You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The George Hotel

2

68 High St, ,, Ashford, TN24 8TB

Price From 90.31 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (22)

64% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J A

  • June 2016

So unhappy I have been motivated to write my first ever bad review

Turned light on in toilet at end of corridor (was told it was in use but door was not even attached to wall) and my hands got stained with filth.

Light switches in corridor were those temporary ones which turned off quickly meaning I had to use torch on my phone just to get to room. There was a step in corridor prior to one light switch which means you have to use the step in darkness which is a law suit waiting to happen. I was not aware there would be music that night and had a very early start. Was told band would play until 23:30 which I accepted, it wasn't obvious to me when I booked that this 'hotel' was just the upstairs of a pub but perhaps this was my fault, I don't really know. At 00:30 drinkers were still singing and banging so loud that they couldn't even hear me shouting at them out the window. Ended up phoning the bar to ask if they could go inside at least instead of sit beneath my window. They did this, but then around same time someone actually started hoovering. The decor and room were old fashioned and creepy in the sense that if you were inclined to believe in ghosts you might expect to see one here. Tap in my room spat out water as though it had not been used for some time. I found the room cold and used the heater overnight. When there was more peace (close to 1am) I probably slept total of 2 hours due to constant waking from cold / heat from having to turn heater on & off. I am always using cheap hotel rooms and can usually sleep through anything. I have never complained about any hotel before but am sad to say I would NEVER stay here again, even for free. I do hate to write this but it really was the worst nights sleep I have ever had.

  • Chris Adams

  • May 2016

Stop over

Used the hotel as a stop over on route to France.

Did not eat there as it was steak night Thursday in J D Wetherspoon's just down the road. Room was OK apart from blind on window not curtain which meant room was light early doors. Also hard to get shower temp right before getting in so water was getting onto carpet.

  • Lesley B

  • May 2016

good situation

Well situated in the High Street near to Ashford International Station.

The room was big and beds comfortable, but very noisy due to machinery going on all night outside. Impossible to sleep with so much noise. Staff friendly.

  • Suzan H

  • July 2015

The George Hotel

Room was clean and comfortable if a little small.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The only complaint we have is that there was no mirrors in the bedroom. would definitely stay here again. Was quite surprised to see that the pub was closed upon our return on Sunday evening (around 9.30 p.m.) and there was no lighting in the garden when we let ourselves in the back entrance.

  • darren fricker

  • July 2015

Great hotel, great location, great bands on friday nights.

Great hotel,and friendly pub as well, friday nights are live music nights which was lively, very centre of the town and close to ashford internatinal trains.

Verlt friendly staff as well. Would use again.

  • Chris K

  • July 2015

1 night stay

Arrived and was greeted at bar by friendly staff, was busy and band on.

Shown to room and found to be basic, venture comfy bed and have own tea/coffee facility in room. Definitely stay again

  • Paula C

  • May 2015

Clean room but basic

Room was clean but basic, clean towels in the room.

However, the corridors leading to the room had a musky smell. The only disappointment to our stay was that the band that were playing at the hotel that night (The Heroes) played about 3 songs then had to pull out as the lead singer felt ill. This was the reason why we booked into the hotel (I know this is not the hotels fault). Breakfast that was included in the price was well worth having. Thank you

  • Andrew C

  • February 2015

Nice weekend

The housekeeper Matt was fabulous and so helpful.

Never met anyone so dedicated to his job. Thank you for making my stay so pleasant.

  • g bladen

  • December 2014

Great staff, shame about the room

I have stopped at this hotel before and been happy with accommodation.

The location is convenient, the staff are great and the food is mostly home made and good value, however the room allocated to me this time was a disappointment. Firstly, it was described as "with shower" but I did not realise this meant no toilet and had to use communal bathroom (which had a wet floor and an ill-fitting door) which was not as clean as the room itself. Also, when I got up at 6:30 for an early meeting, the central heating was not on and the room was freezing. Crumpled, thin, un-ironed curtains detracted a bit from the nice towels and clean bed linen

The staff deserve a medal, its a pity that the room hadn't had a bit more love.

  • Paul C

  • November 2014

Not a hotel a pub with rooms

Very cold room, heating not working, damp and noisy at 5am with unloading vehicles.

Bar closes at 10pm and all the staff leave the premises. Definitely not a hotel a pub with rooms. Breakfast was ok, nothing special.