No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Restup London

3Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
172 New Kent Road , London , SE1 4YT
Following a year of extensive refurbishment, we are proud to welcome you to RestUp London

RestUp London youth hostel is a great new stylish, purpose built hostel in the heart of London, created with today’s traveller in mind; offering accommodation in shared dorms or private rooms both ensuite or share facilities.

The hostel is set in a large building steeped with history and tradition, combined with all the state of the art convenience perfect for today’s travellers, the hostel provides excellent value for money accommodation, together with cutting edge technology to ensure you have a home from home experience at the hostel.

Picture of Restup London , London  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

60 yr old couple
We wanted to find a cheap way to be fairly central and this was an experiment. Although it served basic needs for beds and ensuite loo/shower the thin windows meant that it was very noisy all night from traffic although room to room noise was minimal due to thick walls. Also we realised that we would need to stay out all day as it was not a room we wanted to return to for rest during daytime. It's an age thing! No soap/no towels (towels were provided free by reception because we'd booked a twin - but this wasn't clear on original site) It would be ok for 1 night budget or for much younger people is perfect. I would recommend with discretion as it felt safe and friendly and quite well organised.

Reviewed by
Anne C

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendly. Room hot & unventilated. All doors seem to slam throughout the night. Showers gross.
Staff were efficient and polite. I arrived at about 10pm which was not a problem for them.
The hostel was full of travellers. Quite a good place to make friends during your stay. This however is the only positive thing I have to say about it.
You really are getting what you pay for here, dirty, broken showers, tiny rooms that are too hot and unventilated. People coming and going throughout the night, late arrivals waking you up at 3am as they make there beds and sort themselves out. All doors seem to be fitted with a mechanism that makes them slam. No sound insulation, bumps and sounds surrounded me throughout the night and to finish off the sweaty, loud, sleepless night the fire alarm went off.
Not the best night of my life. This was then followed by a mediocre at best attempt of a continental breakfast. (No croissants there and not even a brown bread option.) After a boiled egg and some dry white toast I checked out and found the nearest coffee shop!

Reviewed by
Robbie H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't stay again
Cheap but not even worth that. I went with a group of 4 we were staying in two private rooms with private bathrooms. When we first went to our rooms one of them hadn't even been cleaned yet. The staff when we first got there also weren't very welcoming. Only good thing is location but definatly will not be staying there again

Reviewed by
Jo W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, tiny room
There were 7 of us and we booked 2x 4 bed rooms, the rooms were Tiny, but clean and functional. The showers were a long walk away and very hot.
But for the money it was good, the communial areas were clean and cool, staff friendly and a good atmosphere.
I'd stay again

Reviewed by
Kieran F

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rugby weekend
Easy location to find. Good location in London if going to a Twickenham game. One of the better hostels in the budget range in London. fairly clean. Although the Showers are the Timed button variety and you have to constantly press the button for water. Showers were sometimes a little grubby. But generally the rest was fairly good.

Reviewed by
Kylie B

From Willerby, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My review.
1. Good for the money we payed.
2. Not in a pleasant area.
3. Hostel was quiet at night which was nice.
4. Showers were awful. I tried 2 of them. First sprayed over the shower curtain and all over my clothes and the second one I had to push myself against the wall and stand on my tiptoes to even feel the water.
5. Rooms extremely basic but bedding was clean.
6. Should state that you don't pay for the room until your arrival because I thought I had already paid and it was disappointing to have to hand over money you thought had already come out of your account.

Reviewed by
Megan Kingswood

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple and easy
Clean, tidy. Just wanted 6 hours sleep following a late flight.

Reviewed by
Alison H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good (because very cheap), but too hot!
I can't say that it was bad, because Rest Up is very cheap. Same thinks was unsatisfied for me.
I lived in 10 persons room. This room was very small. I couldn't open the window or even turn off the heating, so every morning room was very stink, and hot.
In showers was ONLY very hot water.
Another way: Lockers are too expensive.

Reviewed by
Patryk L

From Poland
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget accommodation
Stayed here whilst going to see a show. Fab travel links to west end and easy bus route from outside to kings cross. Very clean hostel and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
emma b

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing hotel
i would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless there is no place to stay in London

Reviewed by
y law

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next