No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Moorgarth Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
158 Fulford Road, , , York, YO10 4DA
We are also closely situated near to the University of York, The Barbican Centre and Fulford Golf Club. The out of town shopping centres are only minutes away. Moorgarth has its own limited private car parking available.

We hope you enjoy your stay.

At Moorgarth, we have 9 comfortable en-suite rooms. Four double rooms, two twin room, one single and two family rooms. All rooms have colour television, hair drying and tea making facilities.
Picture of Moorgarth Guest House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money and a warm welcome
Unfortunately there was not a double room available at the time of booking which we knew. Room 5 was very clean albeit compact but with a very large modern bathroom with shower. I couldn't find the hair dryer but as I had brought one with me I did not mention this to the landlady. Breakfast was very good, and just enough to set you up for the day. We were made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
M Bryan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Moorgarth
We stayed at Moorgarth Guest House in York for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The walk by the river into York itself (from the guest house) was absolutely stunning. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. There was an issue with our shower tray not emptying quickly enough which was sorted by the management as soon as we let them know. Diana is a lovely lady who is very obliging. We would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

Reviewed by
J Blake

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Review
I found the Moorgarth Hotel very friendly, a very good room and very clean. Would recommend it for anyone visiting York. Contributed to an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Stephen Moon

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handily placed for walk to town by river
Adequate accomodation. Nice landlady. Parking minimal.Room rather airless during hot weather.

Reviewed by
Valeria Shadrack

From Wimborne, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our stay at the Moorgarth guest house. It is situated in a lovely part of York and one can walk to the town centre along the river Ouse in about 15 minutes.

Reviewed by
B Gardener

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect venue for seeing York
After a long day cycling the Yorkshire Wolds route, this was the perfect venue for a nice evening's stroll into town. The room was very good and comfortable. The only - minor - drawback was the traffic noise form the busy street.

Reviewed by
E Gruber

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tou de France break
My husband, his friend and myself had a lovely time in York. The Guest House was lovely. We could not have asked for a nicer, friendlier landlady. She was extremely helpful. Our room was a great size for 3 adults, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice and plenty of it! I would certainly go back and recommend to it anyone.

Reviewed by
Frances A

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and Welcoming
Moorgarth Guest House was very warm and welcoming. The accommodation was very clean and spacious. The house was maintained to a very high standard. I had a good night's sleep as the bed was so comfy. The breakfast was lush and the family that run it were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't fault it and will certainly use it again.

Reviewed by
S Gmiterek

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to York
Situated at walking distance from the city center. Very close 100metres to 3 eateries - a Chinese takeaway (Maks), a Turkish takeaway and an Indian Restaurant (Mirchiz). Has 3 parking spaces which you are allowed to use free of charge. The road traffic can be a bit noisy especially at dawn if you have a room in the front of the property; I couldn't have chosen a better B&B for the same price! Both hosts (Diane and Graham) are friendly, approachable and helpful.

Reviewed by
S Biswas

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good guest house!
Comfortable and clean room but the best were the owners and staff that were kind and helpful every time.

Reviewed by
Laura L

From Spain
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next