No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Moorgarth Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
158 Fulford Road, , , York, YO10 4DA
We are also closely situated near to the University of York, The Barbican Centre and Fulford Golf Club. The out of town shopping centres are only minutes away. Moorgarth has its own limited private car parking available.

We hope you enjoy your stay.

At Moorgarth, we have 9 comfortable en-suite rooms. Four double rooms, two twin room, one single and two family rooms. All rooms have colour television, hair drying and tea making facilities.
Picture of Moorgarth Guest House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My birthday wknd
Stayed at the guest house Fri till sun Nov 14 til 16 .. The owners were very helpful and friendly the service was very good food I. e . Breakfast was lovely .. I would recommend this guest house to all my friends and also anyone who reads this review. . 10 out of 10 .. John Conway.

Reviewed by
John Conway

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little place, excellent customer service, close to city centre!!!9
We had a lovely weekend stay here, only 10/15min walk from city centre, beautiful little stroll to and from. Excellent customer service from proprietors coupled with a comfortable room equipped with all amenities needed for an enjoyable stay. Comfy bed with a large bathroom. Would definitely recommend and will stay again!!

Reviewed by
Jonathan MacKinnon

From Broxburn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding anniversary in York!
We stayed at Moorgarth Guest House for the weekend as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary in the city where we were married 2 years ago.
The guest house and owners were both very nice in a great location with a short lovely walk along the river into the centre.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this fantastic city and will definitely book at Moorgarth again for our next trip!!

Reviewed by
Tom O

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great, friendly, clean B&B
This is a great, friendly, clean B&B a short walk to the city centre. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
M Norgate

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal b&b for city break
The room was ideal and very clean, good facilities too. Breakfast was lovely and offered a good selection of other options too (which you could freely choose from). The only thing that really disappointed me was the fact I had chosen this b&b specifically due to it saying it had parking. I chose it over other b&bs for this reason as I don't like parking my car on the street and when we arrived there was no parking and I was told the only option was to park on the street (which was a few steets away as well due to permit only nearby). If I'd have known this in advance I would not of stayed here. Other than that it was a really good b&b and perfect for a city break as it was nearby shops/resturants/attractions. Also, to give people the heads up...you need to take your own soap as this is not provided and we had to go out to the shop straight away and get some as didn't realise! I would recommend this b&b although I would on the basis that you ring them first and check they gave parking available.

Reviewed by
Emma K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel but twin room bit small & also television had no subtitles too

Reviewed by
J Bradley

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Comfortable Stay
Moorgarth is just a short taxi ride from the city centre (could have walked, but it was raining). Immediate impression as I walked in was that it was clean and tidy, and this was confirmed when I went to my room on the top floor. Initially in the room I could hear traffic noise, but when I closed the window this was almost totally eliminated. Bed was comfortable and I slept well. Breakfast was the typical array of fruit juice and cereal - I found what I wanted, and this was topped off with a fried breakfast and toast, washed down with tea. This set e up for the day.

Reviewed by
Eddie Knorn

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal York Stopover
The location of this property is ideal and having parking space available, it enabled us to leave the car parked up, as main attractions were within what we considered to be reasonable walking distance. The city centre in one direction or the race course for example in the other direction were around 20 mins away using the beautiful riverbanks routes. There were plenty of places to eat and drink even nearer. The bedroom and en-suite were spacious, clean and comfortable and there was a good breakfast awaiting each morning. There was nothing else we could ask for during our two night stay.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a lovely time in york b&b very nice and clean a bit noisey on main road breakfast good and only 10 minute walk along the river to town centre.

Reviewed by
LINDA W

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
I stayed in the single room, and was pleased with my stay. The owners are kind, helpful, and relaxed, and the room had everything I needed. Minor issues with the television and a lack of vegetarian specific food for breakfast are the only elements I could fault, and overall I would definitely recommend Moorgarth. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
D Nielsen

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next