No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rose and Crown

3สไตล์เฉพาะตัว อินน์ Ratings explained
3 High Street, , , Ashbury, SN6 8NA
The Rose & Crown Inn is ''More than just a dining experience..." You are welcome to try the a la carte menu prepared by Paul and his team from seasonal locally sourced ingredients. Or if you just want a snack we have a Lite Bites and Brasserie style menu you can enjoy at the bar. Our menu changes seasonally, but we always feature a range of locally reared steaks and fresh seafood delivered with 24 hours from the quays of Devon and Cornwall. Extensively refurbished in February 2013, the Rose & Crown Inn has eight en-suite bedrooms providing the perfect location for weekend breaks or a well earned rest for those visiting the area on business. An asset to the Rose & Crown is a multi-purpose function / games room equipped with pool table, computer games, TV and table tennis table. Capable of seating forty guests the function room provides the perfect location for birthdays, weddings, christenings or even a corporate meeting. Outside we have introduced two grass terraced areas where you can enjoy the sunshine and the beautiful views of the Oxfordshire and Wiltshire countryside. A covered patio provides an al fresco environment for lunch or dinner. Children are welcome to play in this relaxed environment. A retreat for many guest who are walking the Historic Ridgeway, walkers and dogs are always at home here. Gavin and the whole team welcome you to the Rose & Crown Inn and will be on hand to make your stay with us a pleasurable one. We look forward to welcoming you very soon....
Picture of The Rose and Crown, Ashbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 42% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the reception
This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. I would recommend it very highly; excellent value for money, clean well decorated room, and good food. Last time I stayed the staff were welcoming, polite and efficient. This time I was greeted by the rudest, most arrogant and aggressive hotel employee it has ever been my displeasure to meet. Never before have I been asked to pay for accommodation before I have completed my stay! When I refused I was asked to leave a card as security this again i refused. Having no where else to sleep for the night I eventually paid up front.. The whole episode was carried out in a rude and aggressive manner. No explanation was offered as to why I was expected to pay up front. I received no apology for for the way I was greeted.. If you choose to use the hotel just hope you don't meet the employee from hell!

Reviewed by
Victor Chaffey

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing special
Average rating - not good not bad.

Reviewed by
Leonhard f

From Switzerland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Village Pub experience
The setting in Ashbury was idylic. Thatched cottages with beautiful rose gardens. The pub was recently renovated as well as the garden area. The pub is very old but the rooms we tastefully fitted out with an ensuite bathroom. However the pub IS very old and the bathroom had some plumbing issues. The management responded quickly and when the issue could not be easily resolved they gave us half our money back. Overall a very good experience.

Reviewed by
F Foster

From Victoria, Canada
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely welcome. Great food
Stayed for one night recently. The staff were welcoming and very accommodating. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Lots of tea making items (welcome after a long day). Could have been improved by having a hair dryer.
The pub was great with some nice real ales to booze from. The food was top notch. Slightly more than a usual pub meal...but worth it for the wonderful quality. Particularly recommend the baked Camembert starter and haddock n chips. Lovely!

Reviewed by
wendy crouch

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Goods and Bads
Checking in was a bit slow as barmaid didn't know the room arrangements, so I sat straight down for meal with my bags. Landlord did come out shortly afterwards, but decided I might as well sit and eat.
First night food was okay-poor - Deep fried brie was one large piece, and needed cooking more as wasn't very melted. Although Chicken Ceaser Salad was very nice.
Second night food again was okay-poor - Eggs Benedict starter was amazing, but the Thai Green Curry was watery and didn't taste of coconut.
I couldn't get on the WiFi from any location, so that wasn't good for me.
TV was a tiny old PC with additional Digi box, and some channels were not good (Possibly due to the bad fog).
Service was o-k-a-y,but again could have been better - seemed like they were serving their regulars more than myself.
Additionally there were a couple of dogs (from other pub attendees) wandering around the eating areas.

Reviewed by
James A

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food to die for
The Rose and Crown is a friendly country pub with basic comfortable accommodation that looks as though it needs upgrading, however, have a meal here and you forget all of that, the food is simply awesome, beautifully presented and cooked. The bedrooms are cheap and cheerful mine was comfortable and clean just showing its age. Staying here was a pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
j stephenson

From x, France
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking the Ridgeway
This 'hotel' has pretentions of being a gastro pub and high quality hotel - it is a country pub with accommodation.
Room basic - only a solitary coat hanger in the wardrobe- no coat hooks on door - bathroom needs a lot of upgrading and the TV signal was lost at a crucial point in a programme.
Food very expensive for what it is - the menu rather overblown but there's a choice of specials which are more in keeping with the pub menu.
Don't know if it is just inexperience but was 'overcharged' 3 times - for a half of lemonade (£2?) for the gammon (£2 overcharged) and again when paying for the accommodation breakfast added on twice.

Reviewed by
P Watson

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.