No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Restup London

3Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
172 New Kent Road , London , SE1 4YT
Following a year of extensive refurbishment, we are proud to welcome you to RestUp London

RestUp London youth hostel is a great new stylish, purpose built hostel in the heart of London, created with today’s traveller in mind; offering accommodation in shared dorms or private rooms both ensuite or share facilities.

The hostel is set in a large building steeped with history and tradition, combined with all the state of the art convenience perfect for today’s travellers, the hostel provides excellent value for money accommodation, together with cutting edge technology to ensure you have a home from home experience at the hostel.

Picture of Restup London , London  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My review.
1. Good for the money we payed.
2. Not in a pleasant area.
3. Hostel was quiet at night which was nice.
4. Showers were awful. I tried 2 of them. First sprayed over the shower curtain and all over my clothes and the second one I had to push myself against the wall and stand on my tiptoes to even feel the water.
5. Rooms extremely basic but bedding was clean.
6. Should state that you don't pay for the room until your arrival because I thought I had already paid and it was disappointing to have to hand over money you thought had already come out of your account.

Reviewed by
Megan Kingswood

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple and easy
Clean, tidy. Just wanted 6 hours sleep following a late flight.

Reviewed by
Alison H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good (because very cheap), but too hot!
I can't say that it was bad, because Rest Up is very cheap. Same thinks was unsatisfied for me.
I lived in 10 persons room. This room was very small. I couldn't open the window or even turn off the heating, so every morning room was very stink, and hot.
In showers was ONLY very hot water.
Another way: Lockers are too expensive.

Reviewed by
Patryk L

From Poland
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget accommodation
Stayed here whilst going to see a show. Fab travel links to west end and easy bus route from outside to kings cross. Very clean hostel and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
emma b

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing hotel
i would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless there is no place to stay in London

Reviewed by
y law

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in overall good
We stayed for 2 nights, the room for 4 people was pretty small, but was clean and the beds were confortable. the staff was very welcoming and helped us with directions and transport arrangements. In overall was a good experience

Reviewed by
enzo m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and simple. Nothing more, nothing less. Everyone had a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Nick O

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean helpful staff. Not for people with children

Reviewed by
D Morris

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not so cheerful
With the Restup London you're entering into a room lottery. Last year we had a terrific room on one of the higher floors with bigger bunks, made beds, a sink and a big window with a great view. This year we got a 'ground' floor room with raised ground outside the letterbox window (so it felt like a basement), narrow creaky bunks that we had to put sheets on ourself (last thing you want to do after an early rise and a hectic day in London), no sink and a door that wouldn't close without some brute force and an inevitable thud. I didn't use either of the washrooms down the corridor because they were absolutely drenched and covered in hair all the time, instead I stuck to the toilet which had a tiny sink in it and a door that wouldn't lock because the latch was built into the architrave which had be ripped clean off. At least it was dry and comparatively pube-free!
Nevertheless, the rooms were clean and we all slept well, but I don't think we'll be returning next year.

Reviewed by
Gregg B

From Chesterfield, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and affordable
Clean room and great value for money! Perfect for a weekend away with friends

Reviewed by
Jamie W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next