The Castle Hotel

3

The Castle Hotel, The Green, Saltwood, Hythe, CT21 4AJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (8)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Rebecca s

  • November 2014

worst hotel I have stayed at

The hot water didn't work for my whole stay- meaning cold showers.

The maid rammed my key out of the door to let herself in when I was in bed. Toilet cistern stank. All in all, a terrible experience. Not worth half of the money I paid.

  • Karin M

  • October 2014

Comfortable room and good food good value for money

Our room was very comfortable and our evening meal and breakfasts were very good quality.

Staff pleasant and no complaints at all - we would return.

  • C Garland

  • October 2014

We were.the only residents on a Sunday night so the pub was very quiet.

Staff & food was fine but the room & especially the plumbing could do with some TLC.

  • m churchley

  • August 2014

Lovely friendly pub with excellent food in a beautiful setting.

A wonderful surprise to have a 4 poster bed. Only disappointment was no decaffeinated coffee available.

  • Timothy Bigelow

  • June 2014

Hidden Treasure!

I needed a place to stay that was situated near to the coast and near to the train station, preferably within walking distance of both.

The Castle Hotel is located not far off the M20 and yet is away from the hustle and bustle of the commuting public. I needed directions to find the place I was meeting colleagues and the regulars in the bar of the hotel could not have been more helpful. I had not informed the Hotel I was a non-meat eater but without batting an eye they catered for it without any issues at breakfast. Overall I had a good experience and would use it again. Moreover I will recommend it to my friends as a nice place to stay not in Folkstone, but very near. So convenient for the Channel Tunnel.

  • Priska D

  • October 2013

very good food and pub with bad room quality / sehr gutes Essen, schmutzige Zimmer

When you are looking for a good and cheep restaurant or a pub is this a good choice.

The full english breafast is good. If you want to sleep there it is a bad choice. The room was very dirty and realy not cleaned long time ago. The showerhead was that dirty, that we decided not take a shower. Das Essen und auch das "full english beakfast" war wirklich gut. Insbesondere das Curry!. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend. Leider war der Raum dreckig und aus dem Duschkopf wuchsen Pilze!!. Zum Schlafen also nur wenn es nicht anders geht.

  • Philip C

  • August 2013

Business Trip

The staff were delightful but the hotel needed sorting out.

The carpets were filthy...two hoovers on a skip outside may explain this. This kitchen looked to be in an equally dirty state. The bedroom had mould and evidence of water damage in the ceiling. It is a pub with rooms and not a hotel. They need to get a grip.

  • Adam Cooper

  • July 2013

Convenient stopover for Channel Tunnel

Friendly service at a lovely old English pub that serves a nice selection of food and real ales.

We also took an evening stroll into Hythe (very picturesque). A nicely cooked full English breakfast was served in the morning. Then just a 10 minutes drive to the Channel Tunnel.