No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Restup London

3Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
172 New Kent Road , London , SE1 4YT
Following a year of extensive refurbishment, we are proud to welcome you to RestUp London

RestUp London youth hostel is a great new stylish, purpose built hostel in the heart of London, created with today’s traveller in mind; offering accommodation in shared dorms or private rooms both ensuite or share facilities.

The hostel is set in a large building steeped with history and tradition, combined with all the state of the art convenience perfect for today’s travellers, the hostel provides excellent value for money accommodation, together with cutting edge technology to ensure you have a home from home experience at the hostel.

Picture of Restup London , London  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 95 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a hostel.
So it was my first time in a hostel, we opted for a private twin room with en suite facilities.
The area it's in isn't great, but the hotel looks good, an old building that's been funked up a bit with nice lighting and is well looked after - plus it's only 5 mins walk from the tube station
The guy who served us on reception was great, good sense of humour and helpful. They ordered us a taxi to get to the club we were going to and made sure to give us the business card so we could call a trusted company to get back - thoughtful. We didn't realise (due to this being out first hostel) that towels weren't included, plus there was no soap. But you are able to buy all these things from them so wasn't a problem. There's also vending machines with water, snacks. The room was small, but we didn't spend much time there and had what we needed - a comfy bed, decent shower. Also the bedding was sparking white and smelt really clean.
Staying here made me feel very old as most guests are early twenties - which is what I expected, but it did feel a little bit like Byker Grove. Considering some of the terrible places you can pay a fortune to stay in when visiting central London, RestUp offered great value for money and would recommend it to people who want a place to lay there head, but not luxury. I'm not sure I'll be in a hurry to stay here again as I like my creature comforts too much.
If it's a hostel you want then this gets a massive thumbs up from me!

Reviewed by
Emily S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

satisfactory
it served its purpose

Reviewed by
OLATUNJI O

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
A very basic place, rooms comfy enough and provided exactly what we needed, a bed for a night. Otherwise the place is very clinical with no atmosphere or soul.

Reviewed by
Robin M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst double room ever
I book online on my phone, I see pics of a double bed for a double room that i booked. When I arrived and checked in, I did not get a double bed, there was a bunk bed. Metal uncomfortable and a sink… No toilet or bathroom. What i would imagine a prison cell must look like

Reviewed by
p lee

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restup Fri/Sat night experience
In general staff were pleasant although we almost got charged twice for breakfasts at start . Not like a hotel, so dont expect hotel standards. Considering What We país quality of room acceptable although tiny...our twin room tienes out to be bunk befd which was ok ad my so. Is 17. As I have slight arthritis in my knee there was no way I could have got up or down the ladder! My Only real negatives were that other fiesta...teenagers from abroad were very noisy & the food quality was poor....I hope the French, Germán, Spanish etc tourists dont think our British food is always like that....communal breakfasts can be good...We went for the continental option...not great...full English looked better ad cooked fresh, butdid not petsonally try. On Sunday morning there was no orange juice at all....Staff apologised but no-one thought to remedy situation..As We payed double for Sat Night I was a bit annoyed at this...Also We has to rent towels. At least We seré able to leave our heavy suitcade in the room on Sat to avoid lugging it on the tube while visiting relatives..Conveniente location for where We wanted to go...10-15 mina walk from Elephant &castle tube & mainline.I would go back again but would take my own towels...useful to be aware of...!

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From NEWPORT, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic but clean accommodation
Very basic but clean accommodation. Conveniently near the centre of London. The bathroom light didn't work, which was a real nuisance and the electric sockets for the upstairs bunk were placed in such a way that they were impossible to use.
The hotel was very near a main road, which was very noisy and we needed to leave the windows open for air- so it remained noisy all night.
However, I would use the hotel again, as it was so much more reasonably priced than most. But I would definitely take ear plugs next time!

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal hostel for young travelers
This hostel is very cheap, but ideally located and the reception will help you with everything you need!

Reviewed by
Amanda Z

From Switzerland
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent standards!
We were impressed by the quality of the hostel, especially the hotel-style bathroom in the room. The luggage storage and shower facilities in the basement were also really useful when we first arrived before check-in.

Reviewed by
Thomas D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really good enviroment.good people
nice place with nice people.i recoment

Reviewed by
luis cruz

From e10 6ng, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If only nothing else
I know it's in Zone 1 of London and that's what I should expect from a place after spending this much amount of money (66 bucks to be specific) - but really.!!????!??!!?!!!!!
No No No way I felt it was worth it - should have tried somewhere else.
Good thing is that its on main road, near E&C tube station & connected by buses.
But room - too small, almost felt claustrophobic, poor ventilation (windows are locked), no space in bathroom (felt cheated for that) - no soap/towel (c'mon, its a hostel, I know but I booked an ensuite, at least a small soap), very tiny bathroom with a sub-standard shower and no exhaust fan or ventilation.
Beds are ok but again, the charging points (for my cell phone) are stuck behind the bed frame.
Poor design, just to fit the beds in, & I had no way to charge my phone (upper bed on the bunk).
Way too noisy on the main road outside (windows open bcz its summer time)
My recommendation - take it if you have no option.

Reviewed by
S Goel

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next