No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Eagle and Child Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Kendal Road, Staveley, , Kendal, LA8 9LP
The Eagle and Child Inn is a traditional Lake District Inn, with 5 cosy en-suite bedrooms, great food and real ales. In summer enjoy our riverside beer garden and in winter warm yourself by our log fire. Situated on the edge of the quiet Lake District village of Staveley, we are ideally placed for exploring the rest of the Lake District and is only a few minutes away from the beautiful Kentmere valley, and the bustling towns of Windermere and Kendal. We are the ideal base for walkers, mountain bikers and road cyclists, fishing, golf, bird watching and generally exploring the area. From Wedding receptions to Mountain bike holidays and even photography courses, there's sure to be something for everyone here.
Picture of The Eagle and Child Inn, Kendal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay!
only stayed two days but could happily stay more.excellent place to stay when exploring the area.great pub atmosphere with friendly and welcoming staff,nothing was a problem for them,no need to eat out as the menu and food is excellent and very good portions never managed a sweet im sad to say.breakfast is also very good with a good choice.told all rooms have great views as did ours, rooms pleasant enough to stay in if you did not want to go out.you cant go wrong staying here!

Reviewed by
k wakinshaw

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Freindly vibrant Inn
The Inn was very friendly with the bar area full of locals enjoying the great food and wide selection of real ales.
The Inn provides free wifi which compensates for the lack of mobile phone signal.

Reviewed by
Keith A

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our second stay at the eagle and child . excellent accommodation and amazing food.must be the best breakfast in the lakes.

Reviewed by
Stephen Duckworth

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice experience
We stayed at Eagle and Childs for one night and thoroughly enjoyed out stay, I would definitely stay here again and recommend everyone too

Reviewed by
Abana Samuel

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no title
Rooms fine (except cups weren't washed or changed): food excellent and good value and reasonably priced drinks. To be recommended,

Reviewed by
M Halls

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very pleased with both our room and the food was exccelent
I would highly recommend the food, most especially the lamb shank, wondefull

Reviewed by
G Cooke

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was so good we changed our route to come back again, many thanks
Loved the atmosphere so relaxing

Reviewed by
G Cooke

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Really nice to see a busy pub, friendly, nice atmosphere, really good food.

Reviewed by
Judith P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for exploring Lakes.
We stayed at the Eagle and Child for a night break after Easter. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water and lovely soft towels. Breakfasts and bar food were good.All in all ideal for exploring the Lakes

Reviewed by
Elizabeth P

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely idyllic setting
Very impressed with cleanliness.also very impressed with the vegetarian menu,wholemeal pancakes with creamy mushrooms delicious. Breakfast best yet . recommend short walk in hospitality file

Reviewed by
S Duckworth

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next