No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Little Dane Court

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Little Dane Court, 1 Ashford Road, , Tenterden, TN30 6AB
Tenterden is a traditional market town situated in the weald of Kent known as the garden of England. Winding narrow lanes lead you through the countryside’s rich legacy of historic buildings, sublime gardens, vineyards and villages untouched by modern life. The weald of Kent is designated an area of outstanding natural beauty. Little Dane Court sits in the centre of this tree lined town which has many antique shops and fine jewelers, up-market clothes shops and traditional pubs and tea rooms for that essential "rest stop" when you explore the town. The traditional but very light rooms come with all modern facilities including large bathrooms with baths and showers, flat screen TVs, Teasmade alarms and memory foam mattresses covered with Chinese silk filled duvets. Wireless internet is available throughout. The house has a long history, at one time it was a smugglers house with a secret window in the roof to signal when it was safe to bring the wine ashore and store it in the large cellar in the basement, and behind the ingle nook fireplace there is a priest hole to hide priests during the religious upheavals of the 16th and 17th Centuries. Select from a super king size double room with en suite bathroom, a twin/double room with luxury en-suite bathroom, and two twin rooms with a shared bathroom, or Katsura cottage in the garden, furnished in traditional Japanese style which sleeps up to 4, featuring a lounge, bedroom and bathroom. The guest lounge has a large TV, a study/work area, a small library including local information and maps, and a corner just to sit and watch the world go by. Over the road there is a large sports centre in the park with fitness and swimming amenities and the high street shops and supermarkets are literally 2 minutes from the front door. Select a full English, Japanese, or Continental Breakfast. Gluten Free, Vegetarian and Lactose free guests are also fully catered for.
Picture of Little Dane Court, Tenterden at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful home from home
A warm welcome when we arrived, the most comfortable bed and delightful room. Rod our host was extremely helpful and cooked a great breakfast. Would recommend this most highly.

Reviewed by
Susie Wontner-Smith

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
Lovely B&B and nice owners. Only recommendation is perhaps buy a travel cot for those young families like ours who forgot to bring theirs with them! My own fault really.

Reviewed by
l baxter

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Dane Court
Bedroom and bathroom very spacious and comfortable. Teasmade for making hot drinks very convenient. Breakfast plentiful but I would have appreciated being offered a choice of toast rather than just being presented with one slice of white & one slice of brown. Just one comment on safety - there needs to be a light out the back that triggers before going down the steps leading from the car park to back entrance. I nearly tripped down the steps when returning at night. The owner offered to post my phone charger back to me after I left it behind.

Reviewed by
Diana L

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcom awaits you at Little Dane Court
We were made to feel so welcome. We even stayed for an extra day. Highlight was having breakfast in the beautiful patio. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
P HARMES

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Night in Tenterden
Enjoyable evening at this guest house. No real complaints other than the lightswitch in the bathroom took an age to find in the dark.

Reviewed by
O Hanson

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dane Court review
Little Dane court was a lovely old cottage -500 years old...and unfortunately the hot water system reflected this ! Also the heating system was not very efficient ..hence the lower scores above.
Location for access to Tenterden was very good and the owner Rod was very friendly and helpful.
Answers below are dependant on the above being resolved!

Reviewed by
ELAINE BROWN

From Swanley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and unique
We had a lovely stay at Little Dane Court, with its mix of rich history and Japanese theme - it really offers something memorable.
It was incredibly clean, had all the amenities we needed and Rod, the host - was happy to share recommendations of what to do during our stay, as well as a bit of history about the area and the house itself.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place, or staying again!

Reviewed by
Lucy C

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best in Kent
Pure delight - so laid back that you fall

Reviewed by
Christiopher Cree

From Somerton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful and welcoming
The owner and his staff were friendly and very helpful, the cottage was very nicely decorated throughout and very clean, we were made very welcome and I would recommend it to anyone.
Handy for town and close to many attractions.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Dane Court, a little piece of Heaven!
Our Host Rob was most congenial and helpful. The accommodation was excellent, and very Zen. The location was convenient, and of historic interest. Thanks for the recommendation, the loan of the Brolly, and leaflets on the local area!

Reviewed by
W Peet

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next