No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Restup London

3Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
172 New Kent Road , London , SE1 4YT
Following a year of extensive refurbishment, we are proud to welcome you to RestUp London

RestUp London youth hostel is a great new stylish, purpose built hostel in the heart of London, created with today’s traveller in mind; offering accommodation in shared dorms or private rooms both ensuite or share facilities.

The hostel is set in a large building steeped with history and tradition, combined with all the state of the art convenience perfect for today’s travellers, the hostel provides excellent value for money accommodation, together with cutting edge technology to ensure you have a home from home experience at the hostel.

Picture of Restup London , London  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing hotel
i would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless there is no place to stay in London

Reviewed by
y law

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in overall good
We stayed for 2 nights, the room for 4 people was pretty small, but was clean and the beds were confortable. the staff was very welcoming and helped us with directions and transport arrangements. In overall was a good experience

Reviewed by
enzo m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and simple. Nothing more, nothing less. Everyone had a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Nick O

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean helpful staff. Not for people with children

Reviewed by
D Morris

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not so cheerful
With the Restup London you're entering into a room lottery. Last year we had a terrific room on one of the higher floors with bigger bunks, made beds, a sink and a big window with a great view. This year we got a 'ground' floor room with raised ground outside the letterbox window (so it felt like a basement), narrow creaky bunks that we had to put sheets on ourself (last thing you want to do after an early rise and a hectic day in London), no sink and a door that wouldn't close without some brute force and an inevitable thud. I didn't use either of the washrooms down the corridor because they were absolutely drenched and covered in hair all the time, instead I stuck to the toilet which had a tiny sink in it and a door that wouldn't lock because the latch was built into the architrave which had be ripped clean off. At least it was dry and comparatively pube-free!
Nevertheless, the rooms were clean and we all slept well, but I don't think we'll be returning next year.

Reviewed by
Gregg B

From Chesterfield, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and affordable
Clean room and great value for money! Perfect for a weekend away with friends

Reviewed by
Jamie W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Break
10 min bus ride from Waterloo, request stop right outside hostel.
Very clean, nicely refurbished, warm, basic but all we needed interms of bed and breakfast.
Busy main road next to the hostel didn't let up all Friday night so take earplugs.
Towels not included although we had got the impression from the website that they were. (£5 to hire)
Would recommend as excellent for a good value central London break

Reviewed by
Clare A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hostel not a Hotel Be warned!
Towels not given.
You have to pay a supplement or bring your own.
No soap in the ensuite shower room.

Reviewed by
Gildas T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for exploring London
Very good value accommodation for London. Very clean room. Would have been nice to have some furniture to unpack into a little. Bunk beds surprisingly comfy and traffic noise successfully kept low by double glazing. More of a problem was the noise from students in nearby rooms. Bathroom very clean. Good location near borough market.

Reviewed by
J Laidler

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was very dirty tilet.shower was not working.very noisy until 2am.
i do not want to stay there again.

Reviewed by
T BOYDEN

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next