No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caravel Guest House

2Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
30 London Street, , , Edinburgh, EH3 6NA
The Caravel Guest House is the ideal location for your stay in Edinburgh. The Caravel is set in the beautiful architectural area of Edinburgh's classical New Town, this charming family run Georgian house is situated in the very heart centre of Edinburgh. With bus and transit available within convenient walking distance and Prince's Street within close proximity, the Caravel House is an ideal accommodation from which to explore the city.

Enjoy a hearty buffet style breakfast in the intimate breakfast room overlooking the garden area. It is the perfect start to your day in the very busy and historic city. There is so much to do for all when you stay at the Caravel House. From sports to shopping, arts to history, Edinburgh will leave a place in your heart that will last a lifetime of memories.

Relax in the evening in the grandeur of the lounge in a peaceful ambience. WiFi internet connection is available free upon request for those guests that wish to stay connected during their stay. Book your Edinburgh getaway at the Caravel House to experience superb service and warm friendly hospitality which awaits you in this historic Georgian house. See for yourself why so many come back time and again to this enchanting home in an enchanting city.
Picture of Caravel Guest House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but tired accommodation.
Our bedroom window was broken and would not lock. We were told not to worry as CCTV would stop anyone getting in!
The light in the bathroom would only work with the door shut. Unfortunately the only mirror was in the bathroom and the hairdryer was fixed outside.
The bed was extremely small for a double and was noisy and not very comfortable.
Woken up on first night by noisy heating. Ok once radiator was switched off.
Food was of a good standard but don't expect any bacon, black pudding or pork sausages for breakfast. On the plus side our hosts were very pleasant and the hotels location is ideal for exploring the city.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Cofton Hackett, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff friendly , room nice and warm, location excellent
Breakfast disappointing,

Reviewed by
Anne F

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great spot quiet and very friendly host.a short walk up to the old part of town or a small taxi fare (£6)
Would recommend to travellers on a budget who want clean comfortable accomdation.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
We had a very welcoming reception when we arrived early afternoon. The room was comfortable and breakfast was served promptly.

Reviewed by
Jeanette M

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic B&B
Stayed during the Ryder Cup so left each morning before breakfast. Room clean and tidy and well maintained each day.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent b&b
Stayed for four nights during the Festival. Price seemed quite high, but their normal tariff looks very reasonable, and all accommodation is expensive at Festival time.
Very well situated, a few minutes walk from the end of the tramline from the airport, and pretty central.
Extremely pleasant and helpful owner and staff.
A good sized single room, my only suggestion for improvement being the provision of a comfortable chair. There was room for one, and it's not always comfortable sitting on the bed.
Excellent breakfast!

Reviewed by
Christopher Barton

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service above and beyond
It is wonderful and unusual to have people who genuinely care about your welfare and pleasure.
As a single woman at the Edinburgh Festival, I could not have asked for more care, consideration and general support. Certainly helped my first Festival experience. I will be back.

Reviewed by
Helen O

From Bushey, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Brilliant stay with amazing friendly service in a great location to explore Edinburgh
On arrival we were greeted welcomly and shown to our room which was pleasantly upgraded free of charge from our booked twin to a triple, the room was beautiful and on the ground floor room 12, we had wardrobe space and the usual tea & coffee making facilities always being topped up in the room along with free view TV, chairs & table, dressing table & on suite shower & toilet, there were also lots of power points to charge phones ect, the staff couldn't be more friendly and were helpful showing us how to get around & also recommending good places to see, the breakfast was perfect with everything from a traditional fry up to fresh fruit, yoghurts & cereals along with croissants & breads. The decor of the property is Moroccan and beautifully decorated, On our day of departure we were allowed to leave our luggage with them as our journey home wasn't until 11pm and when we went back that evening to collect it the owners even allowed us to use their room to freshen up, I have never experienced hospitality like that before, I will always use tthe caravel guest house now when coming to Edinburgh as it is 10 mins walk right into town & also from the coach station , I would also recommend it to anyone wishing to explore edinburgh who wants a friendly home from home place to stay, I can't wait to stay again

Reviewed by
Juliet Turvey

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Very good location ! Quiet neighborhood! Clean & comfortable!

Reviewed by
J Wang

From West Kirby, Wirral, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant comfortable accommodation within easy walking distance of all main attractions. Staff were very helpful and attentive

Reviewed by
M Spencer

From Stoke Sub Hamdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next