No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Brelades

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
15 Hope Road, , , Shanklin, PO37 6EA
Welcome to St Brelades! We are a small, family run Guesthouse, perfectly located in Shanklin, Isle Of Wight. With a 4* rating we pride ourselves on providing guests with good hospitality, good food and excellent service. So whether it be a short break or a family holiday, St Brelades offers you a memorable time. All fifteen of our bedrooms are of different character, four are on the ground floor, all are ensuite and very well equipped, children are most welcome and we have two family suites accommodating 4-6 people. Rooms have excellent facilities which include, TV, beverage tray, toiletries, hairdryer and alarm clocks. We are only a short three minute walk from one of the cleanest sandy beaches on the island and only seven minutes from Shanklin Station which provides a direct line to the ferry terminal at Ryde. Why not take a trip to the Isle and visit all the wonderful attractions it has to offer, explore the island's pathways, trails, culture, history and heritage sites. There is free off street parking for eight cars in front of the hotel and wireless internet access is also available in the lounge area.
Picture of St Brelades, Shanklin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good in parts
Very convenient for Shanklin esplanade via a steep hill although there is a lift from the front to 3/4 of the way up.The B&B has a very conviviable owner who is knowledgable about the island the breakfast room is nicely decorated and the breakfasts are very good but not for the waistline.there is a bar and lounge but they are rarely used.
The bedroom is acceptably decorated but could do wth a freshen up,as admitted by the owner,but the bathroom is in more urgent need of a make over.

Reviewed by
Colin H

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We could not fault this hotel in anyway. We were late arriving but still got a warm welcome. The whole hotel was clean and tidy, our room had everything we could want and was cleaned every day. The whole stay was excellent value and the breakfasts were excellent, very good selection. The hosts and their son, who served breakfast, were friendly and made you welcome all the time, i would give this place 10 out of 10.

Reviewed by
C Morey

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General quality of St.Brelades,Shanklin.Room15
room:- could do with a refurbish, at present worth a 3Star rating,plenty of storage space,very comfortable bed,bathroom toilet flush not very easy to work.
Breakfast room very good, breakfast very good and staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
Peter Lampard

From Pewsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A1 Customer Service
I was impressed that the host had notified me before confirmation of booking that there was steps to the B&B, as I had mentioned my mother had slight mobility difficulties. Don and his family were very welcoming, friendly and attentive (particularly as my mother became even less mobile whist we were there!) There friendliness and willingness to help outweighed the fact that the décor is dated.
Their breakfast comes highly recommended, with a vast choice of cereals and cooked items, would give a 4* restaurant a run for their money, and better value!

Reviewed by
Sue Martin

From Worcester Park, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not brill
bar and resturant never open and on hotel info in room said they would be open from 6.30pm.

Reviewed by
lorraine g

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Don was nice and welcoming. The large room I stayed at was a bit noisy as a water pipe ran through the joices up the wall and threw the ceiling, when anyone used the water in other rooms it would disturb me and the kids. The hot breakfast was a bit poor. Over all the stay was not too bad.

ManagementResponse

Firstly, it was nice meeting you and your family and thank you for your feedback. I am rather miffed with your review of breakfast – apologies for the mix up with your wife’s vegetarian breakfast order, but that was immediately rectified. It is a shame that when the waiter checked back that any shortfalls were not mentioned and we were not given the opportunity to respond.

Reviewed by
Adnan G

From East ham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice food and friendly welcome
A nice friendly welcome at the hotel and the breakfast was superb. Very family friendly.
Rooms are a bit dated and could do with a bit of a freshen up but overall a very nice stay.

Reviewed by
D Thompson

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.