No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Avondale

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
4/5 Avondale Road, , , Seaford, BN25 1RJ
The Avondale is made up of two Edwardian houses with letting rooms on two floors which have been tastefully converted. The Guest House is centrally heated and inter-connected on all floors and there is a stair lift to both floors. The house has many original features including the fireplaces in the dining and sitting rooms and the wonderful stained glass in the hall. Jane & Martin Home are the owners who live on the premises and we want you to feel at home in our home. We have tried to create a friendly relaxed ambiance to enable you to get the most from your stay. If you need anything just ask. All the staff are friendly and well informed of local events and places to visit. All rooms are newly renovated with individual thermostatically controlled radiators. Guests can select the room to match their budget from family, double or twin en-suite rooms to standard doubles and singles with shared bathrooms. Our breakfasts are fabulous! We have a wide range of choices all products are locally sourced (when available) and are cooked to order. Please let us know when booking if you have any special dietary needs. Our cream teas are also very popular and can be booked at breakfast for the same afternoon. The pretty and sunny front patio is very popular in the summer for tea coffee or even an aperatif! We have a wide selection of information leaflets in the hall with local restaurant and pub menus to help you decide where to eat. We have several regular walking groups and cyclists who return annually. We enjoy providing cream teas and evening meals for groups by prior arrangement.
Picture of The Avondale, Seaford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
This is a very nice, family-run hotel. We were made to feel welcome on our arrival and our room was nice and comfortable. The breakfast was of a very good standard too. The location was excellent. It is only a short walk from the seafront, the main train station and the town centre. Parking wasn't too much of a problem either.

Reviewed by
steven s

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
A very nice place to stay. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The location of The Avondale is excellent - 5 min walk to Station, or 10 mins to the sea.
The 2nd floor bathroom is under a sloped roof, so it was almost impossible for me to stand in the shower, but apart from that I would recommend the Avondale.
Breakfast was very nice.

Reviewed by
Lachlan M

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel good chef mmmm not so sure !!!!!
Cozy hotel and the staff very helpfull and friendly. The room was clean but a little dated. As for the chef (breakfast) was a little forgetful ( forget beans and burnt the crousants lol )

Reviewed by
neil james

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superior B&B
A traditional B&B guest house. Very quiet out of season. Very comfortable bed. Fit for purpose.

Reviewed by
Patricia M

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Pleasant stay for a country escape. Stayed in the family room with my husband, mum and 7 month old. We had to move the dresser to fit the travel cot but the owner was fine with this. The bathroom was a bit small. The room was comfortable and clean

Reviewed by
Gael E

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was clean and rooms are small, but with all required amenities. Good breakfast. The management was very friendly and helpful. Close to everything. We would recommend this Hotel.

Reviewed by
AGNIESZKA K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover
We stayed overnight from the ferry. Host was very accommodating to our late arrival (after 11.00pm) which we had notified in advance. Room was adequate, well laid out and quite OK for a transit stop. Not en suite but it didn't matter on this occasion. It could have been a bit cramped for a longer stay however. No view from window but again, OK for short stay.
Breakfast was fine: full English, well presented and as expected.

Reviewed by
A Radlett

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TLC...
The room was perfectly comfortable. The bathroom was fine....it just needs a little TLC...would I stay again, yes, for sure...

Reviewed by
Jonathan T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service friendly staff very relaxing experience

Reviewed by
nora doleman

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good weekend could have been great
Shared bathroom tired however location very good .

Reviewed by
c harris

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next