No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Green Gables Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
326 Abingdon Road, , , Oxford, OX1 4TE
Welcome to Green Gables, a characteristic Edwardian house set back from the road - a delightful setting in which to relax and enjoy your visit to the historic city of Oxford. Built in 1914 for a local merchant, this solid but elegant house has retained the comfortable appearance and atmosphere of that first owner: Indeed, more than one guest has written 'It's like being at home' Our rooms are bright, spacious and pleasantly furnished to ensure your stay is a comfortable one. All rooms have LCD flat screen TV , tea/coffee making facilities, en-suite showers and toilets. One room on the ground floor has been adapted for disabled guests, with its own ramp and front door. FREE WI-FI is available through out the guest house. Green Gables is one of the few Guest Houses in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for guests – and situated in the south of the city in a conservation area, yet within a mile of the A34 and with easy access to the M4 and M40. Gloucester Green coach station and the Oxford train station are within 1.5 miles radius and buses stop right outside the Green Gables Guest House. The Green Gables is a 20-minutes walk or 5-minute taxi/bus ride from the city-centre, universities, shopping area, theaters, cinema, museums, bars & restaurants. Alternatively, you can reach the city centre by taking a pleasant stroll along the river Thames. For those of you who love to fish we are in the perfect position as the River Thames and angling shop is 25 yards away from Green Gables. For the comfort of our guests, we are a non-smoking guest house. We also have a lounge/conservatory and a garden for guests to relax in after a hard day of sightseeing. We do not take bookings for Saturday night only and ask our guests to stay a minimum of 2 nights including either the Friday or Sunday. Please note that from Sunday- Friday check in times are 2.00pm to 10:00pm & on Saturdays the latest check in time is 6:00pm.
Picture of Green Gables Guest House, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything is covered above. The room was warm and clean. Plenty of breakfast and very handy for buses to and from the town centre.

Reviewed by
R Dudley

From Grange Over Sands, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and convenient stay for central Oxford
A well run bed and breakfast with generous room and en suite facility. Off street parking which is valuable given its proximity to the town.

Reviewed by
G Franchetti

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
Very comfortable accommodation, and friendly service.... If possible ask for a room at the back, if they have one....road very noisy first thing in the morning.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, clean, and friendly
Very good access to Oxford town centre, by bus or walking. At least two local shops across the street for groceries and wine. Many bus lines go to the centre from here and it's an easy walk too. Car parking was off-street and easily accessed from room. The room was simple, clean, and comfortable. The shower was good with good pressure and temperature control. The only criticism would be that there was not a comfortable lap-top desk for my computer although I was able to use what was there reasonably well. They apparently have an award-winning garden which I am sorry I did not explore this time - so next time! I will go back. I think it would be hard to beat for price, convenience, comfort, and access to Oxford centre.

Reviewed by
Patricia Pelton

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

W/e break
Hotel warm and welcoming! spacious bedroom with every thing you require.Good breakfast with plenty of choices .The owners were knowledgable of the area which was a great help as we were only there for one night.next time we are in the area this is one hotel we will go back to.thank you for a comfortable and warm stay.

Reviewed by
Roy B

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed
Just what I needed - a comfortable room, close to the city centre, and a good breakfast

Reviewed by
T Norman

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant B+B with lovely owners
This B+B is in a great location only a picturesque walk from the centre of Oxford. The rooms are a good size and very clean if a little old-fashioned. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was also excellent with a good range of choice and quality. Would stay again!

Reviewed by
Kate R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Green Gables
clean, quiet, good breakfast, and convenient for buses to town and station

Reviewed by
g brown

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room with everything we needed for a short stay. Breakfast was the nicest we have had in a long time.

Reviewed by
P Braithwaite

From Richmond, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly accommodation with car parking.
Good breakfast and a pleasant and healthy one mile walk into the centre.
Bedroom in need of a little refreshment of furnishings.
Enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Denise B

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next