No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hensleigh House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Lower Sea Lane, Charmouth, DT6 6LW
Hensleigh House is a delightful family-run guest house near the sea and world famous Jurassic cliffs at Charmouth, West Dorset.

The comfortable rooms are all en-suite, some with baths and shower over, others with separate showers. Colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and our special touches, all contribute to a quiet relaxing stay.

Free WiFi is available in all bedrooms and the common areas.

Breakfast is included with all bookings. A range of local fresh produce is available, with choices from a hearty full English, fruit, porridge, and fresh bakery. During the day we serve tea, coffee and light snacks for both residents and non residents.

The Hensleigh is just 300 metres from Charmouth Heritage Centre and the famous fossil beach. The village centre with shops, pubs and restaurants is 200 metres away
Picture of Hensleigh House, Charmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation very good, staff very helpful and attentive.
Shower poor---low power so more of a drizzle!
Excellent breakfast and loved the conservatory setting.

Reviewed by
Judy Ebsworth

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, rooms were comfortable, staff friendly, ideal for all our needs.

Reviewed by
Jon M

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
Overpriced for a basic room

Reviewed by
JOHN MALCOLM

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small comfortable hotel
Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Easy walk to Charmouth beach and many walks nearby.

Reviewed by
Penny P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly. Disappointed that evening meal not available.
Access to reception difficult down steps into a conservatory. A level entrance is available round the rear but not signed

Reviewed by
Rex Vick

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room. Good location. Fine food.

Reviewed by
L Pressman

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic B&b
Booked at short notice and arrived later than planned.
Jim was there to help, and nothing was too much trouble - even arranged breakfast earlier as I was due to leave before the due start in the morning.
The room was clean and tidy - very comfortable and quiet (although I could hear the neighbouring room).
There has been a recent change of ownership/management though they are still subject to previous reviews - I thought they were great and will definitely be back - possibly with our dog as they allow animals to stay.
Thanks to Dawn and Jim for the pleasant weekend stay

Reviewed by
Stuart H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very satisfied
Ignore prevoius feedback as new owners and very accomdating people. I had to set off early so missed out on a breakfast..

Reviewed by
paul hunt

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Make sure your phone is charged!
Great location just a short stroll from the sea but expensive for what you get. As someone with a back problem, I found my bed fairly uncomfortable, but apart from that the room was fine and the bathroom was spotless with a decent shower.
The B&B was unstaffed when I arrived at 6pm, which it turns out is a regular occurrence. There were notices with a phone number to call, and it turned out that a key had been left for me to let myself in. This all felt quite impersonal, and I was glad I'd actually brought and charged my mobile phone - I'd just come from an area of Devon with no mobile reception, so had only charged my phone as an after-thought..... I think advertising for the Hensleigh should make it clear you are likely to need a phone when you arrive rather than assume everyone will have one.

ManagementResponse

We are pleased to say that since we took over at the start of September we welcome all guests personally, and are making many other improvements to Hensleigh House.

Reviewed by
Ginni S

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and in need of a contemporary overhaul
First, I have to say that we only stayed one night. However, our reception was perfunctory and somewhat disinterested - as was checkout. No attempt was made to engage with us as customers or to make us feel welcome. Given that this was Charmouth (a lovely seaside Dorset village) the room was dull, dated and in need of fresh styling in keeping with the surroundings. That said, the room was quite adequate in size with lots of light (once the heavy nets were drawn back) -but, we couldn't really understand why there were Teddy bears on the pillows!! There were no staff on the premises after 5.30pm, so we felt somewhat abandoned as guests.
Breakfast was basic. No yogurt, pure juice or fresh fruit and rather sad sausage - pretty poor given the £120 a night price tag.
All in all this was rather poor value for money in a village which has a number of quality 'boutique' hotels and B&Bs offering genuine quality and customer care.

ManagementResponse

From September 2014 Hensleigh House is under new ownership, with many improvements underway, and many more planned. One of these is breakfast which as you will see from our website reviews is now well received.

Reviewed by
Bruce Thomas

From Lee-the-Solent, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next