Reviews - The George Hotel


68 High St, ,, Ashford, TN24 8TB

Price From 134.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Suzan H

  • July 2015

The George Hotel

Room was clean and comfortable if a little small.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The only complaint we have is that there was no mirrors in the bedroom. would definitely stay here again. Was quite surprised to see that the pub was closed upon our return on Sunday evening (around 9.30 p.m.) and there was no lighting in the garden when we let ourselves in the back entrance.

  • darren fricker

  • July 2015

Great hotel, great location, great bands on friday nights.

Great hotel,and friendly pub as well, friday nights are live music nights which was lively, very centre of the town and close to ashford internatinal trains.

Verlt friendly staff as well. Would use again.

  • Chris K

  • July 2015

1 night stay

Arrived and was greeted at bar by friendly staff, was busy and band on.

Shown to room and found to be basic, venture comfy bed and have own tea/coffee facility in room. Definitely stay again

  • Paula C

  • May 2015

Clean room but basic

Room was clean but basic, clean towels in the room.

However, the corridors leading to the room had a musky smell. The only disappointment to our stay was that the band that were playing at the hotel that night (The Heroes) played about 3 songs then had to pull out as the lead singer felt ill. This was the reason why we booked into the hotel (I know this is not the hotels fault). Breakfast that was included in the price was well worth having. Thank you

  • Andrew C

  • February 2015

Nice weekend

The housekeeper Matt was fabulous and so helpful.

Never met anyone so dedicated to his job. Thank you for making my stay so pleasant.

  • g bladen

  • December 2014

Great staff, shame about the room

I have stopped at this hotel before and been happy with accommodation.

The location is convenient, the staff are great and the food is mostly home made and good value, however the room allocated to me this time was a disappointment. Firstly, it was described as "with shower" but I did not realise this meant no toilet and had to use communal bathroom (which had a wet floor and an ill-fitting door) which was not as clean as the room itself. Also, when I got up at 6:30 for an early meeting, the central heating was not on and the room was freezing. Crumpled, thin, un-ironed curtains detracted a bit from the nice towels and clean bed linen

The staff deserve a medal, its a pity that the room hadn't had a bit more love.

  • Paul C

  • November 2014

Not a hotel a pub with rooms

Very cold room, heating not working, damp and noisy at 5am with unloading vehicles.

Bar closes at 10pm and all the staff leave the premises. Definitely not a hotel a pub with rooms. Breakfast was ok, nothing special.

  • C Larter

  • November 2014

Over night stay for shopping break.

The staff were very friendly.

The George Hotel was excellent value for money.. comfortable room.. idea place to stay central and not far from national rail services. Would definitely go back again

  • Andrew c

  • November 2014


Centre location.

Very good.

  • Andrew C

  • September 2014


Centre location.

Staff very good. Clean. Low cost.