No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lathkil Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
School Lane, Over Haddon, , Bakewell, DE45 1JE
The Lathkil Hotel is the place to go for a special break where you’ll find old fashioned hospitality, good food and relaxation served in the heart of the beautiful Peak National Park. Situated in the tiny Derbyshire village of Over Haddon, perched above the stunning Lathkill Dale, just two miles from the historic market town of Bakewell. We have 2 Queen-size double rooms with en-suite bath and shower facilities situated at the front of the hotel, enjoying a panoramic view of the Lathkill Dale. These rooms are completed with a flatscreen TV/DVD combo, personal mini bar/fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. These 2 front rooms can also be twinned on request. To the rear of the hotel, we have 1 double room with an en-suite bath and shower facilities and 1 double room with an ensuite shower room. Both of these rooms also enjoy a personal minibar/fridge, flatscreen TV/DVD combo and tea & coffee making facilities. Please note that all of our rooms are non-smoking accommodation. Here at the Lathkil Hotel, we're not part of a chain but are a friendly local team who want to help you make the most of your time at the hotel and the local surroundings so that you'll want to come back time and time again. Within the White Peak lies the little village of Over Haddon, and the Lathkil Hotel. The village is very attractive without being over-precious, surrounded as it is by working farms. In summer its clear air and wonderful views are almost intoxicating (and that's before you've visited the bar at The Lathkil). The bar has a traditional style, with a roaring fire in the cold winters, much welcomed after a long walk. With traditional wooden beams, wooden settles and a warm, cosy and inviting atmosphere, the bar is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your stay.
Picture of Lathkil Hotel, Bakewell at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Lovely warm, clean and friendly accomodation. Excellent food reasonably priced. Marvellous location.
Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
J Hyland

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room with a view
Tremendous place overlooking the beautiful Lathkill Dale in Derbyshire.

Reviewed by
M Wakefield

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
We travel around quite a lot and I can say that this hospitality at this hotel is second to none. The staff could not do enough for you they were brilliant. I would definately stay here again if we are ever in the area, I have already recommended it to friends.

Reviewed by
Margaret L

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Views to die for!
We arrived at the Lathkil hotel in the afternoon and was shown up to our room which was overlooking the Carpark, the room was fairly small but contained everything we needed, 5 mins later the lad that showed us to the room returned and asked if we would like an alternative room with a better view and showed us to room 2, again it was of a similar size but boasted uninterupted views over the rolling countryside; the room had an ensuite bathroom with an excellent overbath shower, the hotel is noted for its real ales but being non drinkers I cannot comment at this, however the breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
A Oakley

From Market Drayton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lathkil autumn break
Nice warm welcoming hotel just right for returning from the cold and wet outside. Restaurant and food were good as was the bar. We were really made to feel welcomed and would return again.

Reviewed by
Brian H

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Bed and Breakfast
We stayed at Lathkil Hotel for a friends wedding at the nearby Hassop Hall. The Hotel was very warm and welcoming. Fantastic location with stunning views. Perfect location for walking, biking and weekends away.
The staff were very hospitable and flexible, they even stayed up specially for our late arrival back from the wedding celebrations.
Breakfast was very pleasant, cooked to perfection and very fresh. Overall I was very pleased with my stay at Lathkil and would recommend to any one.

Reviewed by
E Simmonds

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb meals with a good choice and very good service. room adequate very clean, worth paying extra for a front room giviny you a great view.

Reviewed by
Melvyn Clark

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely three day stay
My husband & I stayed in one of the front rooms overlooking beautiful Lathkill dale. The room & linen were spotless & the bed was very comfortable. Very friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Jenny S

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lathkill
Absolutely ideal for what I needed.very

Reviewed by
J Mold

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovley place to stay ,friendly staff , excellent food would definateley go there again

Reviewed by
J Shaw

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next