Reviews - Fairway Hotel


Hawthwaite Lane, Barrow in Furness, LA14 4QW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • david c

  • October 2015

Base for visiting south west lake district

The room was good and spacious, but there was only 1 comfy seat in a double room.

An extra shelf in the bathroom would be appreciated, as would a pair of tumblers to be used for a night time drink. The menu was good, but limited and the "specials" did not change for the 4 night stay therefore limiting our choice of food by the 4th night.

  • A Eastwood

  • September 2015

Excellent short break venue

Discovered an oasis of beauty and peace.

Not only was the hotel of excellent quality but it's located 2 minutes from a glorious bay with the south Lakes hills in the background. Perfect.

  • gemma f

  • September 2015

Basic but clean

Hotel is located away from town centre so car was needed quite a bit.

Room was clean, large and basic but met our needs. The only minor point was that for a toddler aged 2 a bath would have been better than a shower. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order which was nice and toddler was treated as a guest by all members of staff. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Dean C

  • August 2015

Fairway Hotel

Fantastic hotel, let down slightly by customer service.

Arrived at approx 2pm, to empty reception, spent 5-10 minutes looking for someone to book in. Really relaxing as quite off the beaten track. Slight issue will trying to be seated for dinner, as staff member seemed to be working reception, bar and serving in restaurant!, but.....the food was AMAZING. Would like to say, with an extra couple of staff members, this hotel would rate 5 stars in all catagories.

  • stephen w

  • July 2015

Chilled relaxing retreat

We booked with friends for a relaxing overnight stay and thats what we got the staff were very friendly and the food was fabulous.

We stayed in the hotel for the evening instead of going into town. The only thing that was a bit strange the bar closed sharp at 11 even for residents. Early night for us ,but i really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely recommend it and we will stay again

  • Stephanie C

  • May 2015

Lovely Stay

I was in need of accommodation for just one night and this hotel was in the right location.

It is a little off the beaten track but the brown signs give ample direction so it is not difficult to find. The receptionist was friendly, the room very spacious, well-decorated and clean and the food in the bar was generous and delicious. The barman was extremely friendly and chatty with all the customers and went out of his way to ensure everyone's needs were being met. As a female travelling alone I felt very comfortable in this hotel. There was only one draw-back which was the fact that I was put into a ground floor room which meant I did not feel safe having the windows open during the night and the room became a little stuffy. I should have requested a room on another floor but, equally, the hotel might want to take this into consideration when booking in a female on her own.

  • w willams

  • April 2015

Good Bolt Hole

Lovely girl on reception, but its all about first impression, my advise would be get her trained on customer service , interacting with the customer, as she came over maybe shy, not really interested.

being in customer service , I know how important this is

  • Cristian T

  • April 2015

Good value for money and good breakfast too!

The hotel is fairly remote and a bit difficult to find (I would avoid if you're not coming by car) but the rooms are spacious with neutral decor and lots of storage.

I would have given a better score if there weren't two taps in the bathroom (it's 2015!!) but overall it's a good value for money.