No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rob Roy Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Rob Roy Guest House, 227 Dover Rd, , Folkestone, CT19 6NH
The Rob Roy is a 7 bedroom bed & breakfast Guest House, with 3 bedrooms en suite plus free WIFI. We are situated only 10 to 15 minutes down hill walk to Folkestone Harbour, beaches, the town centre & restaurants etc. It is only 10 drive minutes from the Channel Tunnel and 20 minutes from the Dover ferries and the Eurostar passenger trains at Ashford. We are also perfectly positioned to explore the Garden of England and its many attractions, for example: beautiful beaches and promenades, historic castles, coastal parks, The North Downs Way, wild life parks, The Battle of Britain Memorial and Museum, Dover Castle and much more! A warm welcome awaits you from Sarah and Jim who offer you a comfortable cosy stay, with a fine choice of breakfasts to see you on your way. Cooked breakfast weekdays is from 8 - 9am, weekends from 8.30 - 9.30am, but early cooked breakfasts from 7.30am (8am weekends) can be booked on arrival. An extensive buffet breakfast is supplied for those guests leaving earlier. Notes: We operate a no smoking policy, however smoking is allowed outside on the first floor verandah. Pets are welcome by prior arrangement in Room No1 only, a fully refurbished ground floor ensuite room with door leading to the Rob Roy owner’s private garden where you may sit outside in your own patio area. Pets can use the garden while supervised. Accommodation is available throughout the year, with the exception of Christmas (24th - 26th December) and other publicised times. Check-in time: From 4:00 pm or telephone if earlier ETA. Check-out time: 10:30 am. WHEN BOOKING, please enter an approximate time of arrival under 'SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS' to ensure we are available to meet you! Our Family room sleeps up to 5, in a double bed, bunk-beds and a Z-bed or cot. Bunk beds are not appropriate for children over the age of 12.
Picture of The Rob Roy Guest House, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Humble but effective
This b&b provides everything you need for a weekend break. It's non-pretentious style offers what it promises, with simple and yet comfortable rooms. We loved the breakfast and how kind the host of the b&b was!

Reviewed by
Irene M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely quick stop for the night
I was staying in Folkestone for work, arriving late and leaving early. I got a very friendly welcome and a the possibility of having a very early breakfast. A nice clean room with new and super comfortable bed. Great value for money and first class service, thank you.

Reviewed by
P Murphy

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend stay
Guest House was clean and tidy , owners was accommodating and friendly would stay if and when occasion arises...........

Reviewed by
james b

From Aylesbury, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Look at the room before you book
An extremely small room that claimed to be a double, with a cupboard door that banged into the bedside table, and a door to the toilet that had to be shoved because it scraped the carpet. Even though there was only one person in this small room, I was charged full rate for a double.

ManagementResponse

As I explained on your arrival, you booked for 4 people and when you arrived were only 2 and as this was an online booking I was unable to charge you any differently. I have already commented on the review that you left elsewhere and do not wish to go into it all again. Needless to say you might have been better booking into a big Hotel rather than a B & B.

Reviewed by
N Sheridan

From Baltimore, USA
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Sarah was lovely really helpful and went out of her way to make us welcome and comfortable. My 14yr old thought she was great when giving him extra hot chocolate just for him. Would recommend to anyone who likes genuine homely feel

Reviewed by
A Bedford

From Paignton , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All I can say is that our stay in the Rob Roy was toooo short!
Sara as her husband were so welcoming despite our late arrival. We could park our car safely as it was full of personal possessions from our home in Spain. The room was spotless and very comfortable especially the beds! Plenty of towels, toiletries, hair dryer and, home made biscuits with ample tea, coffee and drinking chocolate. My other half was delighted to be watching match of the day in bed. Nice quiet area and nothing to disturb either inside or outside the house. The breakfast was fantastic self service for juice and cereals, and table service for tea coffee and cooked breakfast with a very good selection. The little touch we liked was bringing toast to table while our breakfast was being cooked, then toast along with the food.....small touch but, appreciated. They were fully booked but when she had finished cooking breakfast Sara came out and chatted with guests and when she realised I hadn't seen her specials board with black pudding ( an Irish favourite) she went in and cooked some for me. Sara is a qualified chef and an ex teacher and they took over in December of 2012 and are updating the Rob Roy, they have revamped all of the rooms and dining room and installed double glazing into back of property and will be getting the front windows double glazed soon. Sara and her husband are extremely hard working and have created a place with a lovely homely ambience, while still managing to run the guest house very efficiently. By the way this review is from a person who normally avoids guest houses but, I would return to the Rob Roy in a heartbeat and, have no hesitation in recommending them for a stay of longer than one night.....as I said earlier our stay was toooo short!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for the lovely review. We have only been here 9 months and are still making changes and from your comments they are for the best. We try to cater for all our guests reasonable needs and when met with lovely guests like yourselves find it easy to accommodate (sorry about the pun) Regards Sarah and Jim

