No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Restup London

3Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
172 New Kent Road , London , SE1 4YT
Following a year of extensive refurbishment, we are proud to welcome you to RestUp London

RestUp London youth hostel is a great new stylish, purpose built hostel in the heart of London, created with today’s traveller in mind; offering accommodation in shared dorms or private rooms both ensuite or share facilities.

The hostel is set in a large building steeped with history and tradition, combined with all the state of the art convenience perfect for today’s travellers, the hostel provides excellent value for money accommodation, together with cutting edge technology to ensure you have a home from home experience at the hostel.

Picture of Restup London , London  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If only nothing else
I know it's in Zone 1 of London and that's what I should expect from a place after spending this much amount of money (66 bucks to be specific) - but really.!!????!??!!?!!!!!
No No No way I felt it was worth it - should have tried somewhere else.
Good thing is that its on main road, near E&C tube station & connected by buses.
But room - too small, almost felt claustrophobic, poor ventilation (windows are locked), no space in bathroom (felt cheated for that) - no soap/towel (c'mon, its a hostel, I know but I booked an ensuite, at least a small soap), very tiny bathroom with a sub-standard shower and no exhaust fan or ventilation.
Beds are ok but again, the charging points (for my cell phone) are stuck behind the bed frame.
Poor design, just to fit the beds in, & I had no way to charge my phone (upper bed on the bunk).
Way too noisy on the main road outside (windows open bcz its summer time)
My recommendation - take it if you have no option.

Reviewed by
S Goel

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, bright, lovely, great location
Wonderful receptionists, helpful, fun, warm. Lovely place, great buzz, breakfast is lovely.
Only thing with the room (I was in a 6 bedroom house) was the two guests who arrived at 2am and spent quite a long time fixing their beds and whispering. I wish there was a cut-off time for arrivals. I was getting up at 6am so the disruption wasn't great. Overall, I highly recommend this hostel. Great transportation links and easy to get anywhere.

Reviewed by
Treasa S

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK place to Stay
Rooms were very clean, staff helpful.
Very noisy hostel, although it did quieten just before midnight. Door banging, people talking right in the corridors.
Rooms are very small but clean and functional.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab for money
For the cheap price it's a lovely hostel which does the job perfectly! Always clean, not a single complaint there, friendly staff, cute room, it's perfect for the price you pay

Reviewed by
A Jenkins

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st Time Visitor.
This was my 1st experience of this type of accomodation so wasn't sure what to expect.
Seemed to be a well run and organised establishment.
I was on the top bunk in a room sleeping 4, along with 3 other people and which along with the linen provided appeared clean and fit for purpose.
Breakfast had I chose to eat it consisted of basic cereal, toast,coffee/tea, etc which being part of the deal was ok and seemed more than adequate. Full English available at £5.50, if required, along with other meal choices/snacks throughout the day.
For what you might otherwise pay in a private hotel or guesthouse in London, it all seemed good value for money.
Not sure where I could find room to criticise if at all on this evidence so overall no complaints, well done!

Reviewed by
David Lovett

From Worthing, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible place really noisy, cold and draughty with no loo in room this was not made clear
Would never go back it's a glorified hostel for youngsters to rough it not as it is
Portrayed for business people to lay their heads!!!

Reviewed by
Claire A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quick place to crash
Was looking for a last minute place to crash with some uni friends after our graduation, great price and location, really easy to get back to even at 3am. 24 hour desk and entry to the building, would defiantly stay again if planning a night out in London.

Reviewed by
Samantha B

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go
This must be the worst value for money I have ever experienced. The "twin room" had bunk beds, there was nowhere to SIT DOWN!, no television, not even a plug to charge phone. Needless to say you had to rent a towel, and there was absolutely nothing to wash with. For £80.00 this is a ripoff. I chose it because of its location as I was working at Elephant. Interesting history though as first womens' hotel in London.

Reviewed by
tom d

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for travellers.
I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room and surrounding areas. Good location only 10 mins from the underground. Very basic but expected this with it being a hostel. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Michelle A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money inn the heart of London
I went for a short weekend break combined with a company party. I stayed in a 20-bedded room. For £30 pounds you get a clean room, bed and operation base for all your London trips. Can't complain about that. I've met friendly travellers from all over the world.

Reviewed by
Konrad S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next