Reviews - The Cook and Barker Inn


Newton on the Moor, Felton,, Alnwick, NE65 9JY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Tom Peters

  • June 2015

The Cook and Barker Inn

We enjoyed our stay.

Staff were very helpful and friendly food was amazing.

  • Ian S

  • May 2015

More attention to detail required

  • dave H

  • October 2014

generally grubby

The room was just ok, boring and not inviting, we looked out over piles of garden rubbish, the bed was comforable and clean.

I hate milk in cartons. We had just stayed the night before in a perfect B&B with fresh milk and soya milk. The dining room seemsed ok and the welcome was warm, the food was great in the evening really great supper value for money but that was it..., the dining room in the morning showed signs of genally grubby, dusty and I did not like it. I also did not like the food for breakfast. It was just ok. The place needs a good spring/autumn clean

  • chris orr

  • August 2014

Simple Minds at Alnwick Castle weekend

My wife and I stayed on the night of the concert.

Unfortunately we had left it too late to get a taxi as every taxi in the area had been booked.We explained our predicament at check in at which point the excellent Georgette stepped in. She set about phoning every contact she had and managed to get a return taxi sorted for us. We ate in the bar , an excellent chicken caesar salad crusty sandwich ( recommended). While eating, other guests were arriving and once again Georgette set about sorting transport for everyone. We all ended up sharing fares too.In the morning, we had the full english which was cooked to perfection with excellent waitress service. A totally fantastic experiencs staying here I would recommend it to anyone. Note to management ; Your staff are a credit. Thanks again. C & D Orr.

  • J White

  • August 2014

All wrong but turned out right.

We were unable to stay at the Cook and Barker despite having received a confirmation of Booking from

Claire Gray of the Cook and Barker said they received a telephone booking before receiving our booking from Laterooms. I respectfully suggested that they get their systems looked at as their system should be updated the minute a booking is accepted from any other source. Claire Gray (of Cook and Barker) booked us in at 5 star B & B called The Old School which was superb. Did us a favour we thought as we much preferred it. We had a meal at the Cook and Barker which was good. Our review is for the Old School, Newton on the Moor.

  • Margaret Mcintosh

  • August 2014

Bar staff were very helpful and friendly they went above and beyond their role.

Staff were brilliant and as taxis were busy as we attended an event staff ensured that all guest shared taxis where possible.

Staff also advised of meeting points and places for food and drinks... This is one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in and would most certainly return .

  • ian h

  • August 2014

excellent food at coutry inn and comfortable room

  • B Callear

  • July 2014

Absolutely lovely

Superb accommodation food and service.

Close to everything.

  • Cecelia Lowe

  • July 2014

An amazing place a hidden gem in Northumberland

A great break in July 2014 with friends .

It was perfectly place for going to see the Northumbrian Coast . The Cook and Barker is definitely a four star Inn with a newly built annex where the bedrooms are , therefore no noise from the pub or traffic noise . The staff were amazing nothing was too much trouble , the food was five star cuisine and beautifully presented , breakfast was really anything you want they would oblige with . We are certainly going to stay there again .

  • judith barrett

  • July 2014

Would have appreciated a net curtain as had a ground floor room with passers to car park, so was forced to draw the curtains in daytime.

They need to get rid of trapped food smells in corridor leading to room, especially between doors. Stay was very comfortable and food very good

Mine was an en route stopover on way to Scotland and doesn't fit in to any of your categories. I can't imagine more than one night