Reviews - The Rose and Crown


3 High Street, ,, Ashbury, SN6 8NA

Price From 114.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • rachael jarvis

  • July 2015

very pricey

The hotel was excellent.

Very clean and tidy. It was in the middle of nowhere. The food was very pricey. They wanted extra for breakfast.

  • B Arch

  • April 2015

A chilly night in Astbury!

The room felt cold when we checked in but managed to turn up radiator eventually.

My husband went for a shower to warm up before going to bed, only cold water. I tried again in the morning, the same result. We did report to management before we left.

  • steven w

  • March 2015

Great location

Arrived late for one night only so missed the wonderful walks/scenery.

Dinner excellent. Breakfast excellent. Service excellent. the only minor complaint was that the heating did not work, so electric fires were provided - no problems. Definitely recommended stay again.

  • Carl K

  • February 2015

Good value room

Room was good, tv was ancient but worked.

£7.50 for a continental breakfast was a bit steep. Bar food was good quality.

  • Victor Chaffey

  • November 2014

Shame about the reception

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel.

I would recommend it very highly; excellent value for money, clean well decorated room, and good food. Last time I stayed the staff were welcoming, polite and efficient. This time I was greeted by the rudest, most arrogant and aggressive hotel employee it has ever been my displeasure to meet. Never before have I been asked to pay for accommodation before I have completed my stay. When I refused I was asked to leave a card as security this again i refused. Having no where else to sleep for the night I eventually paid up front.. The whole episode was carried out in a rude and aggressive manner. No explanation was offered as to why I was expected to pay up front. I received no apology for for the way I was greeted.. If you choose to use the hotel just hope you don't meet the employee from hell!

  • Leonhard f

  • August 2014

Nothing special

Average rating - not good not bad.

  • F Foster

  • August 2014

Village Pub experience

The setting in Ashbury was idylic.

Thatched cottages with beautiful rose gardens. The pub was recently renovated as well as the garden area. The pub is very old but the rooms we tastefully fitted out with an ensuite bathroom. However the pub IS very old and the bathroom had some plumbing issues. The management responded quickly and when the issue could not be easily resolved they gave us half our money back. Overall a very good experience.

  • wendy crouch

  • July 2014

Lovely welcome. Great food

Stayed for one night recently.

The staff were welcoming and very accommodating. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Lots of tea making items (welcome after a long day). Could have been improved by having a hair dryer. The pub was great with some nice real ales to booze from. The food was top notch. Slightly more than a usual pub meal...but worth it for the wonderful quality. Particularly recommend the baked Camembert starter and haddock n chips. Lovely!

  • James A

  • March 2014

Goods and Bads

Checking in was a bit slow as barmaid didn't know the room arrangements, so I sat straight down for meal with my bags.

Landlord did come out shortly afterwards, but decided I might as well sit and eat. First night food was okay-poor - Deep fried brie was one large piece, and needed cooking more as wasn't very melted. Although Chicken Ceaser Salad was very nice. Second night food again was okay-poor - Eggs Benedict starter was amazing, but the Thai Green Curry was watery and didn't taste of coconut. I couldn't get on the WiFi from any location, so that wasn't good for me. TV was a tiny old PC with additional Digi box, and some channels were not good (Possibly due to the bad fog). Service was o-k-a-y,but again could have been better - seemed like they were serving their regulars more than myself. Additionally there were a couple of dogs (from other pub attendees) wandering around the eating areas.