No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
19 The Vale, , , Broadstairs, CT10 1RB
Welcome to South Lodge, a fine Victorian house built in 1866, where guests will find high standards of service in a relaxed, friendly and informal atmosphere. The quality surroundings of this four star Guest House offer a feeling of comfort and an opportunity for relaxation and time for yourself. All rooms are ensuite and well equipped. Our award winning full continental breakfast includes fresh fruits, home made smoothies, bread, yogurt and jams, as well as fresh fruit, cereals, porridge, cheeses, meats and more. Your breakfast is included and can be enjoyed in our dining room, in your room or on warm sunny summer mornings, at The Louisa Bay Café, just a few minutes walk away. South Lodge is located only six minutes walk from the glorious Viking Bay beach and five minutes from Broadstairs’ town centre which boasts many restaurants and pubs. Your hosts, Christa and Bill Hackney, love living in South Lodge and are sure you will enjoy your time here and exploring the secret jewel of England’s coastal resorts, Broadstairs. Free WiFi and free parking for guests.
Picture of South Lodge, Broadstairs at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round excellence
This is the first time I've left a review of somewhere I've stayed, but my experience at the South Lodge was such that I decided to add these comments. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly; the bedroom was clean and facilities were up to standard; and the price was great value for money. However, I must say that the continental breakfast was outstanding. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a good place to stay.

Reviewed by
Gary F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent visit
A truly relaxing and wholly enjoyable few days with an amazing breakfast! The books on the breakfast table were a thoughtful touch for a single traveller and the room equipped with everything imaginable for a comfortable stay. The original artworks were an added bonus! Thank you so much.

Reviewed by
Anne Doblander

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B, lovely place to stay
I'm not normally a fan of B&Bs and much prefer hotels, but this was a lovely place to stay and it was obvious that a lot of thought had gone into setting up the rooms.
Very clean, comfortable and relaxing place and very good value. Friendly, helpful owners too. Though it should be accepted that not all people eat big breakfasts! But if you do, there's a very generous continental breakfast included in the price of the room.

Reviewed by
Niké B

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough
Positives: the owners are lovely, very friendly and welcoming. Nice big room, really comfy bed, great shower. Biscuits supplied every day on the tea tray. Wifi worked a treat. Parking but it's in the road, which is narrow and crowded. Toiletries provided. Location was great, 5 min walk to the beach and restaurants etc. Parrots in the trees walking towards the bay.
Negatives: The room needed updating and was a bit grubby. Carpet coming away from the skirting and the furniture was tatty. Needed 2 proper bedside tables and blackout curtains. It was en suite but the sink was in the room, not in the bathroom with the loo and shower. Bathroom was minute. Really noisy, we could hear every word upstairs were saying and their tv.
Artwork would scare a child !
Breakfast: was not our thing, cheese for breakfast is just wrong (smile) we knew that when we booked though so no complaints other than the porridge which was terrible. We swapped our brekkie for the cafe on the beach for the last 2 days, which was much more us.

Reviewed by
a winters

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B run by people who care about their guests' comfort
Excellent B&B. Great attention to detail and service. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast. One of the things that puts me off staying in B&Bs in general is coming down in the morning to the sight and smell of traditional cooked breakfasts (I am vegetarian). The continental style breakfast served at South Lodge made a very welcome change - it was varied, plentiful and delicious. A lot of attention has gone into running this place. My room had everything it needed and was spacious and comfortable.

Reviewed by
caroline w

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekday Break
When we arrived we were informed the en-suite bathroom room we booked had been double booked not a good start!!! we were given an en-suite with a shower cubicle and a reduction on the balance of £20.00.The hotel is very clean and we were made very welcome,the breakfast (continental)was very good different to a normal fry up,location is superb very close to the town.

Reviewed by
Phil B

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will return!
Pleased to have found this friendly, welcoming couple running the B&B. Our double room was comfortable and well appointed and the location was perfect for our needs, making this a most enjoyable and happy stay. We have been looking for a convenient 'bolt-hole' in a great setting near the seas and this is it!

Reviewed by
Sue Pellegrino

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

trip to Broadstairs
Have been to South Lodge before and enjoyed my stay there my only complaint this time was the single bed I had was very creaky every time I moved it creaked so didn't make for a good night's sleep. Did mention this to the lady looking after the b and b whilst owners away so hope they will fix it upon their return. Otherwise very friendly and breakfast enjoyable.

Reviewed by
lynda f

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good old fashioned guest house in a quiet back street but only a short walk to the town or beach. Very welcoming, room was good with extra touches of bottled water as well as usual tea/coffee etc, toiletries and a choice of books to read. Breakfast was the best continental I have ever had, nothing too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Anthony T

From Great Missenden, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hosts
Really lovely B & B. Excellent facilities in the room. Very friendly hosts who looked after us. The breakfast was lovely with a big variety of fruit, smoothies, cereals, cold meats and cheeses. The bread and preserves were home made and delicious.

Reviewed by
James Parrish

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next