No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ailean Chraggan

3Visit Scotland Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Weem, , , Aberfeldy, PH15 2LD
Since opening in the 60's the "Chraggs" has become a social hub for locals and tourists alike. The busy bar boasts a choice of 100 whiskies, varying real ales and beers and a selection of wine for supping or complimenting the food. Whether you want to take in the fantastic views from the covered terrace and beer garden or have a warm around the fire in winter there's always a welcome for you. Combining the fresh local fare and our chefs creativity the acclaimed Ailean Chraggan restaurant has developed a reputation for consistently high quality traditional food. Enjoy the freshness of fish and shellfish, seasonal game while bathing in the marvelous views over the River Tay. Each of the five spacious en-suite rooms have been tastefully refurbished to make your stay at the Ailean Chraggan as relaxing and comfortable as possible...
Picture of Ailean Chraggan, Aberfeldy at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money. Nice location.
We booked a twin room but got a double. It was a large room so didn't bring it up.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was great. Nice location with views over the River Tay.

Reviewed by
D Lindsay

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place for a Break
The Ailean Craggan has the feel of a small well fun family business which of course it is. The room was generous with all that you could wish - ample room to sit, read or just enjoy the view. The complimentary hot drinks included decaffeinated options and herb teas, all too often missing. The only problem was weak or erratic WIFI. The meals were good and the service flexible, and friendly. We will come again!

Reviewed by
A Wight-Boycott

From Burntisland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food was excellant and the staff could not be more helpful . Would certainly return and we will

Reviewed by
P Gullick

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy hotel in scenic location
We very much enjoyed our stay. The staff made vus very welcome. Our room was a little old fashioned but comfortable. There was a good choice on the menu. Food was well cooked and presented. Likewise at breakfast. Would definitely return.

Reviewed by
John R

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find
Booked by chance. First impressions on arrival were not encouraging but once through the front door, all worries were allayed. Had a great room, great food and all the staff were so attentive and interested in you being there, such an unusual experience in Scotland( and I am a Scott).
Would recommend to anyone and will definitely go back again.

Reviewed by
Alex Cheyne

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Janet E

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mini break at ailean chraggan
Extremely friendly staff, warm welcome and excellent service throughout the stay. I left a pair of ear-rings behind in the room and the owner phoned me to ask for my address and they arrived in the post the following morning. Will stay again and recommend it to family and friends.

Reviewed by
C Bolton

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple accommodation with slightly dated décor, but very welcoming and value for money.
Fantastic food and excellent bar, with very attentive staff

Reviewed by
Nicky D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weem is wonderful!
This is a small family run hotel with five rooms a terrific restaurant
and bar. The Gillespies run a great business serving locals and many
visitors. We stayed two nights we enjoyed an extensive menu selection (duck confit, pan seared
scallops, lamb shank) as well as delicious home cooked breakfasts in the morning.
The Gillespies are great hosts. There to welcome upon arrival and to provide
information about local history and area sights.
Excellent place to stay for an incredibly reasonable cost.

Reviewed by
E Bailey

From Tucson, USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tavelling with my disabled father, the family room was superb, being on ground floor and with additional space within the room. Staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and curteous.

Reviewed by
Claire H

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next