No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
118 High Street, , , Dymchurch, TN29 0NS
Elaine & Gary have undertaken a comprehensive refurbishment of this ancient smugglers haunt and now welcome you to come and enjoy their famous hospitality. Russell Thorndike weaved The Ship Inn (his local) into his now famous Dr Syn novels. The Ship Inn is alive with Dr Syn, smuggling and nautical related art and artifacts. T The Ship has 2 eating areas in the bar and also a lovely restaurant area where we serve traditional home cooked food. We use fresh local produce where possible. At the bar, we have a choice of three real ales, premium lagers, and a great selection of fine wines. We have Live Music in the Bar on the 1st Friday of each month. Jazz, Blues, Folk. There are 8 comfortable Rooms,6 of which are en-suite and all with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities. We also offer free Wifi to our customers and guests.
Picture of The Ship Inn, Dymchurch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

its supposed to be a hotel ?
I have stayed in lots of hotels and B&Bs over the years so can give honest account , the charm of this hotel saddly gets lost , on bad management / cost cutting ? no one in the building at all when we arrived for check in , only a phone no to ring !!! curt welcome with emphasis on settling the bill !!! shown to room , which turned out to be a family room / double bed /2 singles / shower/sink / toilet room very basic / no frills / room smelly dirty carpet , found dirty childs sock and paper packaging on floor felt uncomfortable , we did eat in the hotel in the evening the food was actually ok so was breakfast the next morning , but staff again curt / not even a good morning , its a shame because its an interesting old coaching inn , not needing to be changed just needs to be clean ,/ and add few exrtas / and staff are lacking , friendlyness goes a long way !!!! not just get em in get em out attitude ,we stayed one night glad to go the next day .

Reviewed by
anne w

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff
the staff were very helpful

Reviewed by
Patricia C

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"mix up" on booking, so I had been moved to a different guest house, proior to arrival at 7.00pm !!!
I didn't actually get to stay at The Ship Inn!
I booked a double room, en-suite advertised at £40 for single occupancy.
Rather insulted when onwer phoned and said that it would be another £10 to stay at the guest house where she had moved me to...... !!!
i wasn't phoned until 6.45pm to say there had been a "mix up" in booking.
Surprised that I had not been phoned earlier in the day, if there was a booking mix up.....
As I have a £40 budget for hotel stays I refused to pay the extra and so the £10 was given to me when I arrived at The Ship Inn so I could pay the Guest house direct , (fortunately I had enough cash on me, as I had expected to pay by card)
Annoyingly, I had booked a double room, En-suite at £40 late deal, (I only ever book En-suite) the room in the guest house where I was coerced to stay was not en-suite, it was a "shared" bathroom across the hallway (although I was the only person staying that night), still means getting up and opening doors, etc, etc,
Room at Sycamore Guest House was OK, but old house, so i banged my head on doorway twice!, also due to position close to main road and side road "amplifying" car noises as they drove past, it was constantly noisey, luckily for me, being in the music game I always carry my ear-plugs, so i was able to block out noise to get some sleep.

Reviewed by
Steve F

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quite nice hotel
Nice hotel, helpfull. Rooms were spacy and clean.
The time we stayed there, the weather was very warm and the rooms were not airconditioned.
The beds are good. Good tv screen.

Reviewed by
hans semler

From Hoogkarspel, Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was large and airey, very clean except for the carpet which had a lot of stains - which was a shame because otherwise it would have been such a lovely room - nice clean on-suite, nice English breakfast - lovely area right near the beach, all considering I would stay there again....

Reviewed by
Maura De Barra

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous b+b
As soon as we arrived at the Ship we were made welcome. Our room was large, en suite, fully equipped and very clean. I had a problem with my Credit Card and they let me use their phone to sort it, then they let me try to use my card(which worked) We couldn't have a meal there as it was fully booked, maybe next time we're in the area. Thanks to to stafff for making the start of my holiday memorable.

Reviewed by
Karen Charlton

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large rooms and value for money
We had a lovely stay at The Ship Inn, the staff where polite and the room we were given was huge, we have a two year old, so we really appreciated the extra space. The price of room and breakfast was very reasonable and the breakfast was quite nice. The room was quite clean, although one of the duvets was ripped this did not really bother us though as the room was such a good price.

Reviewed by
H Ansell

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money - clean smart and all you need
For the cost of the room my expectations were pretty low. However, I was immediately impressed with the quality of the hotel and warm welcome. The room was clean, tidy and full of character. I would recommend this to anyone.

Reviewed by
Sue M

From Weybridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't be put off by the price!
We nearly didn't book this wondering what the quality would be like at the price but we gave it a chance based on the reviews. On a recent trip to Harrogate I paid over four times this price for a substantially worse room and breakfast. This place has character and the rooms are fine. The breakfast has to be requested at the time of booking and this is well worth having - an excellent meal at a very low price. Reasonable pub grub in the evening and three ales as well as a range of lagers and ciders. We would certainly return.

Reviewed by
Colin M

From Buntingford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and welcoming
If you want accommodation close to the beach in an historic pub with great parking and comfy bed at a good price, then this should tick all the boxes. I would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next