No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highwayman Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
249 Banbury Road, , , Kidlington, OX5 1BF
An historic former coaching inn, public house and now a hotel and restaurant. Dating back to the early 1700’s the Highwayman Hotel at Kidlington in Oxfordshire has been a coaching inn, hotel and public house for 300 years. Located to the north of Kidlington on the A4260 this friendly family run Hotel is ideally situated for those with business commitments but better still if you’re visiting Oxford for pleasure. With ample secure parking and a pleasant canal side garden the Highwayman offers all that a traveller could wish for at an affordable price. We offer a choice of accommodation including twin, double and single bedrooms, all of which come with an en-suite bathroom and shower and are tastefully decorated. Televisions and tea & coffee making facilities can be found in all the rooms. Within the hotel there is a public bar for traditional cask and keg ales, fine wines and spirits and all other beverages. We also have a restaurant for lunches and evening meals and all food is cooked on the premises. Packed lunches and Room Service are also available on request. We also have a pub garden and children’s play area which is set in idyllic surroundings next to the Oxford Canal. As well as car parking facilities on site we can also offer Caravan Club parking and moorings for canal craft. We are one of the best hotels in Kidlington if you are looking for a comfortable room and excellent food in a welcoming atmosphere. Our bed and breakfast rates are very competitive. We are possibly also one of the only hotels Kidlington-based that can offer a complete parking facilities for so many different modes of transport!
Picture of The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
Room was great and the staff very friendly and welcoming my only slight criticism is on the website it shows a varied food menu but when we enquired at the bar there was only indian food available.
I will say though that the indian food was excellent but we did fancy a change the second night..

Reviewed by
steve reynolds

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our one night stay
Room had not been checked before we arrived got to our room and noticed how unclean and dusty and dirty it was so we went to tell them the assiant manager came which was a young lad who didn't seem to like our comments and said the room had been cleaned and that the hotel was three hundred years old he gave us a ten pound refund the hotel is a family run business but doesn't seem to be organised the hotel seems to be over priced for what it is and needs some work and attention to the rooms overall the room was warm enough the bedding and towels were clean and fresher paid for our room on arrival but they wanted to charge us for breakfast on leaving didn't seem that friendly but that could be with what happened need more staff to make the hotel run better and smoothly

Reviewed by
ivor quarton

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the most comfortable stay.
The room was small, basic, quite cold and quite noisy - when the people in the next room went into their room I thought they were in mine. There was no lock on the door (you would have to enter with a key) but I didn't feel like this was enough security. The shower didn't look at all appealing. The bed was uncomfortable, quite a lumpy mattress. I have stayed in cheaper places that were quite a bit more comfortable. The breakfast was large and tasty.

Reviewed by
Andrea T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

personal expearence
we were given a ground floor room. unfortunately the room above had very badly creaking floor boards and excessive noise was heard every night for a considerable time. good sleep was hampered. apparently the owner has been alerted to this by members of his staff but chooses not to address the issue. we would not stay there again and feel we could not recommend it.

Reviewed by
D Fellowes

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location friendly service ... Would stay there again excellent breakfast too !

Reviewed by
V Pugh

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming setting for a pleasant couple of nights
The Highwayman stands and delivers in most ways. The owners were friendly and attentive, however, the 2 room annexe that I stayed in was very badly insulated from outside noises. I had an early night and such was the noise generated by my neighbours simply opening the annexe door and the door to their adjoining room, I awoke thinking that they had entered my room. The only other issue was that the electric shower was of the variety that seems impossible to regulate between cold and scorching. To be fair, these are minor gripes as the canalside setting is delightful and the beer garden a delight to savour during the summer/early autumn. I wouldn't stay here again as I'm a light sleeper and need real peace and quiet once I'm in my room, but this is a personal thing and should not put off others.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting by canal
After reading other reviews, we almost cancelled!
Bit disappointed in the lack of cleanliness of bedroom and bathroom. However a great breakfast was provided with rather too much food of excellent quality! Lovely setting by canal with chickens about!
A thorough clean and redecoration would make the world of difference to this place!
We may consider staying again for a night or two, if we cannot stay at my sons house nearby, for convenience, but otherwise not!

Reviewed by
Pauline C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Improvements
Shower Cubicle needs steam cleaning to remove large amount of Black Mould on tiles & between grouting. Pillows need replacing and mattress springs ping when turning over.
Having said that we were comfortable and the staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Peter J

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

creaking floorboards
good service.

Reviewed by
Al L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night on business.
I chose The Highwayman as it was fairly close to where I was working. I was very surprised to be asked for payment before seeing the room, which I agreed to. the room (no.2, £60) was very small, furnished with rather shabby furniture and two single beds with no headboards. The bathroom was small and quite shabby and the grouting was filthy. The general standard of cleanliness seemed generally acceptable, however.
The biggest disappointment was the bar, poorly kept draught beers and no proper food, only a menu advertising 'Indian and Bangladeshi Cuisine' which I dislike intensely.
I didn't have breakfast as I was in a hurry, but there did seem to be a good choice.
There is a garden with views of, but no access to, a canal, and views of an industrial estate which borders the bottom of the garden. There are several apparently abandoned cars and caravans about the place which give the place an air of dereliction.
The staff were, however friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
N Aird

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next