No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
118 High Street, , , Dymchurch, TN29 0NS
Elaine & Gary have undertaken a comprehensive refurbishment of this ancient smugglers haunt and now welcome you to come and enjoy their famous hospitality. Russell Thorndike weaved The Ship Inn (his local) into his now famous Dr Syn novels. The Ship Inn is alive with Dr Syn, smuggling and nautical related art and artifacts. T The Ship has 2 eating areas in the bar and also a lovely restaurant area where we serve traditional home cooked food. We use fresh local produce where possible. At the bar, we have a choice of three real ales, premium lagers, and a great selection of fine wines. We have Live Music in the Bar on the 1st Friday of each month. Jazz, Blues, Folk. There are 8 comfortable Rooms,6 of which are en-suite and all with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities. We also offer free Wifi to our customers and guests.
Picture of The Ship Inn, Dymchurch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ship Inn
Warm welcome from a helpful young chap but the room was very cold and, frankly, very tired. The bed was without a doubt the most lumpy mattress I have ever experienced - you could feel every spring. Booked through LateRooms who show the hotel as 4 star and 4 Green Lights; that is a gross exaggeration. I would suggest that 2* and 2 Green Lights is a much more accurate description and grading

Reviewed by
Mark B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good
Excellent value

Reviewed by
John N

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for overnight stop to Channel Tunnel
Very friendly welcome and efficient check in. Room large and functional. Beds comfy, ensuite cramped but all working.

Reviewed by
alan b

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Really enjoyed staying here while we travelled around the area to Dover, Hastings, Leeds Castle etc. The service was great, food great and rooms nice and quaint.

Reviewed by
H Taylor

From Black River, Australia
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Alternative to Chain Hotel
Excellent Pub / Inn. Some nice beers, excellent pub food, and a great freshly cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Peter Taylor

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ship inn
very basic would not stay again

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Room was very clean and tidy and spacious. Breakfast was Great
The room was very large. Clean and Tidy. The Hotel had character and ideally situated.. The only small complaints were that the young lad on breakfast duty spent most of the tim with his hands in his pockets and the TV in the room was to small for the size of room. Apart from that a very friendly and nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Timothy B

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comforttable weekend.
Spent a very pleasant weekend at the Ship. Everything you would expect from pub accommodation in a small town. Room was basically furnished and clean. Shower room was clean but could have done with an extract fan as no window . Food was standard pub fare but well cooked and presented - good value steak night on Fridays. Proprietors and staff helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Colin R

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic with history!
Fine for a one night business stop over. Room was a bit on the basic side and bright yellow walls not really my thing... But the bedding, towels were all clean and decent Tea/Coffee selection in room.
Above a pub so good to mingle if time to waste in the evening. Breakfast was outstanding for only £5!

Reviewed by
Lyndon L

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for 1 night to visit relatives. Nice location and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next