No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highwayman Hotel

3自行分类 箪宿 Ratings explained
249 Banbury Road, , , Kidlington, OX5 1BF
An historic former coaching inn, public house and now a hotel and restaurant. Dating back to the early 1700’s the Highwayman Hotel at Kidlington in Oxfordshire has been a coaching inn, hotel and public house for 300 years. Located to the north of Kidlington on the A4260 this friendly family run Hotel is ideally situated for those with business commitments but better still if you’re visiting Oxford for pleasure. With ample secure parking and a pleasant canal side garden the Highwayman offers all that a traveller could wish for at an affordable price. We offer a choice of accommodation including twin, double and single bedrooms, all of which come with an en-suite bathroom and shower and are tastefully decorated. Televisions and tea & coffee making facilities can be found in all the rooms. Within the hotel there is a public bar for traditional cask and keg ales, fine wines and spirits and all other beverages. We also have a restaurant for lunches and evening meals and all food is cooked on the premises. Packed lunches and Room Service are also available on request. We also have a pub garden and children’s play area which is set in idyllic surroundings next to the Oxford Canal. As well as car parking facilities on site we can also offer Caravan Club parking and moorings for canal craft. We are one of the best hotels in Kidlington if you are looking for a comfortable room and excellent food in a welcoming atmosphere. Our bed and breakfast rates are very competitive. We are possibly also one of the only hotels Kidlington-based that can offer a complete parking facilities for so many different modes of transport!
Picture of The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay but ...
there was only Indian food on offer that night. I just wanted a bowl of soup and a roll so I had to go out and find something from a take-away. There were 3 other pubs in the area, so a choice was available.
The room was cosy, and the bathroom a good size. The building is an old hostelry and with that came creaking floor boards. However, it was fine for my purposes.

Reviewed by
A Wilson

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Very welcoming. Only staying overnight but met all our needs. Plenty of breakfast options.

Reviewed by
Muni C

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Highwayman Hotel
I stayed for a night at this B&B on a business trip. The welcome was friendly. The room was small, basic and clean. It was quite a cold night and the heating was fine. Would use again if passing through on business.

Reviewed by
Ruth C

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Economy room - value for money, warm, but poor security
Economy single room. Clean and warm. However, the room was in an extension that could be accessed from the car park and actually from the road. Only a Yale lock (that couldn't be secured from the inside) in the room, and the front door lock was broken. Very vulnerable to break-ins in this current state and as a lone female, I moved furniture against the door to feel safe as there was no chain and just a Yale that couldn't be locked from the inside. Didn't leave any valuables in the room.
Overall a fine stay if you don't mind being left slightly vulnerable due to inadequate locks!

Reviewed by
e lovegrove

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap room for the night
Staff were friendly and breakfast was fine in the morning. The room was okay size for one night but the bathroom had something blue split by the taps and there was no soap for washing hands. The bedroom had a TV and tea making facilities. WIFI was intermittent and I had more luck staying on mobile data. The bedding was fresh but I was put off by pillows having lots of hair on them which you could see because of the open end of the pillow case not completely fitting and small hairs on the sheets. Room was warm had normal radiator in both bathroom and bedroom. Room was in the outbuilding but a stones throw from the pub. Okay though for one night as it was so cheap.

Reviewed by
L Williams

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall Impression
The meet and greet and hospitality was excellent. I had a problem with the bedside lamps, it was dealt with quickly and the lamps were checked and were working when I came back to my room. The Highwayman Hotel is charming, great location for my business trip and I would stay again. Only one point, the toilet brush in room 1 has seen better days and should be replaced.

Reviewed by
Angela P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work hotel

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Warm - and breakfast too. Incredibly good value.
I had one of the little singles in a small outbuilding. From reading some of the reviews I was expecting it to be cold and perhaps grubby - after all I only paid £29.99 on a Saturday night. However when I arrived I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was small, but very clean and warm. There was a central heating radiator which was controllable and it was on when I arrived, which I was glad about because it was one of the coldest nights of the year. There was a little bit of noise because of people leaving the pub but not too bad. The breakfast was good quality. Incredibly good value overall.

Reviewed by
C Randall

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was ok
Was alright for the one night I stayed for, wouldn't go out of my way to book again. Staff were friendly tho, room wasn't the best I've stayed in.

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation
Whilst the single room was small it was in an annex a few yards from the main building and contained everything necessary for a very pleasant stay. It was warm, well equipped, excellent television and a comfortable bed. The ensuite was very adequate for one person. The location was excellent, the owner, his son and the staff were very friendly and helpful in every respect. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel and the whole visit exceeded my expectations. It was tremendous value for money and I look forward to visiting this establishment in the near future.

Reviewed by
David C

From Poynton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next