No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
83 High Street, , , New Romney, TN28 8AZ
The Original Ship was built of mainly ship timber brought from the old port of New Romney. The first recorded keeper is one Thomas Banne, who is described as an "ostler" of the parish of Romney. The inn is mentioned in the will of Samuel Dunstare in1579. In 1662 it is recorded that the inn underwent extensive alteration, the thatch, wattle and daub was removed in part and replaced with tiles and bricks. The present facade was erected in 1728. At the height of the coaching era of the mid to late eighteenth century, The Ship was an established coach halt being situated on the main Rye to Dover route, and is mentioned as a compulsory stop in the timetable of 1802. More recently In the 20th century the cellar was also used as a public air-raid shelter in World War II. The en suite rooms are comfortably furnished and pleasantly decorated, some rooms are small, with low doors, which you would expect from a 500 year old buliding. All room have a wireless internet, tea & coffee making facilities and a flat screen television with freeview and DVD Player, with other useful facilities such as a trouser press, desk, alarm clock and hairdryer. Special Offer: Friday Night Stay with Breakfast Now Only £40 Single & £50 Double or Twin Room (Please be aware that we do have a regular Friday Night Disco which is extremely busy but finishes promptly at midnight) There is a surcharge for pets staying at the hotel, please call for more information. The Ship Hotel in Romney enjoys a heated outside area as an extension of the indoor pub. There is a conservatory area for a more sheltered drink, as well as the main pub and lounge area - which proudly displays some original features, such as the brick fireplace - and a lovely restaurant that doubles as a large function room. Visitors are warmly welcomed, and we are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us.
Picture of The Ship Hotel, New Romney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a twin room,which was nicely decorated, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, would definately stay again!!!!

Reviewed by
D Livings

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lively pub with nice accommodation
We arrived in the evening and decided just to eat in the pub rather than go wandering around looking at other options food was nice and the staff helpful. Pub was quite lively but it was a saturday night so fair enough. Upstairs in the rooms was much quieter and once everyone had gone was very peaceful.
Nice room not that big but fine for a couple of nights, good bathroom and very clean.
I thought it was very good value for money and it was actually much nicer in real life the pictures don't really do it justice.

Reviewed by
Helen P

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful, very nice staff.
Stayed for three nights, I never used the bar or restaurant but they always seemed quite busy which is a good sign. I stayed in a single room which was perfectly adequate. The decor was a little dated and could possibly do with a fresh lick of paint but overall was good value for money.

Reviewed by
D Walsh

From South Ockendon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant town centre hotel
The hotel is very old but the accommodation was up-to-date and spotless. Bathroom is tiny but adequate.

Reviewed by
Kathy A

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ship Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was excellent.Our room was on the front of the building and was quite noisey and a little small. I would suggest having double glazing put in. Overall our stay was good.

Reviewed by
S Anderson

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable relaxing accommodation.
We found the staff very friendly and accommodating.We took our small dog with us and were given a lovely room, very clean and a really comfortable bed. the food was better than expected for a small hotel, it was excellent. Unfortunately we were only staying one night but we would liked to have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
Jill Reynolds

From Tintagel, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A moderately good room with poor quality, rather expensive food.

Reviewed by
Rafal K

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel itself was very good. Major criticism was that at no point in the booking were you informed that there was a disco on Friday night which continued until midnight.
For this reason I would not stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Geoff T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Room we were originally allocated had a broken toilet but when mentioned at reception an alternative was provided. It had been recently redecorated but ceiling sloped and we "Banged" our heads times. Room was compacted but had all the requirements for an overnight stay. The breakfast provided a wide choice and the full English was cooked to order. Would certainly use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Alan Riches

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the ship hotel romney
nice place ,friendly staff, food good, comfy bed , awesome shower, i'd recomend it and go back

Reviewed by
j commons

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next