No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gateway Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
14 Balham Hill, , , Clapham, SW12 9EB
Situated on busy Balham Hill, The Gateway Hotel offers high standard and convenient accommodation located close to Clapham South tube station. We are conveniently close to the heart of the city yet within 3 minutes walk of one of london's finest open spaces, Clapham Common. The Gateway Hotel is privately owned and run to provide the personal touch. All 20 rooms have comfortable en-suite facilities, delivering quality and economy without uniformity. Wireless internet access is available in all public areas and rooms. The hotel is two minutes from Clapham South Tube station with easy access to the city, West End and Wimbledon. It is also situated a stones throw away from Clapham Common and within walking distance of many quality restaurants, pubs, clubs and shops. Please Note: Check In time is from 15:00 until 21.00 (late arrivals must be confirmed by phone), Check Out 11:00. Full credit/debit card details to be confirmed upon check-in. On-site parking is available at a cost of £5.00 per night. Parking must be confirmed directly by the hotel in advance. To book a parking space, please contact the hotel by phone (parking is not guaranteed). Due to limited space, we cannot accommodate vans or 4x4's. Street parking is available. Details available on our 'Finding Us' page. Tariff is Room Only. Breakfast, if required, is £5.50 per person (Continental only). Pets and Smoking not permitted.
Picture of Gateway Hotel, Clapham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly and helpful. Adequate clean accommodation. Does the job!
Was participating in the London to Brighton bike race. Hotel situated just a short walk from start of race in clapham junction, making this ideal accommodation for this purpose. Hotel accommodated bikes and helped out as much as possible to ensure day started successfully.

Reviewed by
Lisa F

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get late booking
Great location very friend everything you need in the rooms, would book here again :-)

Reviewed by
T Dawson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Doesn't seem to be too many hotels in south london and my friends wedding was in Tooting so this hotel was a perfect location - nice room, tea / coffee, fridge, tv - perfect.

Reviewed by
J Moore

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff clean comfortable rooms
We stayed at the hotel while working the other side of clapham common and on our first evening we had a problem and had to stay late so I rang the hotel and the guy working that evening could not have been anymore pleasant he told us not to worry what time we got there just give him a call when we nearby and would come back to check us in unfortunately I did not get his name but I know he is Brazilian and I would like to let the management know what fantastic staff they have
As for the stay it was pleasant enough and good value the road noise did not keep myself or colleague awake but there are ear plugs provided if you are a light sleeper
Would stay again when working around the area

Reviewed by
C Turner

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, comfortable room

Reviewed by
J Cadman

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pretty good value for money
Not a bad hotel. Nice and clean. On balham high street but road noise was not too loud. nothing luxurious... pre book parking as they only 3-4 spaces. Paid 75 quid which was about right

Reviewed by
james h

From billingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
Good service, and convenient for tube... little noisy because of traffic.

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
The Gateway Hotel just fitted the bill. We needed overnight accommodation near to our daughter's flat but didn't want to pay a fortune. We were very pleasantly surprised at the spacious double room we had with spotless bathroom. The room was warm and comfortable and had ample tea and coffee making facilities with no skimping on milk, sugar etc. We were even able to park our car securely (£5 extra) within the closed gates of the Hotel. Our room did overlook the busy main road, but ear plugs (provided) and double glazing meant a peaceful night. The Hotel is only a few minutes walk from Clapham South tube station and a fraction of the price we would have had to pay in central London. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Lynn M

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

October 2013
Friendly atmosphere, with very nice and welcoming staff. Location is good, a short walk from a tube station, a drawback is the proximity to a main road, which is reasonably noisy. Ear plugs are provided however.
A very clean room and bathroom, this particularly stood out as I'd stayed at a prominent low budget hotel chain the previous night, and the contrast between the two in terms of cleanliness was very apparent.
I would certainly recommend the hotel to a friend.

Reviewed by
C Nolan

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality hotel
Good location in London, good value for area.
Friendly staff and everything you need in the room.
Clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
c reader

From wirral, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next