No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grange

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
High Street, Long Wittenham, , Abingdon, OX14 4QH
Our Guest House combines the conveniences of modern family home with enhanced original features - a graciously curving staircase instils a sense of well being and comfort from the moment you arrive. We have welcoming dogs - a labrador and a miniature wirehaired dachhound - instantly loved by children. Four or more friendly Shetland sheep live in our paddock. Located near Culham Science Centre (2miles), Didcot (3 miles), Milton Park (5 miles), Abingdon (5 miles), Wallingford (5 miles) Harwell (6 miles) and Oxford (8 miles) Our period Georgian village house is set in a large walled sunny garden with views of the Wittenham Clumps - a well known Oxfordshire landmark. Long Wittenham is an ancient village on the banks of the River Thames. It has two village pubs with good food and wine, a miniature railway museum, excellent walks and is close to an 18 hole golf course. Oxford is nearby with a convenient rail and bus service. Relax and enjoy your stay with a glass of wine in the peaceful garden and watch the sun go down. Breakfast is held in the winter in the dining room but sometimes in the summer, weather permitting, on the terrace overlooking our pretty south facing garden. If you wish to be piped down to breakfast, Graham a member of the Oxford Pipe Band, is happy to oblige. When cooking we aim to use the very best organic and free range ingredients, which where possible, are locally sourced and Graham looks forward to cooking a grand Oxfordshire breakfast to your choice. We look forward to welcoming you to The Grange. Please note; we can only accept cash and cheque payments.
Picture of The Grange, Abingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faulty Towers?
The experience did not start well. Despite a morning call to confirm check-in at 5 pm, we were kept waiting outside for 20 minutes, as the owner was late arriving. there was no apology. When given front door keys I was told not to loose it!. The room was shocking, hairs on bathroom floor, toilet dirty, broken furniture and fittings, hairs in the bed! I could go on but I think you get the picture. Needless to say, we did not stay there so I can't comment on the food.

ManagementResponse

Bill, Thank you for your comments. First I should point out we are not a Hotel and there is therefore no receptionist to greet guests on their arrival but I did apologise to all six guests for late arrival. It is just possible that you didn't hear it. I am still somewhat bemused that in the 15 minutes you were in the room you used our toilet facilities and had a shower but it seems your wife then decided she wished to stay somewhere else. Despite this I collected no money from you. I should finally add that the 5 other guests congratulated me on our service and would be happy to stay with us again. Thanks again, Graham.

Reviewed by
William Y

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Unfriendly host. The reason I stay at B & B's is they are much more personal than hotels - and generally cheaper. Dirty room, very poor quality cooked breakfast complete with fried egg. Specifically told host (previous eve) no egg please. His response ' its early in the morning (8am) and my brain is not working properly!). In my experience not a friendly place to stay at all. The pluses are its a lovely house in a beautiful village. Def. will not stay again.

Reviewed by
bob h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Credit Card Payments
Note; even though you book via credit card on Late Rooms doesn't mean the accommodation excepts them.
After my journey to the Grange I found out from a phone call that I needed cash which I couldn't get access to. I wasn't happy and ended up having to drive home that evening.

Reviewed by
David Jones

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful compliment to our weekend visit to Oxford
The hosts were friendly and welcoming. The house was interesting and very clean. Our room was spacious and relaxing to stay in. We enjoyed a full breakfast which fortified us for the day.

Reviewed by
Michael Bacon

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4*?
Sorry to say not quite as we hoped. Room and en suite bit small.
Would definitely suggest new bedding.

Reviewed by
v neat

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Nice country B&B, lovely owners. Nice food.

Reviewed by
Karl R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the rooms were lovely and clean and the bed was really comfortable.

Reviewed by
P Gater

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm & Friendly
Very nice b&b owners very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast what you want when you want it nothing too much trouble. Would definitely stay again, was recommended to try the Vine & Spice pub just down the road for dinner, best Indian food I have tasted, little more expensive but worth it. Locals very nice people too.

Reviewed by
Philip W

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Excellent stay

Reviewed by
N Harrison

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and comfortable
My stay at The Grange was a very good experience. I was greeted warmly and made to feel welcome. The accommodation was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend The Grange.

Reviewed by
Janet M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next