No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
118 High Street, , , Dymchurch, TN29 0NS
Elaine & Gary have undertaken a comprehensive refurbishment of this ancient smugglers haunt and now welcome you to come and enjoy their famous hospitality. Russell Thorndike weaved The Ship Inn (his local) into his now famous Dr Syn novels. The Ship Inn is alive with Dr Syn, smuggling and nautical related art and artifacts. T The Ship has 2 eating areas in the bar and also a lovely restaurant area where we serve traditional home cooked food. We use fresh local produce where possible. At the bar, we have a choice of three real ales, premium lagers, and a great selection of fine wines. We have Live Music in the Bar on the 1st Friday of each month. Jazz, Blues, Folk. There are 8 comfortable Rooms,6 of which are en-suite and all with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities. We also offer free Wifi to our customers and guests.
Picture of The Ship Inn, Dymchurch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Really enjoyed staying here while we travelled around the area to Dover, Hastings, Leeds Castle etc. The service was great, food great and rooms nice and quaint.

Reviewed by
H Taylor

From Black River, Australia
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Alternative to Chain Hotel
Excellent Pub / Inn. Some nice beers, excellent pub food, and a great freshly cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Peter Taylor

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ship inn
very basic would not stay again

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Room was very clean and tidy and spacious. Breakfast was Great
The room was very large. Clean and Tidy. The Hotel had character and ideally situated.. The only small complaints were that the young lad on breakfast duty spent most of the tim with his hands in his pockets and the TV in the room was to small for the size of room. Apart from that a very friendly and nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Timothy B

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comforttable weekend.
Spent a very pleasant weekend at the Ship. Everything you would expect from pub accommodation in a small town. Room was basically furnished and clean. Shower room was clean but could have done with an extract fan as no window . Food was standard pub fare but well cooked and presented - good value steak night on Fridays. Proprietors and staff helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Colin R

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic with history!
Fine for a one night business stop over. Room was a bit on the basic side and bright yellow walls not really my thing... But the bedding, towels were all clean and decent Tea/Coffee selection in room.
Above a pub so good to mingle if time to waste in the evening. Breakfast was outstanding for only £5!

Reviewed by
Lyndon L

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for 1 night to visit relatives. Nice location and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

its supposed to be a hotel ?
I have stayed in lots of hotels and B&Bs over the years so can give honest account , the charm of this hotel saddly gets lost , on bad management / cost cutting ? no one in the building at all when we arrived for check in , only a phone no to ring !!! curt welcome with emphasis on settling the bill !!! shown to room , which turned out to be a family room / double bed /2 singles / shower/sink / toilet room very basic / no frills / room smelly dirty carpet , found dirty childs sock and paper packaging on floor felt uncomfortable , we did eat in the hotel in the evening the food was actually ok so was breakfast the next morning , but staff again curt / not even a good morning , its a shame because its an interesting old coaching inn , not needing to be changed just needs to be clean ,/ and add few exrtas / and staff are lacking , friendlyness goes a long way !!!! not just get em in get em out attitude ,we stayed one night glad to go the next day .

Reviewed by
anne w

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff
the staff were very helpful

Reviewed by
Patricia C

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"mix up" on booking, so I had been moved to a different guest house, proior to arrival at 7.00pm !!!
I didn't actually get to stay at The Ship Inn!
I booked a double room, en-suite advertised at £40 for single occupancy.
Rather insulted when onwer phoned and said that it would be another £10 to stay at the guest house where she had moved me to...... !!!
i wasn't phoned until 6.45pm to say there had been a "mix up" in booking.
Surprised that I had not been phoned earlier in the day, if there was a booking mix up.....
As I have a £40 budget for hotel stays I refused to pay the extra and so the £10 was given to me when I arrived at The Ship Inn so I could pay the Guest house direct , (fortunately I had enough cash on me, as I had expected to pay by card)
Annoyingly, I had booked a double room, En-suite at £40 late deal, (I only ever book En-suite) the room in the guest house where I was coerced to stay was not en-suite, it was a "shared" bathroom across the hallway (although I was the only person staying that night), still means getting up and opening doors, etc, etc,
Room at Sycamore Guest House was OK, but old house, so i banged my head on doorway twice!, also due to position close to main road and side road "amplifying" car noises as they drove past, it was constantly noisey, luckily for me, being in the music game I always carry my ear-plugs, so i was able to block out noise to get some sleep.

Reviewed by
Steve F

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next