No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dunkerleys Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
19 Beach St, , , Deal, CT14 7AH
Our award-winning restaurant and accommodation is in the heart of Deal, just a stone's throw away from the beach. We are in easy reach of Dover, Canterbury, Sandwich, Margate, Broadstairs and Ramsgate and renowned for our fresh local seafood throughout South East England. All our mouthwatering dishes are enhanced by an extensive choice of fine wines. Enjoy the delights of Deal. There is an abundance of unique shops just five minutes from Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel. In the evening, the beautifully lit seafront promenade is the perfect setting for a romantic evening. Whatever your reason for staying at Dunkerley's, you will enjoy thoughtful service and attention to detail in a charming location. Our accommodation comprises of sixteen superb rooms. Six of the rooms have panoramic sea views overlooking Deal's pier and beach. All rooms are spacious with ensuite bathroom, Satellite T.V, direct dial telephones, internet access points, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and morning papers.Two of the principal hotel rooms have a Jacuzzi, making Dunkerley's Hotel the perfect retreat to unwind! A delicious breakfast awaits you in the morning and our staff are always happy to assist with any plans you may have for the day ahead. The Dunkerley family roots are firmly embedded in Deal, Kent's rich maritime history. 'The Signal Man' hotel room is named after Ian Dunkerley's grandfather, who spent 36 years as a local lifeboat man. Come and enjoy our warm hospitality in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Renowned for our fresh, local seafood we are dedicated to serving mouthwatering cuisine, enhanced by an extensive choice of fine wines, from classic French varieties to exciting discoveries from the new world. Dunkerley's now boasts a wonderful terrace where you can soak up the sunshine and take in the sea air. Sit back and let the world go by whilst enjoying a casual beer, coffee or a glass of wine.
Picture of Dunkerleys Hotel, Deal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay lovely room and friendly staff
Really enjoyed our stay here good food excellent room and friendly staff would definately stay here again thanks very much

Reviewed by
david morrison

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not cheap, a bit cramped but great location and excellent food
3 night stay at end of August. Previously stayed at Royal on sea front but that was a bit average and the food was indifferent and pricey. By contrast, Dunkerly's was much better. In particular the service and food was excellent. A bit of a hiccup on departure when they had lost their record of my pre-payment of the room (they took a copy of my receipt!). Otherwise, the location right in the centre of the seafront justifies the price in part but the location (side street) and size of the room detracted from the experience a little. Breakfasts and evening meals plus location of restaurant and outside seating was great.

Reviewed by
C Blake

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, tiny room but with a decent view, good bar and outside area
Disappointed with such a small room and bed for two of us. Should have secondary glazing as the traffic woke us up at 6am and it's a fairly busy road. The bar is well stocked and the lunch menu looked lovely. Our inclusive breakfast was OK.

Reviewed by
Paula D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'm assuming that our room, number 7, is generally allocated to late bookers who pay a discounted rate as it's probably one of the lower standard ones. The view of the extension roof below, the large patch of damp on the wall and the thick layer of dust on the telephone would all suggest a room that is only used when nothing else is available. However for one night it was fine though some little issues - the tv being strangely out of sync, the very poor wifi and the large shower head not working at all - need to be sorted out. The owner of the hotel was friendly and welcoming, offering to book us a table for that nights meal, and the waiting staff at breakfast were willing but inexperienced, leaving us to request tea, coffee and toast since we weren't offered any! Deal is a lovely little town and we'd possibly stay at Dunkerleys when we visit again but definitely not in room 7!

Reviewed by
diane e

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were more than pleased with our stay at Dunkerleys Hotel - staff and restaurant food were excellent. Our room overlooked the sea which was wonderful to watch with the inclement weather we had been experiencing. Our only criticism was lack of parking facilities as had to walk with cases to nearest car park despite being only 5-10 mins away it took the edge off where we were staying plus there was a car park fee to pay too although free overnight.

Reviewed by
Brenda L

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location, good hotel
Found nothing really wrong with the place.
In the summer, I would think it would be great position on the promenade, having breakfast outside

Reviewed by
s jones

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast, but needed it after late night
Overall the experience at the hotel was al-right, but having to call reception at 11:45 at night on my own phone (the phone in the room was broken) to complain about the music from the restaurant which stopped me from sleeping definitely took away from my ability to fully enjoy my nights stay. The music was turned down but not off till near 12:30 in the morning which wasn't on. Breakfast in the morning was great.

Reviewed by
K Body

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous!!
The place was lovely. Tastefully decorated and restaurant downstairs was excellent. The bar downstairs had lovely cosy open fires, just what we needed on a chilly November day. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful a good start to the day. Would definitely stay again, can't wait and a bargain at £70 from laterooms!!

Reviewed by
Kevin B

From Dartford, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good choice
Lovely sea and pier views from our (not cheap but good) room. Staff friendly, attentive and efficient . Bistro is small if it's too chilly or wet to eat outside, so encourages you to look elsewhere to eat informally.

Reviewed by
Frank M

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky Hotel
Although had initial problems with room, these were soon sorted by very helpful and friendly staff
Breakfast delicious and plentiful

Reviewed by
Sue W

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next