No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Moorgarth Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
158 Fulford Road, , , York, YO10 4DA
We are also closely situated near to the University of York, The Barbican Centre and Fulford Golf Club. The out of town shopping centres are only minutes away. Moorgarth has its own limited private car parking available.

We hope you enjoy your stay.

At Moorgarth, we have 9 comfortable en-suite rooms. Four double rooms, two twin room, one single and two family rooms. All rooms have colour television, hair drying and tea making facilities.
Picture of Moorgarth Guest House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Comfortable Stay
Moorgarth is just a short taxi ride from the city centre (could have walked, but it was raining). Immediate impression as I walked in was that it was clean and tidy, and this was confirmed when I went to my room on the top floor. Initially in the room I could hear traffic noise, but when I closed the window this was almost totally eliminated. Bed was comfortable and I slept well. Breakfast was the typical array of fruit juice and cereal - I found what I wanted, and this was topped off with a fried breakfast and toast, washed down with tea. This set e up for the day.

Reviewed by
Eddie Knorn

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a lovely time in york b&b very nice and clean a bit noisey on main road breakfast good and only 10 minute walk along the river to town centre.

Reviewed by
LINDA W

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
I stayed in the single room, and was pleased with my stay. The owners are kind, helpful, and relaxed, and the room had everything I needed. Minor issues with the television and a lack of vegetarian specific food for breakfast are the only elements I could fault, and overall I would definitely recommend Moorgarth. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
D Nielsen

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasurable stay
My son and I enjoyed our night at Moorgarth, we were given a smallish but clean and comfortable room at the back of the house and slept well although the pillows were not as comfortable as they might have been. My son enjoyed his full English breakfast, he said the sausages were very good. My scrambled eggs were cooked perfectly.

Reviewed by
D Bristow

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend jaunt
Lovely friendly venue great location food top quality my only negative was the boiler was very noisy and could be heard from early morning which disturbed a good nights sleep 6am onwards
but overall a lovely place to stay with easy walking distance to all yorks attractions wiuld stay again .

Reviewed by
james macdonald

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such wonderful service! I arrived late and they were very considerate about that, and the fry up in the morning was just what I needed!

Reviewed by
C Mattinson

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and good location
This is a great location within easy walking distance of the city centre. The main tourist sites in York centre and plenty of restaurants easy to get to. Staff friendly, our room was a good size and clean but it was at the front and the road outside does get very busy. We were staying for a family wedding and it was race weekend and August Bank holiday, so we did not get any discounts but understand that this can be a cheap option when you go in the quieter times.

Reviewed by
vic w

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money and a warm welcome
Unfortunately there was not a double room available at the time of booking which we knew. Room 5 was very clean albeit compact but with a very large modern bathroom with shower. I couldn't find the hair dryer but as I had brought one with me I did not mention this to the landlady. Breakfast was very good, and just enough to set you up for the day. We were made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
M Bryan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Moorgarth
We stayed at Moorgarth Guest House in York for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The walk by the river into York itself (from the guest house) was absolutely stunning. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. There was an issue with our shower tray not emptying quickly enough which was sorted by the management as soon as we let them know. Diana is a lovely lady who is very obliging. We would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

Reviewed by
J Blake

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Review
I found the Moorgarth Hotel very friendly, a very good room and very clean. Would recommend it for anyone visiting York. Contributed to an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Stephen Moon

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next