No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highwayman Hotel

3สไตล์เฉพาะตัว ที่พักพร้อมอาหารเช้า Ratings explained
249 Banbury Road, , , Kidlington, OX5 1BF
An historic former coaching inn, public house and now a hotel and restaurant. Dating back to the early 1700’s the Highwayman Hotel at Kidlington in Oxfordshire has been a coaching inn, hotel and public house for 300 years. Located to the north of Kidlington on the A4260 this friendly family run Hotel is ideally situated for those with business commitments but better still if you’re visiting Oxford for pleasure. With ample secure parking and a pleasant canal side garden the Highwayman offers all that a traveller could wish for at an affordable price. We offer a choice of accommodation including twin, double and single bedrooms, all of which come with an en-suite bathroom and shower and are tastefully decorated. Televisions and tea & coffee making facilities can be found in all the rooms. Within the hotel there is a public bar for traditional cask and keg ales, fine wines and spirits and all other beverages. We also have a restaurant for lunches and evening meals and all food is cooked on the premises. Packed lunches and Room Service are also available on request. We also have a pub garden and children’s play area which is set in idyllic surroundings next to the Oxford Canal. As well as car parking facilities on site we can also offer Caravan Club parking and moorings for canal craft. We are one of the best hotels in Kidlington if you are looking for a comfortable room and excellent food in a welcoming atmosphere. Our bed and breakfast rates are very competitive. We are possibly also one of the only hotels Kidlington-based that can offer a complete parking facilities for so many different modes of transport!
Picture of The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location friendly service ... Would stay there again excellent breakfast too !

Reviewed by
V Pugh

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming setting for a pleasant couple of nights
The Highwayman stands and delivers in most ways. The owners were friendly and attentive, however, the 2 room annexe that I stayed in was very badly insulated from outside noises. I had an early night and such was the noise generated by my neighbours simply opening the annexe door and the door to their adjoining room, I awoke thinking that they had entered my room. The only other issue was that the electric shower was of the variety that seems impossible to regulate between cold and scorching. To be fair, these are minor gripes as the canalside setting is delightful and the beer garden a delight to savour during the summer/early autumn. I wouldn't stay here again as I'm a light sleeper and need real peace and quiet once I'm in my room, but this is a personal thing and should not put off others.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting by canal
After reading other reviews, we almost cancelled!
Bit disappointed in the lack of cleanliness of bedroom and bathroom. However a great breakfast was provided with rather too much food of excellent quality! Lovely setting by canal with chickens about!
A thorough clean and redecoration would make the world of difference to this place!
We may consider staying again for a night or two, if we cannot stay at my sons house nearby, for convenience, but otherwise not!

Reviewed by
Pauline C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Improvements
Shower Cubicle needs steam cleaning to remove large amount of Black Mould on tiles & between grouting. Pillows need replacing and mattress springs ping when turning over.
Having said that we were comfortable and the staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Peter J

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

creaking floorboards
good service.

Reviewed by
Al L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night on business.
I chose The Highwayman as it was fairly close to where I was working. I was very surprised to be asked for payment before seeing the room, which I agreed to. the room (no.2, £60) was very small, furnished with rather shabby furniture and two single beds with no headboards. The bathroom was small and quite shabby and the grouting was filthy. The general standard of cleanliness seemed generally acceptable, however.
The biggest disappointment was the bar, poorly kept draught beers and no proper food, only a menu advertising 'Indian and Bangladeshi Cuisine' which I dislike intensely.
I didn't have breakfast as I was in a hurry, but there did seem to be a good choice.
There is a garden with views of, but no access to, a canal, and views of an industrial estate which borders the bottom of the garden. There are several apparently abandoned cars and caravans about the place which give the place an air of dereliction.
The staff were, however friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
N Aird

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was quite worried when I arrived as I read some poor reviews, however I found the staff very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and had a good night's sleep. There was a bit of a mishap at breakfast, but they apologised and all was forgotten.

Reviewed by
D Simpson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canalside accommodation
The accommodation suited my needs. It was clean and quiet with a beer garden overlooking the canal. I have rated the quality of the room as a four which I was quite happy with; if it had been of a higher standard it would have been more expensive and therefore more than I wanted to pay. The staff were very accommodating. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Pam H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear
The bedroom & bathroom were very small, my bed pushed right up against the dressing table. Bathroom toilet & sink were clean but there is no way I could have a shower the grouting was filthy, it didn't look as though the skirting had ever been painted. Although there was shower gel there was no soap. How do you wash your hands after the toilet.
On a positive note the staff were friendly, it was in a lovely position & the food was good. I wouldn't stay there again but would eat there.

Reviewed by
Carolyn C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average accommodation but didn't cost the earth and convenient location. Not over impressed with the menu choice from the bar and ended up having some Indian food which was again, average

Reviewed by
T Drew

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next