No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke William Ickham

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Street, Ickham, , Canterbury, CT3 1QP
The Duke William is a family run pub renowned for serving the very finest local produce that Kent has to offer. Our cherished selection of ales, beers and wines have been hand-picked to complement each of our delicious dishes. The Duke William serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and we’re open all year! Why not stay with us for a day or two and take the time to discover some of the reasons why we fell in love with Ickham and the surrounding area. Whether you choose to walk, ride or drive through the countryside you will find beautiful villages and hamlets to explore. From exploring the rural delights to sightseeing in the exciting city of Canterbury, there really is something for everyone right on our doorstep. There are four inviting rooms at the Inn, each of them en-suite featuring large power showers. A scrumptious home cooked traditional breakfast is included. Rainy day? Fancy cosying up and watching a film?…No problem, watch one from our collection! You can also be a part of the Duke Will’s travelling book bookshelf – borrow a book and leave one behind (you never know how far your book will travel!) Special Occasion or do you just want to arrange a romantic getaway? Why not let us know what you want and the Duke William will do the rest! If it’s a romantic getaway you’re after, let us know what we can do to make it extra special for you. We are not pretending to be a luxury hotel, just a great place to stay with that home from home feel!
Picture of The Duke William Ickham, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for night after wedding
We were phoned the day before to be advised that there would be no hot water as the boiler had broken down and was not being repaired until after our stay. They offered to find us alternative accommodation, but we declined as we only needed a bed for the night. A good discount was given to compensate. The bed was a bit hard but the room was fine in a quiet village. Cooked breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cancelled
Around lunchtime on the day of stay, after driving to the area, a phone call informed us the hotel was booked. Too late to do anything else, an overnight stay became a very long day trip.

Reviewed by
Simon F

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The wonderful village of ickham
we were in the front bedroom which was noisy from the bar below being a saturday it went on till late. I slept through it(the beer was good) but my wife did not(she did not drink the beer)

Reviewed by
Robin M

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want a grubby noisy room then this will suit you
Booked for 2 nights but because we were
1. Given the wrong room
2. Had dirty spoon
3. Tv did not work batteries corroded in remote
4 no catch on the window
4. Very noisy with music and drunks until 12.30 am had to ask them to be quiet as closing time was 11.30 pm
5. Terrible breakfast care taker did not understand requests
6. Only stayed the one night

Reviewed by
Terry P

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab pub but rooms a little basic

Reviewed by
Natalie B

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty Poor
Terrible customer service really, checkout was catastrophic, I had to leave a business card for them to ring me later to pay as the sole staff member spoke little English and had only been there for a couple of weeks. He also delivered me the worst cooked breakfast I have ever seen. Food in the evening was good however. Room was not very clean, this was not "Shabby Chic" but grubby.
Finally it was impossible to get a receipt from them for my stay, desp[ite repeated contact to ask for one. My firm's accounts team eventually sorted it out, but apparently The Duke William said I had received one and must have lost it! Blooming cheek, I won't be going there again!

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Checked out.....
I arrived for a 2 night stay. There were numerous problems. Had 2 towels but no hand towels or bath mat. Window in bathroom was filthy with mould and thick dust on blind. Mirrors were all dirty. Arranged to have breakfast at 8.00. Only person around was cleaner, who gave us black coffee but nothing else. We left without staying the 2nd night.

Reviewed by
V Powell

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub for overnight stay, only negitive comment is that there were no cups in our room, we did ask twice for cups but none were delivered.

Reviewed by
PAUL C

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great food. a very lively pub with loads of character.
Friendly staff and a noisy atmosphere. Could be hard to get to sleep early. Although we didn't have any problems.

Reviewed by
Steve R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Place
We arrived at the place which is at present being decorated outside. The Welcome was good and there was a good size fire burning in the fireplace which looked great.Having been shown to our room it became apparent from the smell of wood smoke that the charming fire might not be all it should be. We could not decide if the room smelt of mould or if it was just the smell of wood smoke coming in through the bathroom window Room was quite basic for the money but had a good shower.
Surprised to see no PAT testing of electrical equipment in the room?
Food and the breakfast were top quality as is the location of this charming place.

Reviewed by
S Poat

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next