No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cook and Barker Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Newton on the Moor, Felton, , Alnwick, NE65 9JY
Situated close to the main A1 dual carriageway, some 35 minutes from Newcastle and Berwick, you will find that as we are well positioned for Newcastle Airport and North Shields Quay, The Cook and Barker makes the perfect staging post for those visitors with European or international destinations in mind. Alternatively, we are ideally placed for the businessperson travelling to the Scottish Capital and Border towns and for the tourist exploring the heart of rural Northumberland. Our clientele come to wine, dine and stay at the Cook & Barker for the best of reasons: the combination of excellent cuisine, a delightfully traditional warm and welcoming atmosphere, well-equipped and comfortable rooms, the professional and agreeable service and the relaxed and friendly ambience. The attractions of our nearest town of Alnwick have recently led to its acclaim as the “Best Place to Live in Britain” and the fame of both The Alnwick Garden, with its magnificent water feature and forthcoming tree-house complex, and castle, with its Harry Potter memorabilia, grows daily. With more castles than any other county Northumberland is a magnet for those visitors keen to investigate the North’s history. The Cook and Barker’s nearest castle is, of course, Alnwick, (only 5 miles away), base of the ancient Percy family and, nowadays, home to the Duke and Duchess of Northumberland. Visit Alnwick itself, County town of Northumberland with a range of historical listed buildings, and find time to marvel at the Alnwick Garden, - dreamed of and built through the hard work and dedication of the Duchess and now owned by a charitable trust, with its formal parterres and elaborate waterfall feature; note, too, the next phase of development - a tree-house complex that is expected to be the largest in the world!
Picture of The Cook and Barker Inn, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An amazing place a hidden gem in Northumberland
A great break in July 2014 with friends . It was perfectly place for going to see the Northumbrian Coast . The Cook and Barker is definitely a four star Inn with a newly built annex where the bedrooms are , therefore no noise from the pub or traffic noise . The staff were amazing nothing was too much trouble , the food was five star cuisine and beautifully presented , breakfast was really anything you want they would oblige with . We are certainly going to stay there again .

Reviewed by
Cecelia Lowe

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would have appreciated a net curtain as had a ground floor room with passers to car park, so was forced to draw the curtains in daytime.
They need to get rid of trapped food smells in corridor leading to room, especially between doors.
Stay was very comfortable and food very good
Mine was an en route stopover on way to Scotland and doesn't fit in to any of your categories.
I can't imagine more than one night

Reviewed by
judith barrett

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely lovely
Superb accommodation food and service. Close to everything.

Reviewed by
B Callear

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab Food
Had a great stay.
Room was very basic but perfectly adequate. Unfortunately we were unable to work the shower so had a bath instead. Would have been a nice touch to have a few biscuits in the room.
Food in the restaurant was fabulous.
Staff were excellent, very professional and very helpful.

Reviewed by
Sharon E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and great food
This is traditional, proper pub with rooms. The room was clean and nicely decorated and the bathroom modern with wonderful really big bath towels. There were tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits. The only downside was the walls of the bedroom are very thin and we could hear the people next door talking, coughing, switching lights and plugs on etc but fortunately nothing x-rated! We enjoyed a superb meal that evening - the food really was of excellent quality and beautifully presented and we could see why the restaurant was full. The surrounding area has many places of interest and beauty to visit. All in all, very good.

Reviewed by
Lyn M

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
Very comfortable room with excellent soundproofing from very busy bar downstairs. First class food. Breakfast menu is extensive, one morning I had kidneys sourced from the local butcher.

Reviewed by
D Savory

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room but pricey considering the location. We didn't have an evening meal but we were a bit disappointed with our snack and breakfast because of the inn's excellent reputation. We did get a good night's sleep and the customer service was pleasant.

Reviewed by
Louise F

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fine place to break your journey
A very nice clean Inn with excellant food and wine not far from the A1 so an ideal place to break your journey

Reviewed by
JOHN S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed review
The best bit about our stay was the food, both the dinner and breakfast were delicious. However, I was disappointed at the standard of room decoration for the price. Also, I was kept awake during the night by noisy guests in the next room as the walls seemed to be very thin. Overall a nice stay but overpriced apart from the food.

Reviewed by
Julie H

From gateshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms are in need of an upgrade with bathrooms particulaly dated

Reviewed by
n myers

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next