No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caravel Guest House

2Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
30 London Street, , , Edinburgh, EH3 6NA
The Caravel Guest House is the ideal location for your stay in Edinburgh. The Caravel is set in the beautiful architectural area of Edinburgh's classical New Town, this charming family run Georgian house is situated in the very heart centre of Edinburgh. With bus and transit available within convenient walking distance and Prince's Street within close proximity, the Caravel House is an ideal accommodation from which to explore the city.

Enjoy a hearty buffet style breakfast in the intimate breakfast room overlooking the garden area. It is the perfect start to your day in the very busy and historic city. There is so much to do for all when you stay at the Caravel House. From sports to shopping, arts to history, Edinburgh will leave a place in your heart that will last a lifetime of memories.

Relax in the evening in the grandeur of the lounge in a peaceful ambience. WiFi internet connection is available free upon request for those guests that wish to stay connected during their stay. Book your Edinburgh getaway at the Caravel House to experience superb service and warm friendly hospitality which awaits you in this historic Georgian house. See for yourself why so many come back time and again to this enchanting home in an enchanting city.
Picture of Caravel Guest House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service above and beyond
It is wonderful and unusual to have people who genuinely care about your welfare and pleasure.
As a single woman at the Edinburgh Festival, I could not have asked for more care, consideration and general support. Certainly helped my first Festival experience. I will be back.

Reviewed by
Helen O

From Bushey, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Brilliant stay with amazing friendly service in a great location to explore Edinburgh
On arrival we were greeted welcomly and shown to our room which was pleasantly upgraded free of charge from our booked twin to a triple, the room was beautiful and on the ground floor room 12, we had wardrobe space and the usual tea & coffee making facilities always being topped up in the room along with free view TV, chairs & table, dressing table & on suite shower & toilet, there were also lots of power points to charge phones ect, the staff couldn't be more friendly and were helpful showing us how to get around & also recommending good places to see, the breakfast was perfect with everything from a traditional fry up to fresh fruit, yoghurts & cereals along with croissants & breads. The decor of the property is Moroccan and beautifully decorated, On our day of departure we were allowed to leave our luggage with them as our journey home wasn't until 11pm and when we went back that evening to collect it the owners even allowed us to use their room to freshen up, I have never experienced hospitality like that before, I will always use tthe caravel guest house now when coming to Edinburgh as it is 10 mins walk right into town & also from the coach station , I would also recommend it to anyone wishing to explore edinburgh who wants a friendly home from home place to stay, I can't wait to stay again

Reviewed by
Juliet Turvey

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Very good location ! Quiet neighborhood! Clean & comfortable!

Reviewed by
J Wang

From West Kirby, Wirral, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant comfortable accommodation within easy walking distance of all main attractions. Staff were very helpful and attentive

Reviewed by
M Spencer

From Stoke Sub Hamdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
Received a warm welcome and very helpful advise regarding parking which came in very useful. Breakfast was delicious. Lovely house in a good area not far from the main part of town. Recommended!

Reviewed by
Thomas W

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly owners, comfy beds, would come back again, loved it. :)

Reviewed by
A Baskett

From Shepton Mallet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a gem of a place to stay. The owners are some of the friendliest, most accommodating people ever. The breakfast was ample with cooked and continental on offer and all in all a great value for money experience, next time we are in Edinburgh I wont even look to stay anywhere else.

Reviewed by
Peter K

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family owned; family operated within 5 minutes walk of the centre .... Brilliant :)
It's magic when it all comes together ... The Caravel on London Street is a secret haven that TripAdvisor sortof hasn't quite discovered: pricewise plus location location location plus the tiny chic shops and restaurants off Broughton Street here is a gem of a place .... Everso downside (trivial) the scrambled eggs at breakfast are just a bit overcooked ... and grilled buttered kippers in their own juice would make the 4.5 stars turn to 5.
We're coming back to the Caravel. :) :) :)
NigeCh (Reading)

Reviewed by
Nigel C

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location.
This Guest House had an excellent location for exploring Edinburgh and the staff were very firendly. On the down side our room was freezing cold, the beds were so hard we didnt sleep a wink all weekend and there was a step into the bathroom that both my husband and myself tripped over and smashed into the wall. The toilet was squeezed into the corner between sink and shower allowing you to rest your chin on the sink whilst sitting on the loo. Although we enjoyed Edinburgh Im afraid we wouldnt choose this Guest House again.

Reviewed by
l Roberts

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was upgraded when I arrived to a double instead of a single for no extra cost. The room was clean and spacious with good sized bathroom and very good shower. Staff were very friendly, but not intrusive. The location safe and very central. Overall a very good stay

Reviewed by
L Pankhurst

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next