No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Guesthouse

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
54/56 Julian Avenue, , , South Shields, NE33 2EW
The Britannia guest house is situated in the quiet residential area, but still in the town centre and only a 5 min walk to the Tyne ferry, customs house, bars, restaurants, beaches, parks and Metro with it's links to Newcastle and its Intl airport.We are also the nearest guest house to South Tyneside college survival centre, and only 200 metres to Arbeia roman fort. A beautiful 10 bedroomed Victorian home, decorated to an extremely high standard, with very spacious comfortable rooms. Whether you are looking for a seaside resort or a cultural experience the Britannia Guest House offers first class accommodation and a great location. South Shields is a traditional seaside resort with beautiful beaches and a dramatic coastline. It is the perfect choice for those seeking a holiday, a weekend away or a day trip. Ideal for families with its stunning coastline, golden beaches and picturesque villages South Shields and surrounding area is a joy to visit whatever the time of year. South Shields has a good reputation for lively nightlife, dining and shopping and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. With all this to see and do, you'll can see why South Shields is the place to visit! Newcastle and Gateshead are within 20 minutes drive or a short Metro ride away where you can find many cultural, historic and educational attractions including the Gateshead Millenium Bridge, The Sage Gateshead and Newcastle's Life Centre. Only 15 minutes drive is the city of Sunderland where you can visit the award winning Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens and the National Glass Centre.
Picture of Britannia Guesthouse, South Shields at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, quality room and good friendly service
I booked a single room, but was upgraded to a double. The quality of the furnishing was way above the price I paid for the room, which was clean, comfortable and quiet. Good TV, fridge and facilities. The bed was extremely comfortable. If I had to give one slight niggle, the shower wasn't powerful, but then that may be because i'm used to a power shower.
No problems parking outside on the road. Very pleasant staff at breakfast.
I would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
T Scarfe

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely brilliant. Five star treatment for very reasonable price. Good location, excellent staff-a real pleasure. Can't wait until the next time.

Reviewed by
Bob Holt

From Hellidon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was cheap but was the best I stayed in all week. I was cycling for charity from Ravenglass to south shields. The owners were friendly helpful and very welcoming, made me feel at home. The breakfast was brilliant I asked for the vegetarian option. The room was first class clean modern and a wide screen tv. I was amazed in fact shocked at how cheap the price was with out any compromise on service. I have stayed in very expensive places before that could not come anywhere near this standard.

Reviewed by
PAUL JENNINGS

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay, All very clean , great host, good breakfast, well worth it will stay again.

Reviewed by
f james

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent guest house
This was a lovely guest house. The staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Food was delicious and plentiful. Would definately recommend this little gem.

Reviewed by
l boustead

From huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i couldnt believe how lovely everything was in room,very clean and everything u needed,i would stay there again,everyone was so nice.

Reviewed by
Mavis Hannah

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
We had a lovely couple of days at the Britannia. Room was clean, very nicely decorated, comfy king size bed, iron and ironing board plus tea/coffee and biscuits. Ample breakfast cooked to order and served by a very friendly lady. Short walk to a park which led down to the beach and pier. We also visited Cassia Sambuca restaurant near the pier which was recommened by Gill the proprietor and we certainly were not disappointed the food, service and value for money was perfect.

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Penicuik, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem by the sea
What a great find. I was greeted by a lovely woman who answered all my questions and made me feel extremely welcome e.g. you can use the kitchen if you go out and get a takeaway. The room was clean and tidy, a little old fashioned but so much more charecter than the chain hotels which I find bland and charecterless. A decent breakfast, I only had a huge plate of scrambled eggs but could have had full english, brilliant coffee. Could improve on the fruit for breakfast i.e. a fruit sald or gtrapefruit as I do like fruit for breakfast but this is a minor point. Overall brilliant, don't stay in a chain come here instead.

Reviewed by
m halsey

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything is good
all good

Reviewed by
Vitalij Ivach

From Klaipeda, Lithuania
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very well looked after in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Quiet location and easily walkable to town and coast. We enjoyed talking about the history of South Shields and learnt a great deal from our hosts

Reviewed by
D Lee

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next