We had a free breakfast included in our stay which was delicious!! Paul was extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. I would definitely stay here again if I was returning to the area and would highly recommend the guest house.

Reviewed by
Samantha C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic overnight stay
everything about the A1 Sommerville Guest House was fantastic, and thank you to Paul for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
Leslie Stobbs

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice B&B away from centre
B&b is a bit plonked in middle of a housing estate. Clean and tidy. Very friendly people. Breakfast well cooked and good quality (though sausage very thin and not so nice and no beans!!) there's 4 or 5 pubs round the corner including a wetherspoons if you want to stay local, or a taxi into the entre will cost around £8.00.

Reviewed by
D Morgan

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paul the owner Fantastic Host, Brilliant Place, Great Breakfast All Good, I'll be Back !!!
Stay Here it's the Dog's Danglies !!!
Paul is a Proper Good Host

Reviewed by
Jeff Dixon

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good quiet location if you have a car to get into Newcastle
This is a semi-detached house In Whickham, quite close to the A1 by the metrocentre turnoff, and about 15 minutes drive from the centre of Newcastle. I understand there are restaurants within walking distance if wished. Parking is on the street, just off the main road. Paul was very helpful and did a good breakfast. The room was spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds, and a bath. A couple of small points for improvement: the towels had seen better days - time for replacement - and the radiator could do with a lick of paint, but otherwise a quiet and comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
R Gardner

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, excellent value
An unexpected visit to the hospital meant I didn't get breakfast. The proprietor was really friendly, couldn't do enough to help. The breakfast room has facilities like TV, ironing board etc for guests- and a phone book which was very handy for finding a local taxi at 5.20 on Sunday morning. The bed was comfy and the room was very clean. Basic but up to date fixtures and fittings, plenty of hot water on Saturday evening. Brilliant value for money, strongly recommended.

Reviewed by
Carol I

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here following the other reviews on Late rooms and would throughly recommend it.Paul was really welcoming and helpful throughout my entire stay. The room was clean as was the ensuite. The area was quiet yet close to the A1 for travellers. Paul recommended some nice Pubs to eat in and his local knowledge was excellent. The range of breakfast choice was far more than more expensive places that I looked at and also delicious . I throughly recommend this B&b and if I return to the area I will certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
S Pearce

From Hebden Bridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab & friendly place to stay
Paul, the owner is a really nice friendly guy. the place itself was so easy to find and spotless with a really homely feel to it.... our first ever trip to Newcastle and Summerville was literally minutes away from the place we needed to be. Nice quiet area but minutes from restaurants/Metro Centre. Lovely comfy bed and full en-suite bathroom. Breakfast good variety from cereal to cooked. Would definitely recommend/stay here again....... A real little gem!! thanks again for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
jackie b

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but perfect
Small friendly guest house at the right money.
My room was small but perfectly functional, very clean & did the job.
I was working long days, out by 07:00 and not back till after 23:00.
Breakfast started at 07:00 as I was leaving but the host but me up Bacon & Sausage baps to go - top fella.

Reviewed by
A Rayner

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next