No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Punch Bowl

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
12 Oxford Street, , , Woodstock, OX20 1TR
The ideal place to stay for an hour or overnight, this grade 2 listed building with its exposed beams and open fireplaces enjoys a unique atmosphere. Our accommodation facilities were completely refurbished in 2014 to the very highest standards. All rooms are designed for total comfort and are well equipped with their own bathrooms and shower facilities. All our rooms are served by a private residents-only entrance. •Historic setting •Comfortable and well-equipped accommodation •Large open fire and open plan bar •Good pub food With Blenheim Palace right on our doorstep, the Punchbowl has been a popular watering hole with thousands of visitors over the years - including notable members of the aristocracy - all of whom never fail to be impressed with its historical charm and friendly atmosphere. Today, our open plan bar is the perfect place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends, a bite to eat with the family or a drink after work. Facilities also include a superb, dart board and for sports fans Live sports, showing all the Premiership action. •Fine Arkell's ales •Open log fire •Live Sports.
Picture of The Punch Bowl, Woodstock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Pub with rooms
Arrived in a storm, staff were very helpfull in finding us somewhere to park. Would go back. The only downside I found was the evening menu very limited. Chips and fried food. Although there are plenty of other places to eat.

Reviewed by
D King

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Punch Bowl has changed hands
The new owners took over only a few days before I stayed but had already redecorated most of the place. They were extremely nice and welcoming. My room was large and comfortable. A proper English breakfast and good atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Lorna V

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visiting oxford
On arrival the small town looked lovely, stone built houses.The Punch Bowl has car parking.The pub has new management who are busy decorating to a lovely standard. Room very large newly decorated and clean couldn't ask for more in a room. Close to oxford where we were visiting family. I WOULD use the Punch Bowl again. Super breakfast with very friendly lady serving..

Reviewed by
M Howell

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I was looking for
Great value for money. However I missed breakfast because I was not told at check-in and there was no information in the room

Reviewed by
Simon T

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a lot of TLC!
Mould on walls, no window, noisy, dirty carpets basically needs a total overhaul!
Will not stay again

Reviewed by
Andrew Brown

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good!!
I e-mailed whilst booking and also rang before hand to make sure that the broadband worked as a few reviews said it didn't in the rooms, I was told it did but it didn't!! The TV didn't work also and when I asked pub staff if they could look at it they informed me they weren't technicians therefore can't help. The room was small and the bathroom dirty with an orange ceiling from water damage I assume. Sometimes you were left waiting at the bar for quite sometime whilst the young staff did a disappearing act. So no broadband, no TV, a dirty room and very very poor customer service but in a beautiful village but I would aviod this place. I also e-mailed after my stay and passed on my comments and asked a manger call me - still waiting - like their bar!!!

Reviewed by
Laurence S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last Minute Booking
Very reasonable room for a last minute booking. Clean, warm and good value. Staff very friendly

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, clean room with friendly staff. Couldn't access wifi in room which was not useful. Wanted to plan trips on internet for the next day. However, that was a minor inconvenience.

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as trendy as the rest of Woodstock !
The pub is just that with large tv screens showing football and was noisy and quite busy on the evening of our visit. The food was pub food with a limited menu though was quite good value for money. Breakfast with the pub back to normal was a much more relaxed affair and was good. We had a ground floor room which was quite small and had no external window. The room also had evidence of damp penetration in several places in the en -suite. All in all reasonable value for what we paid but dont expect 'The Ritz'. Return ??

Reviewed by
John M

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next