No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Iron Duke

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
3 Waterloo Street, , , Brighton, BN3 1AQ
Built in 1828, The Iron Duke is proud to be the oldest running pub and guesthouse in the Brunswick Area. Brunswick Town (as this neighbourhood is called) is one of the most historically preserved Georgian planned communities in the South of England, and arguably the nicest neighbourhood in the Brighton & Hove area.

The best part of the Iron Duke is its location. Just moments from the beach, the blue skies and sea air, offer a gentle breeze from the moment you step outside. If you are looking for a great, comfortable guest house with clean rooms, friendly staff, a little bit of history and walking distance to the beach we are the place for you! We also house The Dukebox Theatre, a 40 seat micro theatre which has shows all year round. We serve food 7 days a week, Thai Monday to Saturday, and Roasts on Sunday. Hotel guests receive a 10% discount on food.

SORRY NO STAG/HEN PARTIES OR GROUPS OF 6 OR MORE GUESTS. ANY BOOKINGS FOUND TO BE THE SAME GROUP ON ARRIVAL WILL BE REFUSED.
Picture of The Iron Duke, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for cheap stay
It is what it is, a budget stay with shared facilities but good value for money if you're not too precious

Reviewed by
T Smith

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff were really friendly and helpful the room we had didnt have a shower or toilet so was a bit inconvienient havin to go outside of our room to go to toilet and shower was upstairs on the next floor.

Reviewed by
sue walker

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomadation very poor
There was two holes in the floor which were covered by carpet, my granddaughters foot went down in one. Also the hot tap turned 45 degrees be for coming on and the shower was dirty in room 2. The toilet was a shared one on the landing which had a hole in the ceiling and in the all and was also dirty.
We were moved to room 5 this was a bit better the shower when turned on not only came out the head but also through a hole in the hose.
Would I stay there again? No I would not

Reviewed by
Christine M

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
Hotel fine however two other single male residents noisy throughout the night

Reviewed by
Paul T

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for and it's basically fine.
Booked a 3 person room with shared toilet (en suite shower).
Yes it needs a little TLC/updating but for the money ticked all the boxes. Comfy beds, good shower. Nice location (a bit of a hike to town centre but not too far). Manager was great and allowed us to get our bags to him the day before our stay and arranged bike storage in his cellar. Would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Mike B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

simple old pub
A classic rooms above a pub really, no complaints at all, it's apparently the oldest pub in Hove, has an excellent pub theatre attached with a great comedy night on a Thursday, and a relatively quiet bar. Breakfast was straightforward and simple. Customer service score is a little bit lower for me because when the pub is very busy there really is nobody to help. But it's all so simple you don't need much help :) No lift only some quite high stairs.

Reviewed by
John Scott

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked online and decided to go budget since we were spending 3 nights in Brighton, it was exactly what we needed as we only wanted a bed due to being out and about most of the days... At booking neither of us realised that we didn't have an ensuite (our mistake), the room was also hot at night and could have done with a fan - but it was not the end of the world. On the last night we decided to upgrade the room for a mere £10, it was superb, excellent view, big windows, comfy double bed and beautiful ensuite. Location was excellent. Thank you

Reviewed by
Annabelle R

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Iron Duke
The staff that work here are really nice except for the female barmaid who was rude and unfriendly. The room was clean and spacious and the location was seconds away from the beach. It was nice and cheap so definitely value for money!

Reviewed by
Kerry M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay.
Staff pleasant and helpful and only a short walk from the boardwalk. Room was quite big and bed comfortable to sleep in. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
J Skeens

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent overnight stay. Perfect for an inexpensive night out in Brighton.
Apart from the location being a little far (about 15 minutes walk) from Brighton Pier, the accomodation, the staff and the people were lovely. Definately stay again

Reviewed by
EDMAR T

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next