No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sea View B&B

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
High Bank, (Opposite Visitor Centre), , Porlock, TA24 8NP
Porlock, where wooded cliffs of Exmoor fall steeply down to the open sea. Our house stands between the two.. Featured in the latest "Lonely Planet Devon and Cornwall (Travel Guide)", this old, character property is a few steps from the High Street, on the road out to Porlock Weir: quiet at night, not situated on the A39 road. ‘Four Star’ unique, bijou B&B, fully central heated, in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Off-street parking/other parking facilities close by. Light/airy, 4 rooms en suite, equipped with TV, free Wi-Fi, complimentary refreshment tray, hair dryer, mini fridge, etc. Inside we are an art gallery of oil paintings – many featuring local sites, of historical interest, painted by Sea View’s artist/owner, Tony Kenyon. Extensive library of books you are welcome to peruse and maps/guide books to borrow during your stay. Breakfast (7 - 9am): 20+ hot choices, local fresh produce, homemade bread/preserves, selection of fruit, cereals, juices, yoghurts. Fish/vegetarian options, including our unique ‘Fatty Rascals’. Alternatively, continental breakfast is available in your bedroom. Special diets catered for (home made gluten free bread, etc). Walker's paradise, here all are very welcome – whether muddy, wet or tired, always made to feel at home: comfortable, warm and dry (we even provide blister plasters). Porlock has "Walkers are Welcome" accreditation, with good reason - picturesque coastlines, ½ mile from the South West Coast Path. Also, Coleridge Way, Porlock Weir and Culbone Church (smallest operational church in UK). The village has a variety of shops, restaurants and pubs to cater for most tastes. We also have a village App and our very own weather station. Astronomers: Exmoor National Park is designated the first International Dark Sky Reserve in Europe. Within easy reach are all areas of interest and outstanding beauty, including: castles, medieval villages,
Picture of Sea View B&B, Porlock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Such a beautiful place, wonderful B n B and such great hosts in Gill and Tony, Such a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere and wow, superb breakfast, so many choices !

Reviewed by
helen willis

From Par, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service would recommend this hotel
The Landlady could not do enough for me fantasic service food was brilliant.Going to take my family there.

Reviewed by
Trevor Primett

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect runners retreat for the weekend!
My girlfriend and I made a last minute booking for a weekend away in Porlock as somewhere new to visit with coastal paths and green hills so that we could incorporate an 18 mile training run into our break - we weren't disappointed!
We were made fantastically welcome by the owner of the B&B - Gill is one of the friendliest and most helpful people you could hope to meet; nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was fabulous and filling and I was even able to put my compression sock ice packs in the freezer ready for after our run!
The B&B was cosy and it was extra lovely having a log fire burning at breakfast in the morning.
The Top Ship pub is a minutes walk and serves good sized portions of wholesome food - we went there both nights for ease and were not disappointed. Some great beers available such as Proper Job and Otter so I was very happy.

Reviewed by
D Habershon-Butcher

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
We spent a lovely weekend in Porlock and are already looking forward to seeing more of Exmoor. The B & B was nice and central in the middle of the village with an old pub serving good food just behind it. We were greeted warmly and given handy tips about the area. The room was nicely decorated with personal bits and bobs and it had an ensuite bathroom with a shower. The room could have been a tad cleaner and fresher but it was perfectly comfortable.
The full English breakfast was generous with locally sourced items but the sausages were seriously undercooked.
You'll only get a peek of the sea from some of the top windows as it's about two miles away (and a stony beach at that) but the village is charming and there are lots of lovely things to see and do in the area. Generally, recommended.

Reviewed by
Lauren W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice example
The room was quirky and small but really comfy. The breakfast was good with an excellent range on offer and Gill made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Right!
A comfortable room in a quaint house. 'Hotelier' as friendly & charming as on a previous stay with nothing too much trouble. I was very well looked after from start to finish - comfortable bed, an excellent breakfast & what a range of items to choose from! Worth every penny & looking forward to staying again in the not too distant future!

Reviewed by
Brian Dotson

From Llandrindod Wells, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like staying with friends or relatives
Gill was lovely. Very helpful and well organised. We booked at the last minute and had to take the only room available which was a small twin room at the top and back of the house. However it was spotlessly clean and met our needs. Breakfast was interesting and informal with all the guests sitting around one large table. We were fortunate to be sharing the table with other mature guests who were happy to chat and exchange information over breakfast. Gill enhanses the illusion of being within an extended family environment by learning and addressing everyone by their first name. After dropping luggage at the door, car parking is a short stroll away in the village hall car park.

Reviewed by
Brian Morris

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly relaxing wonderful host accomodating helpful lovely breakfast
I would stay again as a lone guest I felt safe, enjoyed the company at breakfast and hospitality.

Reviewed by
yvonne p

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Stayed for two nights. Gill was very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast made fresh . Would recommend sea view to anyone.

Reviewed by
carl anderson

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

seview b&b porlock
Gill was a most excelent host. attended to our requirements in full. very nice b&b. could not fault and have no complaints whats so ever. would recomend to anyone.very pleased with my choice.

Reviewed by
Paul Taylor

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next