Reviewed by
m curran

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great little b&b in Folkestone
We needed somewhere to sleep one night on our way to France. We arrived around 9pm and Sarah was a great host and ready for us. There was easy parking out front. We had room 1 which was on the ground floor. It was small clean and tidy. Apparently this room is used for pets but we did not notice any obvious "pet" use. The breakfast room was right outside our bedroom which we thought may be disturbing in the morning. But on the contrary. We didn't hear a thing and almost over slept. We were served a great full English breakfast by Sarah and another young lady. They were both incredibly polite and helpful. They have a dog who we worried may have barked just a bit too much but even he/she was well behaved when required. Over all we had a pleasant experience and will go back next time.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for a lovely review. We were glad that we met all your needs. Regards, Sarah and Jim

Reviewed by
Christina Shiatis-Conyers

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed and Breakfast but only at landladys convenience!!!
Having emailed prior to arriving that we needed an early breakfast, I was shocked to be told upon arrival that breakfast would only be cereal and toast prior to 8.30am. Having paid £79 for the room I expected full english as stated on the website and as far as I was concerned I had made prior arrangement as requested. As a coeliac I could eat nothing that was offered and luckily had a banana with me I could eat. We ended up eating breakfast at the eurotunnel at further cost!
Substantial camp bed in room which was very comfortable but jammed up against sink making sink almost impossible to use to wash.
Room 1 was right next to breakfast room on ground floor so we were woken up by a family having breakfast early.
A lot of money for not a lot in return. Even fridge had a sticker on it telling guests how many yoghurts and packs of butter were allowed. Seemed to be lots of notices with lots of rules.
Not impressed with landlord walking around in his dressing gown in the morning either.
Payment taken on arrival so couldnt even refuse to pay part of bill for lack of breakfast.
Not impressed with lack of professionalism and being given some cherries from the garden in lieu of cooked breakfast!!!!!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In response to your complaints. 1. If I had been informed that you were Coeliac I would have offered you Gluten free products that I always keep in the freezer. 2. We have put a note on the fridge to guide customers but I always put in extra to cover anyone that feels that they need more. 3. You had informed me that you would be leaving before 7.30 so was surprised to see you in the breakfast room at 7.45. (normal breakfast 8.30) 4. It was meant to be a kind gesture to give you some cherries, from my garden for your journey, not as a means of compensation for not having a cooked breakfast. 5. I did notice that you brought your own cereal but as I said I could have offered you other breads or rolls. 6. The reason my husband was in his dressing gown was because a guest had run the bell, I was in the bathroom at the time so my husband quickly went to see what was needed. We are sorry if this caused offence. 7. We do ask guests that are having an early breakfast to try and be respectful of the guests in room 1, which I had done, but I am not in a position to monitor this and I can not be held responsible for their behaviour. 8. The Z bed in the room does make it difficult to stand in front of the sink but it is reachable from the side. The bed is quite light and moveable so could have been adjusted if needed. 9. Our buffet breakfast consist of 9 cereal choices, Yoghurts, Apple and Orange Juice, White and Brown Bread, 8 different types of Jams and Preserves as well as teas, coffees and Hot Chocolate. 10. We do not feel that we have rules but guidelines to make it fair and respectful for all guests. We feel that less than £27 per person per night for that ensuite room is of good value and we are sorry that you do not agree. Rob Roy Guest House

Reviewed by
Janine H

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and clean. Sarah made us feel so welcome it was like home from home.

Reviewed by
m bretherton

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a night in transit
This was just what we needed - a comfortable and family-friendly place to stop for the night en route to the Dover ferry terminal. The room was a bit small and basic but clean and comfortable, and the owner was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and the kids were made to feel welcome.

Reviewed by
Stuart S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next