No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hensleigh House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Lower Sea Lane, Charmouth, DT6 6LW
Hensleigh House is a delightful family-run guest house near the sea and world famous Jurassic cliffs at Charmouth, West Dorset.

The comfortable rooms are all en-suite, some with baths and shower over, others with separate showers. Colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and our special touches, all contribute to a quiet relaxing stay.

Free WiFi is available in all bedrooms and the common areas.

Breakfast is included with all bookings. A range of local fresh produce is available, with choices from a hearty full English, fruit, porridge, and fresh bakery. During the day we serve tea, coffee and light snacks for both residents and non residents.

The Hensleigh is just 300 metres from Charmouth Heritage Centre and the famous fossil beach. The village centre with shops, pubs and restaurants is 200 metres away
Picture of Hensleigh House, Charmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Make sure your phone is charged!
Great location just a short stroll from the sea but expensive for what you get. As someone with a back problem, I found my bed fairly uncomfortable, but apart from that the room was fine and the bathroom was spotless with a decent shower.
The B&B was unstaffed when I arrived at 6pm, which it turns out is a regular occurrence. There were notices with a phone number to call, and it turned out that a key had been left for me to let myself in. This all felt quite impersonal, and I was glad I'd actually brought and charged my mobile phone - I'd just come from an area of Devon with no mobile reception, so had only charged my phone as an after-thought..... I think advertising for the Hensleigh should make it clear you are likely to need a phone when you arrive rather than assume everyone will have one.

ManagementResponse

We are pleased to say that since we took over at the start of September we welcome all guests personally, and are making many other improvements to Hensleigh House.

Reviewed by
Ginni S

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and in need of a contemporary overhaul
First, I have to say that we only stayed one night. However, our reception was perfunctory and somewhat disinterested - as was checkout. No attempt was made to engage with us as customers or to make us feel welcome. Given that this was Charmouth (a lovely seaside Dorset village) the room was dull, dated and in need of fresh styling in keeping with the surroundings. That said, the room was quite adequate in size with lots of light (once the heavy nets were drawn back) -but, we couldn't really understand why there were Teddy bears on the pillows!! There were no staff on the premises after 5.30pm, so we felt somewhat abandoned as guests.
Breakfast was basic. No yogurt, pure juice or fresh fruit and rather sad sausage - pretty poor given the £120 a night price tag.
All in all this was rather poor value for money in a village which has a number of quality 'boutique' hotels and B&Bs offering genuine quality and customer care.

ManagementResponse

From September 2014 Hensleigh House is under new ownership, with many improvements underway, and many more planned. One of these is breakfast which as you will see from our website reviews is now well received.

Reviewed by
Bruce Thomas

From Lee-the-Solent, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
Warm welcome, comfortable room, good food and close to the beach.

Reviewed by
roy h

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Staying at the Hensleigh was a lovely experience - staff were polite, friendly and helpful; room was clean; beds were comfortable; breakfast was lovely. We'll be back!

Reviewed by
David Jones

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
Family room was too small for a family, felt cramped.

Reviewed by
Lisa R

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family of 4 - 4 nights stay
Really nice place to stay - good location - equidistant to the shops and restaurants as it was to the beach. Good service at breakfast and good selection on offer. All the staff we met were very nice and welcoming. The children's room had a dvd player and dvds which was great for the wet windy sunday which forced us to spend a couple of hours inside. There were bears on the beds which was a nice touch and made the children feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
H Del Ponte

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs improvement
No-one to greet us on arrival but not a huge problem as keys and instructions were left. room could of done with a good clean ( thick dust on headboard, mouldy tiles in bathroom and shower was really compact ) good breakfast though !

ManagementResponse

Hensleigh House is under new ownership from September 2014 with many improvements underway. The owners live in the property and check in all guests personally.

Reviewed by
kevin r

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Very helpful staff, clean comfortable room, great breakfast!!

Reviewed by
Anne Williams

From Chippenham, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hensleigh Guest House
The Hensleigh is perfectly situated for the beach at Charmouth. The breakfast was excellent and the service friendly and personal. The website talks about the restaurant serving dinner - but this was not available.

Reviewed by
D Baddeley

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly Enjoyed Are Stay, It Quiet Comfortable And Situated In The Best Part Of The Country.

Reviewed by
j moody

From Ryde, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next