No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Walpole Bay Hotel & Museum

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fifth Avenue, Cliftonville, , Margate, CT9 2JJ
The Walpole Bay Hotel in Cliftonville, Kent, was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory. With spacious lounges, a flower decked veranda, Edwardian restaurant, snooker room and a 1920s ballroom, guests will appreciate the level of comfort and service The Walpole provides. The wonderful 1927 trellis-gated lift serving all five floors is the centrepiece of our ‘Living Museum’ which will eventually encompass the whole hotel. Most of our rooms have balconies, and as The Walpole is positioned at right angles to the cliffs, every room has stunning, uninterrupted sea views. With our large dining room, ballroom with 1920’s sprung maple dance floor, two bars and extensive facilities we are adaptable and ideal for most events and are an established venue for conferences and exhibitions. Our Restaurant, Bar Lounge and Terrace serves delicious home cooked foods. Throughout the day we currently serve light snacks and our famous Walpole Cream Teas. Our Traditional Sunday Luncheons, which are renowned and exceptional value, are served at 1pm when our resident pianist begins to play our 1908 pianola. Nearby, there are many attractions and places of interest to visit such as the Shell Grotto, Quex House, museums and galleries. There are five theatres including the second oldest in Britain, The Theatre Royal, and the smallest, The Tom Thumb. From live entertainment at The Winter Gardens to building sand castles, guests experience no difficulty in finding enjoyment in the area.
Picture of Walpole Bay Hotel & Museum, Margate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Margate 2014
absolutley excellent experience.In a world of faceless hotel rooms with no character,this place ooozes it.It would not appeal to the 18-25 stag parties but thank goodness for that.There is 1920`s 30`s exhibits on every floor and a working 1920`s lift that they say has never let them down. When yo arrive you are greated with a splendid flower varanda with a sea view albiet 90 degrees to the sea. Pay the extra £10 a night for balcony rooms,its worth it. over all i`d say this is a brilliant hotel. the staff are so happy to help and really chearfull,even if the breakfast waiter was abit over powering,you thought Poirot would be there to save the day. Excellent.

Reviewed by
Paul Davison

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great friendly service

Reviewed by
P Campbell

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quirky hotel.
Had a lovely stay again at the Walpole Bay. Comfortable accommodation, tasty breakfast and lovely staff.

Reviewed by
S Kirkland

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this quirky little gem
This hotel didn't really look our kind of place in the photos but the reviews were great and we were booking last minute so we decided to give it a go. Margate itself is not much to write home about but there are lovely places close by, Broadstairs, Deal and Ramsgate on the coast and Canterbury inland. From the minute we walked through the door of the hotel it was like being welcomed into a family. The staff were wonderful, friendly, helpful and happy in their work. We couldn't fault the room, the restaurant or the public areas. The food was delicious and plentiful, both in the evening and at breakfast. We thought the museum side of it all a little odd to begin with but you really can't avoid looking at the photos and other exhibits and once you start you get drawn in to the whole history of the place. Have a good walk round all of the floors. It's fascinating. Loved the photos of all the showbiz people and artists that have visited. Jane, the proprietor, is often around helping out and is always happy to chat about the hotel. It's been a labour of love for her, and it shows. By the end of our stay I had fallen a little bit in love with it too and wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Reviewed by
Gail Woods

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff service
Quality of the staff and service was excellent. Room left a little to be desired but the overall experience was very good and memorable. Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
P Amos

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walple Bay Hotel - fantastic place
The hotel was absolutely wonderful. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was more than adequate, and the food was absolutely amazing. We were drawn to the hotel by the historic feel and you could imagine Poirot walking out to the verandah.

Reviewed by
D Rouse

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I liked. Try it yourself.
The superb service stared before I arrived when I asked for a change of date at short notice. The location is close to the Margate seafront but just far enough to have a different, much quieter environment. Best of both worlds? There was ample free parking outside when I arrived. The welcome was friendly. Room 101 is a balcony and it has some nice touches. There is a painting (i.e. not a print) on the wall and a bureau desk. A flat screen TV and Wi-Fi is a nod to modern day needs. A pleasant stroll along the sandy cove below was just what I was looking for. This was followed by drinks at the veranda, with a view of the sea, where order for dinner was taken. I was then ushered to a table in the equally attractive dining room where a jug of iced water, bread and butter (curls!!) awaited. The meal was most agreeable and the serving (the word portion would be inapt here) generous. The buffet breakfast was ample but I had a cooked to order piece of smoke haddock. This is a place where one can feel relaxed and where the owner management understands hospitality. Sorry Jane missed the Napery. Will come back for it.

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From South Woodford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walpole Bay Living Museum & Hotel: Homely, Quirky, Value for Money
Really made to feel at home here. Liked the co-ordinated decor and exhibits in public areas as well as the bedroom which used "ordinary, old-fashined" yet functional furniture with lovely bedspread. Appreciated hot chocolate as well as tea and coffee, though only 4 mini-milks was a surprise. Lovely local plaice and lots of veg with my meal; the attentive barman remembered room no the 2nd time I went up to bar and apologised for a slight delay in service due to others indecisions. Homely lounge bar area with books available if required. Also relaxing verandah with flowering plants and a variety of seating. Enjoyed using the lift too!.

Reviewed by
Fiona H

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this place!
We have stayed here before a year ago. Last time we came we brought our kids, but this time it was just the 2 of us. One thing I would have liked was the option to have our bags taken up to our room for us. After a long journey you don't really want to lug heavy bags up to your room. But our room was clean and tidy. And considering we booked only a few days before arrival, we actually got a room with a sea view AND a balcony! Booking in was easy, as was finding our room and ordering dinner. We were told when it would be ready, so that we could go down to the restaurant & not have to wait around for it. The food was excellent quality. And well priced too. We didn't feel rushed to eat it, and the waiter was very polite & friendly. I think we even met the owner (she was very nice too). Breakfast was an amazing array of different choices, but we had the cooked breakfast which was fantastic. Checking out was easy as was paying the bill. This hotel is a great place to stay as it has lots of character & the staff are so friendly. We'll be here again sometime in the future I reckon.

Reviewed by
J Seymour

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had good weekend took my mom hadn't been for 40 yrs hotel good had breakfast with Kim Davidson wouldn't go bk to margate very run down 1950 s musical at hotel good but we had to pay £20 to see it I think if u are a guest at hotel it should be free

Reviewed by
Dawn Jarvis

From Bromsgrove, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next