No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Moorgarth Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
158 Fulford Road, , , York, YO10 4DA
We are also closely situated near to the University of York, The Barbican Centre and Fulford Golf Club. The out of town shopping centres are only minutes away. Moorgarth has its own limited private car parking available.

We hope you enjoy your stay.

At Moorgarth, we have 9 comfortable en-suite rooms. Four double rooms, two twin room, one single and two family rooms. All rooms have colour television, hair drying and tea making facilities.
Picture of Moorgarth Guest House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect venue for seeing York
After a long day cycling the Yorkshire Wolds route, this was the perfect venue for a nice evening's stroll into town. The room was very good and comfortable. The only - minor - drawback was the traffic noise form the busy street.

Reviewed by
E Gruber

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tou de France break
My husband, his friend and myself had a lovely time in York. The Guest House was lovely. We could not have asked for a nicer, friendlier landlady. She was extremely helpful. Our room was a great size for 3 adults, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice and plenty of it! I would certainly go back and recommend to it anyone.

Reviewed by
Frances A

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and Welcoming
Moorgarth Guest House was very warm and welcoming. The accommodation was very clean and spacious. The house was maintained to a very high standard. I had a good night's sleep as the bed was so comfy. The breakfast was lush and the family that run it were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't fault it and will certainly use it again.

Reviewed by
S Gmiterek

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to York
Situated at walking distance from the city center. Very close 100metres to 3 eateries - a Chinese takeaway (Maks), a Turkish takeaway and an Indian Restaurant (Mirchiz). Has 3 parking spaces which you are allowed to use free of charge. The road traffic can be a bit noisy especially at dawn if you have a room in the front of the property; I couldn't have chosen a better B&B for the same price! Both hosts (Diane and Graham) are friendly, approachable and helpful.

Reviewed by
S Biswas

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good guest house!
Comfortable and clean room but the best were the owners and staff that were kind and helpful every time.

Reviewed by
Laura L

From Spain
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Good B & B
excellent location and nice staff
Only negative is there was no shower gel or any other soaps for you. I had to rush out and buy these after a hard long day at work when all i wanted to do was relax. Everyone else does it so I could not see why they did not. very annoying.
However nice people and good nights sleep :)

Reviewed by
Dave Scott

From Pocklington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
Lovely B&B. Great welcome, good breakfast. Modern styled rooms which were very clean, spacious and pleasant to be in. Good shower. Would suit business or holiday traveller. I couldn't have wanted more and all for £34. If I need to stay in York again they will be my first phone call.

Reviewed by
Judith C

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
First time in York and owners ( Diane and her husband Graham) were brilliant, they were so friendly and gave us directions etc. Very close to city centre and all attractions also a really nice walk along the river bank into the town centre. you were pretty much left to come and go as you pleased and breakfast was very good filled you up for a good start to the day with cereals fruit and a cooked breakfast. would recommend this Guest house and York as everyone was so friendly and helpful it was so reassuring and we felt safe at all times even when walking around at night.

Reviewed by
Loraine D

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Diana and Graham were very welcoming and more than helpful in getting me to my destination after my overnight stay. Breakfast was well presented with good selection of choice.

Reviewed by
Susan Jackson

From Banff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's a B & B
Nice little place within easy walking of York. Lovely Owners and room very clean.
I have been use to hotels and not stopped in a B & B for years. I was pleasantly surprised and was good value and breakfast was lovely.
The only criticism is there should be some soap and shampoo in the bathroom. If your staying last minute because of work then this is what is required. Its the finishing touches that make a place special.

Reviewed by
Dave Scott

From Pocklington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next