You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Commercial Hotel

4

19 The Square , Tarland ,, Aboyne, AB34 4TX

Price From 150.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (13)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Owen

  • April 2016

Overnight Stay

A lovely little hotel set in a quiet village.

Staff friendly and helpful, the Superior Double room was excellent, modern, clean, trendy. A very enjoyable stay, Recommended.

  • Johan M

  • September 2015

Perfect base for Cairngorm and great food and clean accommodation

Found a real gem for bigger groups or families.

A very modern, clean and spacious apartment that is part of the hotel. Secure parking in front of the apartment front door. Apartment has a kitchen, fresh milk in the fridge, coffee and tea. You could make your own meals but the hotel menu offer something for everyone. Food is not fancy but good portions and filling with good quality ingredients. Perfect after a day in the hills. The apartment is very clean and modern, beds are new and good quality mattresses. Shower has good pressure to warm you up after a day outside. Will be back. Sleeps 5 in 3 bedrooms.

  • JOHN S

  • June 2015

Terrific bar staff

I had a great one night stay in this wee hotel.

It's a bit out of the way but the room was of a high standard and the staff in the bar/restaurant (Calum) were very friendly. Only complaint was that I made a point of paying my bill for dinner and the room before going to bed so I could get away sharp but in the morning was told my room still had to be paid. I then waited while lady, who was very nice, served breakfast to other guests then she checked my receipt and admitted it was a mistake. I was a bit annoyed since I DIDN'T take my paid breakfast so I could leave early but ended up waiting about!.

  • Georgina T

  • May 2015

Brilliant hotel

Brilliant customer service and the food was amazing.

Was slightly old fashioned but perfectly clean and had a very good nights sleep. Very nice small village that its in too.

  • Brian Tweedle

  • April 2015

Excellent room and stay

Stayed here a number of times in the past and as usual we were made to feel very welcome.

The rooms are excellent and fitted to a very high standard. The meals we had were excellent. We will definately be visiting again in the near future.

  • Andrew C

  • April 2015

You couldn't beat the standard and service in this area - exceptional value

I was looking for a hotel for a business trip to Aberdeen, most in Aberdeen or very close seemed to have mixed reviews and were charging >£100 per night.

As I was driving I decided to look a bit further out - and found the Commercial - 25 minutes drive to Westhill, amazing value and a little gem. Clean modern rooms, friendly and helpful staff and good food. I needed to leave before breakfast on one day, they arranged to have breakfast ready for me even though it was needed an hour before they normally offered breakfast. I would/will stay again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • G Dobson

  • April 2015

Great hotel

Staff very friendly, great room and good food.

Spot on, beats hotels in Aberdeen hands down.

  • G Newsome

  • January 2015

Excellent

Excellent food, service and room what a gem!

  • james millar

  • November 2014

Little Nugget of a Place

Great Place to stay well worth travel from Aberdeen

Very Friendly Hosts and Staff

Fantastic Quality Rooms

Free WiFI

Will be using again

  • T McGee

  • November 2014

how a hotel should be

Clean, bright, warm, well equiped rooms, friendly staff, good food.

There was a couple of wee downers however; the walls are paper thin, in the evening I got to listen in on next doors telephone conversation, both sides of the conversation, although he was in the corridor. Which was a damn site better than I managed with my own calls because I could get no signal whatsoever. And this selfish idiot put his TV on at 05:45 in the morning waking me up. His TV might as well have been in my room I could hear it so clear. As I said, these are minor problems in a hotel that was, overall, fantastic. T.M.

Response from hotel

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will welcome you again.

The 6 rooms in the wing in which you stayed are being up-graded and refurbished, starting on the 26th November, work which includes

soundproofing the adjoining walls. I am sorry that a disrespectful guest disturbed your sleep -I think this was the same one who wrapped a sock around the fire detector and smoked in his room all night also!

Mobile phone signals can be problematic in this area- please complain to your network provider, only by people power will it improve - however most guests are able to connect via our free wi-fi and if not we offer free use of the house phones.