No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Green Gables Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
326 Abingdon Road, , , Oxford, OX1 4TE
Welcome to Green Gables, a characteristic Edwardian house set back from the road - a delightful setting in which to relax and enjoy your visit to the historic city of Oxford. Built in 1914 for a local merchant, this solid but elegant house has retained the comfortable appearance and atmosphere of that first owner: Indeed, more than one guest has written 'It's like being at home' Our rooms are bright, spacious and pleasantly furnished to ensure your stay is a comfortable one. All rooms have LCD flat screen TV , tea/coffee making facilities, en-suite showers and toilets. One room on the ground floor has been adapted for disabled guests, with its own ramp and front door. FREE WI-FI is available through out the guest house. Green Gables is one of the few Guest Houses in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for guests – and situated in the south of the city in a conservation area, yet within a mile of the A34 and with easy access to the M4 and M40. Gloucester Green coach station and the Oxford train station are within 1.5 miles radius and buses stop right outside the Green Gables Guest House. The Green Gables is a 20-minutes walk or 5-minute taxi/bus ride from the city-centre, universities, shopping area, theaters, cinema, museums, bars & restaurants. Alternatively, you can reach the city centre by taking a pleasant stroll along the river Thames. For those of you who love to fish we are in the perfect position as the River Thames and angling shop is 25 yards away from Green Gables. For the comfort of our guests, we are a non-smoking guest house. We also have a lounge/conservatory and a garden for guests to relax in after a hard day of sightseeing. We do not take bookings for Saturday night only and ask our guests to stay a minimum of 2 nights including either the Friday or Sunday. Please note that from Sunday- Friday check in times are 2.00pm to 10:00pm & on Saturdays the latest check in time is 6:00pm.
Picture of Green Gables Guest House, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
This accommodation is within easy walking distance to the centre of Oxford; or there are very regular buses picking up and dropping off just outside. The guest house has it's own car park and we were able to leave our car in there on our final morning, before we left Oxford at lunch time. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable; there was plenty of hot water to shower in the morning. The breakfasts were delicious, but were served between 7.30-8.30am in the week so not suitable for late risers.

Reviewed by
Graham T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Green Gables overnight stay
Easy to book and we found Green Gables to be very efficiently run and clean. Very well situated for our needs - 15 minutes walk to Oxford Centre and on the right side of Oxford for transport (entering and leaving).

Reviewed by
P Dawson

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay very friendly hosts

Reviewed by
S Millward

From Dudley, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price, good sized room (we were on the ground floor). Convenient location with frequent buses just outside the door, very short journey into Oxford, probably twenty to thirty minute walk. Would be happy to come here again.

Reviewed by
Marie-Louise F

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and efficient hotel but double room was overpriced for its cramped conditions.

Reviewed by
Alan R

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Both owners were very accommodating providing me with everything I needed during my stay. Breakfast was fantastic with a good variety and great service! Thank you!

Reviewed by
H Neve

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, good value and clean place to stay.
Stayed at the family run
Green Gables on Thursday 22nd May for 1 night. Chose this Guest house as it seemed good value and just over a mile from Oxford Centre. On arrival, had no problem with parking. Our room (no. 4) was very clean with nice bathroom (shower unit only). Place was very quiet considering place situated on a main road. Breakfast was between 0730 hrs & 0830hrs. We got down for breakfast around 0830hrs but had to wait around 10 minutes because all tables were taken. Once seated, had full English breakfast which was very nice with extra toast offered. Check out was at 1000hrs.

Reviewed by
Nick K

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything is covered above. The room was warm and clean. Plenty of breakfast and very handy for buses to and from the town centre.

Reviewed by
R Dudley

From Grange Over Sands, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and convenient stay for central Oxford
A well run bed and breakfast with generous room and en suite facility. Off street parking which is valuable given its proximity to the town.

Reviewed by
G Franchetti

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
Very comfortable accommodation, and friendly service.... If possible ask for a room at the back, if they have one....road very noisy first thing in the morning.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next