No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highwayman Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
249 Banbury Road, , , Kidlington, OX5 1BF
An historic former coaching inn, public house and now a hotel and restaurant. Dating back to the early 1700’s the Highwayman Hotel at Kidlington in Oxfordshire has been a coaching inn, hotel and public house for 300 years. Located to the north of Kidlington on the A4260 this friendly family run Hotel is ideally situated for those with business commitments but better still if you’re visiting Oxford for pleasure. With ample secure parking and a pleasant canal side garden the Highwayman offers all that a traveller could wish for at an affordable price. We offer a choice of accommodation including twin, double and single bedrooms, all of which come with an en-suite bathroom and shower and are tastefully decorated. Televisions and tea & coffee making facilities can be found in all the rooms. Within the hotel there is a public bar for traditional cask and keg ales, fine wines and spirits and all other beverages. We also have a restaurant for lunches and evening meals and all food is cooked on the premises. Packed lunches and Room Service are also available on request. We also have a pub garden and children’s play area which is set in idyllic surroundings next to the Oxford Canal. As well as car parking facilities on site we can also offer Caravan Club parking and moorings for canal craft. We are one of the best hotels in Kidlington if you are looking for a comfortable room and excellent food in a welcoming atmosphere. Our bed and breakfast rates are very competitive. We are possibly also one of the only hotels Kidlington-based that can offer a complete parking facilities for so many different modes of transport!
Picture of The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canalside accommodation
The accommodation suited my needs. It was clean and quiet with a beer garden overlooking the canal. I have rated the quality of the room as a four which I was quite happy with; if it had been of a higher standard it would have been more expensive and therefore more than I wanted to pay. The staff were very accommodating. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Pam H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear
The bedroom & bathroom were very small, my bed pushed right up against the dressing table. Bathroom toilet & sink were clean but there is no way I could have a shower the grouting was filthy, it didn't look as though the skirting had ever been painted. Although there was shower gel there was no soap. How do you wash your hands after the toilet.
On a positive note the staff were friendly, it was in a lovely position & the food was good. I wouldn't stay there again but would eat there.

Reviewed by
Carolyn C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average accommodation but didn't cost the earth and convenient location. Not over impressed with the menu choice from the bar and ended up having some Indian food which was again, average

Reviewed by
T Drew

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better
The setting for this b & b is lovely and I would stay again as it was convenient for me and my daughter. It was a little dated and the bathroom was not as clean as it should be but the bed was comfy and clean and towels were ok. Breakfast was lovely but table was not set and there was no one there to welcome you and tell you what was available as no menu on tables. Just wish customer service was better.

Reviewed by
tracey h

From Highbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed for Bleinham
Good sized room,large comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities and good sized shower all you need for a stop over!

Reviewed by
deborah c

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Event stop-over
Just needed a local place to stay whilst attending a family get-together. Bed & breakfast was all that was needed and this hotel/pub was just the job. Small room but adequate for just myself for the one night. Clean and functional, albeit the bed was a bit noisy (creaked a bit). Service was good at breakfast and the food was very nice I have to say, good English to start the day. Would use this location again for similar circumstances.

Reviewed by
John Fogg

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friday night's Stay
Quick service at reception. A good night's sleep in the annex even with window open and a busy road. Breakfast was very good, good quality sausage and bacon. Plenty of food and well cooked.

Reviewed by
teresa b

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and not very cheerful
In simple terms you get what you pay for so I didn't expect a luxury stay !
What I did expect at an establishment billed as a hotel was to get an evening meal. There are no signs stating when food is available - other than an "A board" on the road saying "Food available all day" What it should say is "Food available - until the chef finishes" which on the night I stayed was 7.30pm. I asked for the menu at 7.33pm and was told that the chef had gone.
Frankly this isn't good enough. The staff told me about the problems they'd had but in a nutshell ... that ain't my problem. Breakfast was OK - nothing more.
Plumbing is a bit primitive and there's a smell of drains.
I think I could tell what colour the carpet was originally - but years of dirt have changed it.
The place is busy and there were quite a few guests - but I won't go back and wouldn't recommend the place.

Reviewed by
David B

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Highwayman Hotel - Kidlington
Excellent customer service from the start, nothing was too much trouble. Very clean with all mod cons and everything provided. Off the beaten track in a quieter part of town, but within easy reach of Oxford in one direction and Woodstock in the other.

Reviewed by
K Atkin

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover at the Highway man
Lovely setting and property. The welcome and service was warm and friendly and the breakfast we were served was amazing! Delicious and enormous! Stay good value for money.
Only down side was the plumbing! Kept us awake during the night ( think there are chemical loos in other rooms and the pump went off at intervals throughout the night - pain!) Room. Bed clean linen and comfy although room itself and bathroom could definitely do with a lick of paint - would make all the difference.
Also restaurant was closed ( sat night) think do to chefs absence. Imagine it would be good food judging by breakfast. We did find a great restaurant 5 mins away tho.

Reviewed by
B Thomas

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next