No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
68 High St, , , Ashford, TN24 8TB
Ashford, once voted the fourth best place to live in the UK lies in the heart of 'The Sunny South East!' With Ashford International train station only 5 minutes walk you can arrive in London in 37 minutes, Paris 2 hours whilst Lille is only 57 minutes away. We also have secure parking if you need to leave you car. Eurotunnel terminal is 15 minutes drive and delivers you to Calais in 35 minutes. Gatwick 60 minutes and Heathrow 90 minutes making Ashford a great stopover for travellers. However with sights such as Leeds and Dover Castles and Canterbury Cathedral all within 20 minutes drive we hope you will stay and enjoy 'The Garden of England'. Our restaurant is renowned locally for its 'Traditional Full English Breakfast with tea or coffee and toast with our compliments to all our hotel residents. The George Hotel Restaurant has a 4 star rating for food hygiene and our chef Jon will be sure to cater for your every need. By day and indeed during the week we are a quiet and leisurely hotel, however come the weekend our bar bursts into life as Ashfords most popular venue for live music with the best bands around coming to town, our bands normally play till around midnight, you'll certainly have a good night and this should be taken into consideration before booking our hotel rooms! You can be sure of a warm friendly welcome and nothing is to much trouble for our staff team dedicated to serving our customers. Our rooms are comfortable, clean and tidy offering simple facilities, tv, tea & coffee etc however we hope that you will only feel the need to sleep here. Situated close by is one of Europe's most spectacular shopping destinations. Mc Arthur Glenn retail outlet is conveniently located near Ashford town centre, and adjacent to the Ashford International Eurostar station. With the cross channel link close by and one of the best retail outlet centres you will be spoilt for choice whether you choose to stay with us for the long or short haul
Picture of The George Hotel, Ashford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, so welcoming and just a pleasant place to stay

Reviewed by
sam lloyd

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
OK for one night. Very central to Ashford town centre.

Reviewed by
D Munro

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
For a cheap stay where the bed is the main thing it's perfect, great value, clean room, great breakfast. Beats the hell out of paying £90 for a Holiday inn etc when you're not in the room apart from sleeping!

Reviewed by
Graeme O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Hotel Ashford
Nice central location..Loud music till midnight with live bands playing but you expect that in this type of accommodation. Really nice helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location providing value for money
Helpful and friendly staff, lovely breakfast - only minor detail that could be improved would be the quality of the curtains, very thin not really providing only a privacy barrier as light not blocked out! But that is only comment, not a complaint , will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Jason K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again George, thank you
Room was clean at least. Could not open wardrobe. Window overlooked yard where loud music was played until 2 a.m. They warned me there might be some music after normal closing time, but this was abnormal music a long time after closing time. Breakfast lady forgot my order, even though there were only four guests and two had finished. There were Cocopops or Cocopops for cereal. Ah well, mustn't complain at £35 inc breakfast (I got it eventually). Or should I?

Reviewed by
Hugh G

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
food fine, staff friendly, good value for money

Reviewed by
Matthew M

From Foxford, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful - decided not to stay even though we'd paid
The room was shabby and the 'en suite' facilities are actually in the bedroom (not in a separate room within the bedroom) - the sink is right next to the bed and the toilet at the end of the bed! The 'car park' is just a driveway at the back of the pub, in which the end car blocks in all other cars, so if you want to get your car out you have to locate the owners of all the other cars and ask them to move. However, the main problem was that we had booked to stay for one night after a family party so we could set off early the next morning, but when we got back from the party at around midnight there was very loud live music from the pub downstairs which would have made it impossible to sleep, so we decided just to set off on our journey home right away - so it was just a waste of money. To be fair, I book B&Bs with LateRooms very regularly, at least once a month, and this is the first time I've had a bad experience.

Reviewed by
Paula L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 Day trip
Very friendly staff and owners......good value for money......but clearly a work in progress for the owners.....Good Luck with your plans....

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab
Nice place nice people.

Reviewed by
andrew c

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next