No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashlea Guest House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
58 Oxford Road, , , Banbury, OX16 9AN
Welcome to Ashlea Guest House, a friendly, family run Bed & Breakfast where a warm welcome awaits you from the new owners, Ayman and Julie. The Guest House is located on the Oxford Road (A4260) within walking distance of the town centre, just over a mile from the bus and train stations and a short distance from J11 of the M40, and the Horton Hospital just across the road. Fast trains to Oxford, Birmingham and London as well as a regular bus service make it an idea location for business, pleasure or for those visiting family and friends. The Bed & Breakfast is open all year round and has 12 rooms, 6 in an annex to the side of the house and 8 of which are en suite, with single, twin, double and family rooms available. We have ample free parking, particularly useful if you are working locally or decide to travel by train or bus to save on parking costs! Please contact us directly for current special offers and deals for business and contract customers. Banbury is a historic market town and markets are still held on a Thursday and Saturday with a Farmers Market on the 1st Friday of every month. Castle Quay shopping centre hosts a variety of shops and there is a good selection of restaurants and pubs. Ashlea Guest House is ideally situated for visiting historic Warwick Castle, Stratford-upon-Avon, Leamington Spa and the city of Oxford, renowned for its history and heritage. The beautiful Cotswolds with places such as Bourton on the Water and Burford are within easy reach. Silverstone Race course is about 30 minutes away, Cropredy (location for the annual Fairport Convention pop festival) is 10 minutes and Bicester Village retail outlet about 20 minutes. There are a number of National Trust properties nearby such as Upton House, Farnborough House and Blenheim Palace, birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill and a World Heritage site, is only 30 minutes away. So whether you're in Banbury for business or pleasure we look forward to welcoming you!
Picture of Ashlea Guest House, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Convenient and good breakfast.
En-suite just a little on the narrow side but ok for a short stay.
Hash browns or fried bread would make breakfast perfect !!

Reviewed by
J Davies

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ashlea Guest House
Was a very clean and comfortable room. The proprietors were friendly without being intrusive and were very helpful when I stupidly left valuables behind!

Reviewed by
J Cooper

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Ashlea
Ashlea guest house was absolutely perfect for our stay in Banbury. IT was about 600yds from the venue of the band we went to see and 5 minutes walk from town. Our room was clean and spacious, the staff were polite and friendly. Would stay there again. Rolly

Reviewed by
r paulucy

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very welcoming couple. Only stayed for one night but would definately stay again if in the area. Very clean accommodation, the room I stayed in was furnished and decorated to a really good standard. Breakfast really good, vegetarian option on menu which was good. Only a 5 minute walk from town.

Reviewed by
Karen E

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Ashley Guest House
Location of hotel is ideally suited and close to town centre. Interrupted sleep due to creaking floor boards in room above us. The occupant seemed to be very active.
Breakfast was very good.

ManagementResponse

Hello, thanks for your feedback. We're sorry you were disturbed by the guest in the room above, but pleased you enjoyed your breakfast. Hope you had a good day on Sunday and hope to see you again. Best regards, Ayman & Julie

Reviewed by
Kul B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't of asked for more
Lovely modern room - light and clean. Shared bathroom also big an clean.
I mentioned to the owner that i would be leaving very early before breakfast - we i got back to my room later that day i had been left a bag of treats to take away with me in the morning.
Thank you

Reviewed by
C Wright

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 Night Stay
Nice clean accommodation & friendly welcome

Reviewed by
Paul Clark

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was a warm and friendly welcome when we arrived which continued thru the stay

ManagementResponse

Hello, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback which, under the circumstances is much appreciated. It was a while ago that you stayed but we're happy that you had a comfortable stay with us. Best regards, Julie & Ayman.

Reviewed by
s johnson

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We arrived Friday afternoon for 2 nights, We were greeted by Ayman and Julie who made us very welcome, the room was spacious and spotless, although on front of house and busy road once inside you could not hear any noise at all, Food very good and plenty of choice freshly cooked sets you up for the day. Will be returning when we go to Banbury next

ManagementResponse

Hello, Thanks for your great review - we really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again next year! Best regards, Julie & Ayman

Reviewed by
Christine Marston

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

o.k. for one night
disappointed that room was near the front door and could hear every word of peolpe checking in,and at the front of the house with noisy traffic outside.

ManagementResponse

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry that you were disappointed that you were allocated a room at the front of the house and that you found the room to be noisy. We do state quite clearly in our property description that 'The Guest House is located on the Oxford Road (A4260)......' As soon as we showed you into your room you commented that you would have preferred a quieter room. Being the owners of a B&B yourselves you should be aware of how booking systems work and therefore, we were surprised that you had not made a request for a quiet room when you booked online. If we had received such a request we would have done our utmost to allocate you a room at the back of the house. Unfortunately, we were full and were unable to change your room on this occasion. We hope you enjoyed your break and have a good season. Best regards, Julie & Ayman

Reviewed by
S Evenden

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next