No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dusty Miller

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Sheffield road, Barlborough, , Chesterfield, S43 4TW
The Dusty Miller is beautifully situated in the picturesque village of Barlborough overlooking the Derbyshire countryside just 2 minutes off jct. 30 M1 and is within easy reach of many major attractions such as - Rover Valley, Bolsover Castle, Crooked Spire Chesterfield, Chatsworth House, Creswell Crags, Hardwick Hall, Columba Park, Nottingham Forest & the Peak District. For the shoppers you have the market town of Chesterfield & City of Sheffield close by & Meadow hall shopping centre. This country inn has just had a major refurbishment with new stone and wooden floors, pictures, lighting, blinds and a new lighter fresher colour scheme but still made to feel very homely, friendly and inviting. There are 4 chef's with a vast amount of experience and culinary skills who cook and make all there own food on site so you can be sure of freshness and quality all rolled into one. There famous carvery speaks volumes to the amount of people who visit the Dusty Miller on a regular basis serving over 1'000 people alone each week for there freshly prepared carvery, bar meals, snacks, Fresh kiddies menu, vegetarian choices, set menu's and buffet menu's there is something for all the family. Mid week carvery only 2 for £10 or 2 course with sweet from £6.95, Thats quality at a bargain price.Full Breakfast menu £6.50pp Also best for top entertainment in the area with there famous tribute nights,top bands, artists and comedians. Every Monday is poker night Red tooth league 8pm,Tuesday is our friendly quiz Bingo night also 8pm start and Wednesday hosts a regular rock n roll night with 50s 60s bands, It's free admission & the band starts at 9pm. Saturday is our famous live music night with some of the best bands,tributes from around the country.Live music starts from 9.30pm till late plus our bar is open till midnight.To see our full itinerary of live music events please go to our music section on our website- www.dustymiller.co.uk
Picture of Dusty Miller, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Lovely village and very quiet location but within easy reach of Sheffield - (I used park and ride which was only a 15 minute drive). The room was small but very good value. The only downside was the shower which was lacking in power. The menu looked good but there were no vegetarian options so this ruled me out.

Reviewed by
Christine F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, shame about the noise
First impressions were good. Nice country pub. I arrived at 6pm and there was a carvery in the dining room. A few people at the bar. Staff were attentive and offered to carry my bag up to the room. My single room was small but adequate and clean enough. Great I though....WRONG!!!! At about 7.30/8pm, peace was shattered. There was what seemed to be extremely loud karaoke followed by either an Elvis imporsonator or someone singing Elvis songs over and over... till late. The rooms have NO sound insulation at all. It was horrendous, particularly after being up since 5am and being on a course all day. Also, they do not serve breakfast before 8.30 on a Sunday, seeing as I was there on business this was too late for me and there was no flexibility in it. Also, upon further inspection the shower wasn't particularly clean and dribbled luke warm water. I won't be stopping there again!

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Pwllheli, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single Room very Compact
I found the single room to be very compact but was practical and value for money but could have done with somewhere to sit and probably a additional small table

Reviewed by
Neil B

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very small single room it felt like a corridor and the worlds tiniest bathroom if your under 6 foot I bet you cantreach the towels!!! I had chicken provencale. Chicken with a watery tomato and mushroom sauce. Not the best but for 30 quid did a job

Reviewed by
graham s

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Very friendly welcome. Good quality food. Excellent breakfast!! Ideal stopover just off the M1. Will certainly stay again. Thank you

Reviewed by
Liz Adams

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lively night
Needed to be in Sheffield the following day and the location of Dusty Miller was convenient. Everything was ok with the accommodation and food and the free evening entertainment was superb. We enjoyed our stay and I would happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
Philip T

From Upminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small but clean and tidy.Staff very friendly. Gammon steak was beautifully cooked but the chips were awful. As they have a live band playing on some nights it is not ideal after a busy day when you want to get a good nights sleep. I had been up since 4.30 that morning and the band played untill almost 11.30 and it was as though they were playing in my room. Would not use again on a business trip

Reviewed by
Thomas Cummins

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend break.
I travelled to Chesterfield from Stoke up the A50 then the M1 coming off at Junction 30. The instruction given on the Dusty Miller web page proved very useful. On arrival I was pleased to see a large car park. The staff were very friendly and helpful, telling us of places of interest and how to get there. The carvery was excellent value for money with a large variety of food on offer for all tastes. One of the biggest pluses was that the place was really warm, no skimping on heating. On the Saturday night there was first class entertainment.
Because we had to leave early on Sunday morning a cereal breakfast with milk was left outside our room. I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Bryan Dale

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great drop of for a northern break or visit to chesterfield or sheffield
good accomadation and great food in a friendly pub just off the m1

Reviewed by
ROBIN R

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome, poor room
The room was small and could not open bathroom door for bed. Smelled of stale tobacco. Shower was dismal. Road outside was so close that any traffic was noisy, although reasonably infrequent. Staff, however, could not have been friendlier. Adrian is a star, but needs to look to the quality of what he is offering.

Reviewed by
david h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next