No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hydro Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Queens Promenade, , , Douglas, IM2 4NF
The Hydro is a well established Isle of Man hotel situated on the beautiful Queens Promenade. Built in 1910 this 55 bedroom hotel offers modern facilities whilst retaining much of it's original charm. The Hydro is open throughout the year and we welcome all guests whether on business or pleasure. The Hydro is convienently placed close to shops, pubs, restaurants and the Casino. The Hydro offers entertainment during the summer months and also has WIFI access free of charge in all public areas within the hotel.
Picture of Hydro Hotel, Douglas at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday
the hotel and the room and food was of high standard, the service could of been better though at breakfast.

Reviewed by
G Clements

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusted!
Rooms that small you could'nt swing a cat.
Any slightly large person would'nt be able to fit in the shower cubicle.
Breakfast appalling. Crockery not clean.
Staff seemed totally uninterested at any type of service.
We paid £125 as it was TT week on the Isle of Man - total rip off.

Reviewed by
Alan Marshall

From Peel, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love staying at the hydro,. Great hotel,. Clean rooms , great facilities

Reviewed by
Lee Moran

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bar and breakfast.
The bar staff seemed more interested in serving his friends and other staff than customers! Breakfast was a joke! Burnt hash browns, no eggs, low quality food in general!

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good hotel spoiled by poor restaurant staff
The hotel was clean, if a little 'faded'. We were initially given a blank-wall facing room instead of the sea view we booked, but that was quickly rectified.
Our stay was marred by the disorganized chaos at breakfast. There were two bus trips staying, with staggered meal times, but no separate area for those of us traveling independently. Food orders were being taken at random with no account of who arrived when, by staff who seemed not to have any particular area assigned to them, nor particularly dedicated to taking orders or delivering food. Orders were sometimes being taken to the kitchen individually, hugely increasing the overall time, and pots of tea also sometimes came out one at a time. "Have you ordered yet?" was heard over and over as another staff member wandered around tables at random.
By morning three I had to intercept a waiter to have my order taken and then fetch my own coffee as nobody had time to do that, with an elapsed time of half an hour from sitting down to getting the food on the table. When I complained at reception, I was told that the staff were supposed to be assigned tables and work efficiently but "they have been told but they just do their own thing..."!!!

Reviewed by
Peter S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sometimes you get more than what you pay for!
This hotel is not The Ritz but a relic from Victorian times with that faded splendour that screams high maintenance, constant attention and expensive restoration when sadly there is no way to generate an income to justify the investment. Nevertheless looking beyond that the hotel offers its guests everything one needs including a prime location,comfortable and clean rooms and a very acceptable breakfast at truly outstanding prices. My ensuite room was very acceptable, everything worked and if the power shower would have fitted in my suitcase I might have taken it home - it was superb! Clean sheets, ample towels and soap plus the usual tea/coffee making facilities and the proverbial hairdryer and the 'can't live without telly' and it's home from home. Staff are helpful and polite and I actually felt a bit guilty that I hadn't really paid enough for what I got. And believe me I don't get that guilty feeling very often.

Reviewed by
Peter K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TT race
Für die tt race war das okay wenn ich meinen jahresurlaub machen würde möchte ich schon 1 oder 2 sterne mehr haben

Reviewed by
R HILTENSBERGER

From 29643 NEUENKIRCHEN, Germany
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.