Reviews - Dunkerleys Hotel


19 Beach St, ,, Deal, CT14 7AH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Jen P

  • June 2015

Arrived with high expectations, left disappointed

All my gripes with this place were duly noted by reception on departure so it is hoped that all is not lost.

And my concerns are perhaps concentrated on one area. Even though I didn't book a sea view, the hotel's fantastic coastal position made the location of room 16 all the more disappointing. It had two windows: one overlooking the kitchen exit next to which were bins piled high with rubbish, while the other backed on to either another building/another part of the hotel. I felt it neither safe nor hygienic to prop the windows open - not that they shut properly anyway - despite the warm weather. The chattering of staff on their breaks, the clattering of crockery and the loud prolonged groan of what I thought was an extractor fan but was apparently a boiler was irksome to say the least. The room was nicely furnished but having a better shower and pleasant views would have improved this experience greatly. And despite the friendly receptionists on arrival and departure, I was pretty underwhelmed by a hotel that seemed rather grand online. Bizarre place to put guests in my opinion. Convenient for the beach, pier, high street and train station. Appreciate other rooms could be different but I doubt I'll return to this hotel.

  • W Johnson

  • May 2015

Dunkerleys Hotel Ramsgate

The attentiveness of the staff was excellent.

Room 3 was very comfortable and the quality of dinner was superb

  • george proffitt

  • April 2015

Food in Restaurant excellent.

Bar food average. We really missed Ron in the Breakfast room in the morning. Service and organisation there was a little "hit and miss"

  • S Standing

  • April 2015

A Kent Delight

Staff were very good and very helpful

  • Susan A

  • March 2015

Seaside enjoyment

Very helpful staff.

Good size room with lovely views of the sea; plenty of hot water. Very enjoyable food & wine with plenty of choice. Pity some of the other guests were so noisy when they went to bed after midnight. Cooked breakfast was also very good - choice of non-cooked items could be a bit more imaginative in line with those offered by other hotels.

  • Y Yusoff

  • January 2015

Dunkerley's @ Deal in late January 2015

We had a very good stay at Dunkerley's after booking through Laterooms.

  • david morrison

  • November 2014

Excellent stay lovely room and friendly staff

Really enjoyed our stay here good food excellent room and friendly staff would definately stay here again thanks very much

  • C Blake

  • September 2014

Not cheap, a bit cramped but great location and excellent food

3 night stay at end of August.

Previously stayed at Royal on sea front but that was a bit average and the food was indifferent and pricey. By contrast, Dunkerly's was much better. In particular the service and food was excellent. A bit of a hiccup on departure when they had lost their record of my pre-payment of the room (they took a copy of my receipt!). Otherwise, the location right in the centre of the seafront justifies the price in part but the location (side street) and size of the room detracted from the experience a little. Breakfasts and evening meals plus location of restaurant and outside seating was great.

  • Paula D

  • July 2014

Noisy, tiny room but with a decent view, good bar and outside area

Disappointed with such a small room and bed for two of us.

Should have secondary glazing as the traffic woke us up at 6am and it's a fairly busy road. The bar is well stocked and the lunch menu looked lovely. Our inclusive breakfast was OK.

  • diane e

  • March 2014

I'm assuming that our room, number 7, is generally allocated to late bookers who pay a discounted rate as it's probably one of the lower standard ones.

The view of the extension roof below, the large patch of damp on the wall and the thick layer of dust on the telephone would all suggest a room that is only used when nothing else is available. However for one night it was fine though some little issues - the tv being strangely out of sync, the very poor wifi and the large shower head not working at all - need to be sorted out. The owner of the hotel was friendly and welcoming, offering to book us a table for that nights meal, and the waiting staff at breakfast were willing but inexperienced, leaving us to request tea, coffee and toast since we weren't offered any. Deal is a lovely little town and we'd possibly stay at Dunkerleys when we visit again but definitely not in room 7!