No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bowl Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Egg Hill Road, Charing, , Ashford, TN27 0HG
This 16th Century free house is situated on top of the North Downs in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The Bowl Inn is now under new ownership and the owners are putting their stamp on this charming country Inn. So come and enjoy our newly refurbished bar and warm yourself by the open fire. We are now serving our hearty winter menu, perfect for those rainy days. Choose from braised lamb shoulder, griddled pork loin, homemade pies, steaks, burgers, roast beef and many more winter warmers. Food is served Tuesday to Saturday 12-3pm & 6-9pm, Sundays 12-5pm. For those not content to just relax there is no shortage of walks where you can take in some of the breath taking views across the Downs. If you want to explore further afield we are also close to Canterbury, Dover, Faversham, Hythe and many more of Kent's beautiful towns. Added to this is an extensive rural garden and south facing front sun terrace which is covered and heated on those more typical English summer days! As the home of one of Kent's most popular Beer Festivals, four top condition Real Ales are always available. Sample some of Kent's award winning local real ales from breweries such as Hopdaemon, Old Dairy, Gadds, Whitstable Brewery, Wantsum and more. We offer a wide range of Lagers, Wines and Spirits.
Picture of The Bowl Inn, Ashford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet location, comfortable room
We stayed here on a trip to Ashford to visit a friend. The location was very peaceful and although the inn seems to be in the middle of nowhere it was packed for Sunday lunch when we arrived to check in. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The towels & linen were of a very good standard. Plenty of tea & coffee, although only one biscuit each. We did not have our main meal here as they only serve lunch on Sunday until the food runs out. No evening meals on Sunday. We did have the full English breakfast on Monday which was delicious with plenty of tea and toast. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Happy Stop-over
We stayed here for one night on our way to France and both my wife and I had a wonderful stay welcomed by warm and friendly staff who catered for us very well. Thank-you again, would definitely stay again and recommend it.

Reviewed by
Simon A

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Charm in Charing
I rarely leave reviews as these things can be very subjective (one man's meat is another man's poison etc) but I stayed one night on business trip and received such a lovely, friendly welcome by Sam and her staff that I thought it should be mentioned. As she only had the place approx 4 weeks when I stayed she has plans of making some improvements to decor and refurbishment (bar area) so I'm sure it will be even better in the near future. Although close to Ashford and not too far from Canterbury felt very much in the country. If on business, like me, then phone signal is a little in/out - obviously, not the fault of the establishment - but a good value, friendly B&B nonetheless.

Reviewed by
Tom H

From Braak, Germany
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet, comfortable and clean
Lovely minimalist room with a very comfortable modern four poster bed, jacuzzi bath. Linen and towels of high quality, toiletries are provided and a well stocked hostess tray including bottled mineral water.
This is a historic building which has been sympathetically converted, there are nice garden areas in which to relax.
A good full breakfast which is cooked to order, excellent value for money.
Nice friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Diane P

From Rode, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

two nights at the bowl
You would be silly not to stay here the place is just far enough of the beaten track away from any road noise & wake up to just the noise of the birds. The rooms are very clean & look out onto the pub garden or fields, it is a family run pub & the locals are very friendly, good food & if you are into real ales they have a good range definitely worth a visit when your in the area. I'm going too.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice pub and friendly people will stay again

Reviewed by
Lee W

From Surrey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special place
Great out of the way accomodation, with very nice bedrooms over a classic country pub. I will be staying there again very soon.

Reviewed by
R Hanlon

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely peaceful night!
We stayed at the Bowl in for one night after a birthday party. The owner was very friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome. The room was very comfortable, nice bedding and towels and complimentary toiletries plus tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water. Lovely location and a very peaceful night's sleep. A perfect rural retreat.

Reviewed by
Lesley D

From Cranleigh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
All the staff are friendly and helpful. Room is excellent, roomy, clean and comfortable. Lovely village pub atmosphere with friendly locals. Limited menu but tasty and good value.

Reviewed by
Mike B

From Wymondham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice cosy pub.

Reviewed by
k mcdermott

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next