No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highwayman Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
249 Banbury Road, , , Kidlington, OX5 1BF
An historic former coaching inn, public house and now a hotel and restaurant. Dating back to the early 1700’s the Highwayman Hotel at Kidlington in Oxfordshire has been a coaching inn, hotel and public house for 300 years. Located to the north of Kidlington on the A4260 this friendly family run Hotel is ideally situated for those with business commitments but better still if you’re visiting Oxford for pleasure. With ample secure parking and a pleasant canal side garden the Highwayman offers all that a traveller could wish for at an affordable price. We offer a choice of accommodation including twin, double and single bedrooms, all of which come with an en-suite bathroom and shower and are tastefully decorated. Televisions and tea & coffee making facilities can be found in all the rooms. Within the hotel there is a public bar for traditional cask and keg ales, fine wines and spirits and all other beverages. We also have a restaurant for lunches and evening meals and all food is cooked on the premises. Packed lunches and Room Service are also available on request. We also have a pub garden and children’s play area which is set in idyllic surroundings next to the Oxford Canal. As well as car parking facilities on site we can also offer Caravan Club parking and moorings for canal craft. We are one of the best hotels in Kidlington if you are looking for a comfortable room and excellent food in a welcoming atmosphere. Our bed and breakfast rates are very competitive. We are possibly also one of the only hotels Kidlington-based that can offer a complete parking facilities for so many different modes of transport!
Picture of The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work hotel

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Warm - and breakfast too. Incredibly good value.
I had one of the little singles in a small outbuilding. From reading some of the reviews I was expecting it to be cold and perhaps grubby - after all I only paid £29.99 on a Saturday night. However when I arrived I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was small, but very clean and warm. There was a central heating radiator which was controllable and it was on when I arrived, which I was glad about because it was one of the coldest nights of the year. There was a little bit of noise because of people leaving the pub but not too bad. The breakfast was good quality. Incredibly good value overall.

Reviewed by
C Randall

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was ok
Was alright for the one night I stayed for, wouldn't go out of my way to book again. Staff were friendly tho, room wasn't the best I've stayed in.

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation
Whilst the single room was small it was in an annex a few yards from the main building and contained everything necessary for a very pleasant stay. It was warm, well equipped, excellent television and a comfortable bed. The ensuite was very adequate for one person. The location was excellent, the owner, his son and the staff were very friendly and helpful in every respect. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel and the whole visit exceeded my expectations. It was tremendous value for money and I look forward to visiting this establishment in the near future.

Reviewed by
David C

From Poynton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great welcome and excellent attention for evening meal
Thought we might have a problem as Saturday night was "Indian", but the young chef couldn't have been more helpful, providing an excellent steak meal for us before the rest of the diners arrived.
Very comfortable bed, good room in recently converted accommodation . Lovely log burner in comfy seating area at end of bar. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Liz F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hits the spot
I got a fantastic rate at this hotel so I was expecting the bare minimum. Instead I got a great experience with amazing staff, generous breakfast and a comfortable room. Even the internet worked well! The staff were welcoming, friendly and prepared a great breakfast which keeps you going throughout the day. The room had all the necessary amenities you would expect including a dedicated heater in the bathroom. My only minor criticism would be the cleanliness - the bathroom would benefit from an extra round of cleaning, especially the shower. However, this was not enough to spoil an otherwise excellent experience.

Reviewed by
J Zak

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't beat it for value!
Stayed here because it was by far the cheapest deal anywhere near Oxford. Found simple, clean, warm, comfortable accommodation with good breakfast very close to bus routes direct to the city.

Reviewed by
Donald J

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
We was tired,so we slept a lot.We needed abed and bathroom.It was good for us.

Reviewed by
Z Mandi

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Doggie friendly
Arrived with a friendly greeting and taken straight to our accommodation as we had a little dog and they were very happy for him to stay and had plenty of grounds to walk him we had a very large and super breakfast which was all included we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
c cooper

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant experience
A deligtful place to spend a break good food and excellent value for money

Reviewed by
DAVID PETCH

From Denny, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next