No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dusty Miller

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Sheffield road, Barlborough, , Chesterfield, S43 4TW
The Dusty Miller is beautifully situated in the picturesque village of Barlborough overlooking the Derbyshire countryside just 2 minutes off jct. 30 M1 and is within easy reach of many major attractions such as - Rover Valley, Bolsover Castle, Crooked Spire Chesterfield, Chatsworth House, Creswell Crags, Hardwick Hall, Columba Park, Nottingham Forest & the Peak District. For the shoppers you have the market town of Chesterfield & City of Sheffield close by & Meadow hall shopping centre. This country inn has just had a major refurbishment with new stone and wooden floors, pictures, lighting, blinds and a new lighter fresher colour scheme but still made to feel very homely, friendly and inviting. There are 4 chef's with a vast amount of experience and culinary skills who cook and make all there own food on site so you can be sure of freshness and quality all rolled into one. There famous carvery speaks volumes to the amount of people who visit the Dusty Miller on a regular basis serving over 1'000 people alone each week for there freshly prepared carvery, bar meals, snacks, Fresh kiddies menu, vegetarian choices, set menu's and buffet menu's there is something for all the family. Mid week carvery only 2 for £10 or 2 course with sweet from £6.95, Thats quality at a bargain price.Full Breakfast menu £6.50pp Also best for top entertainment in the area with there famous tribute nights,top bands, artists and comedians. Every Monday is poker night Red tooth league 8pm,Tuesday is our friendly quiz Bingo night also 8pm start and Wednesday hosts a regular rock n roll night with 50s 60s bands, It's free admission & the band starts at 9pm. Saturday is our famous live music night with some of the best bands,tributes from around the country.Live music starts from 9.30pm till late plus our bar is open till midnight.To see our full itinerary of live music events please go to our music section on our website- www.dustymiller.co.uk
Picture of Dusty Miller, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lively night
Needed to be in Sheffield the following day and the location of Dusty Miller was convenient. Everything was ok with the accommodation and food and the free evening entertainment was superb. We enjoyed our stay and I would happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
Philip T

From Upminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small but clean and tidy.Staff very friendly. Gammon steak was beautifully cooked but the chips were awful. As they have a live band playing on some nights it is not ideal after a busy day when you want to get a good nights sleep. I had been up since 4.30 that morning and the band played untill almost 11.30 and it was as though they were playing in my room. Would not use again on a business trip

Reviewed by
Thomas Cummins

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend break.
I travelled to Chesterfield from Stoke up the A50 then the M1 coming off at Junction 30. The instruction given on the Dusty Miller web page proved very useful. On arrival I was pleased to see a large car park. The staff were very friendly and helpful, telling us of places of interest and how to get there. The carvery was excellent value for money with a large variety of food on offer for all tastes. One of the biggest pluses was that the place was really warm, no skimping on heating. On the Saturday night there was first class entertainment.
Because we had to leave early on Sunday morning a cereal breakfast with milk was left outside our room. I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Bryan Dale

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great drop of for a northern break or visit to chesterfield or sheffield
good accomadation and great food in a friendly pub just off the m1

Reviewed by
ROBIN R

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome, poor room
The room was small and could not open bathroom door for bed. Smelled of stale tobacco. Shower was dismal. Road outside was so close that any traffic was noisy, although reasonably infrequent. Staff, however, could not have been friendlier. Adrian is a star, but needs to look to the quality of what he is offering.

Reviewed by
david h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dusty Miller - Chesterfield
Great venue - delightful people. Justifiably proud of their cuisine and hard work to please a wide range of customers.
Well stocked bar and fine choice of beers from the local brewery.
Definitely marked for the same event next year.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your great comments Adrian & the fact you enjoyed all aspects of your stay when here in March at the Dusty. Hope to see you in the near future. Regards Adrian (owner)

Reviewed by
Adrian C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic, but very good
Small comfortable room. It is in a pub which sems to provide very good food. Close to M1.

ManagementResponse

Thanks Nick.P for your positive comments you will have to pop back & try some food with you living not to far away.We do have a very good reputation for food as well as hospitality. Regards Adrian (owner)

Reviewed by
Nick P

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower never worked and bathroom was really small. Expensive for what it is!

ManagementResponse

before with other odd clients who informed me at the time so when i went up to check i had to force handle correct way to make the water run.We have since changed handles to normal taps to simplify it for future visitors although most clients did not have a problem. Anything we can improve on we do take action. So thanks for the feed back Jack,i would say it would be better for any issues to be brought to mine or staff attention at the point of stay so it gives us a chance to sort or offer a alternative solution.

Reviewed by
Jack C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I stayed at the Dusty Miller whilst visiting relatives in the Sheffield and Creswell area. We found the staff very obliging. On the first night we found the room we had booked to be very cold as the radiator wasn't working but on mentioning it to Nigel at breakfast he immediately offered us another room and the problem was solved. The full english breakfast was well cooked and very tasty. Both rooms were lovely and clean with nice crisp white bedding and towels. We met the housekeeper, Racheal, whilst doing the change over, a lovely young lady. Would stay at the Dusty Miller again if in the area. Well done.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for making the effort to put such a lovely review on here for us.It's great to get such fab feed back for me and my staff. Racheal does do a sterling job with the rooms and we take care from the meeting point to leaving. Thanks once again Adrian (owner)

Reviewed by
P Cook

From St Helens, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a very pleasant stay at dusty millar it was very clean and was what we were looking for .for a one night stay

ManagementResponse

So pleased you guys found your stay ideal it was great to meet you. See you in the near future. Regards Adrian (owner)

Reviewed by
s morgan

From Abergavenny, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next