No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Eagle and Child Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Kendal Road, Staveley, , Kendal, LA8 9LP
The Eagle and Child Inn is a traditional Lake District Inn, with 5 cosy en-suite bedrooms, great food and real ales. In summer enjoy our riverside beer garden and in winter warm yourself by our log fire. Situated on the edge of the quiet Lake District village of Staveley, we are ideally placed for exploring the rest of the Lake District and is only a few minutes away from the beautiful Kentmere valley, and the bustling towns of Windermere and Kendal. We are the ideal base for walkers, mountain bikers and road cyclists, fishing, golf, bird watching and generally exploring the area. From Wedding receptions to Mountain bike holidays and even photography courses, there's sure to be something for everyone here.
Picture of The Eagle and Child Inn, Kendal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice experience
We stayed at Eagle and Childs for one night and thoroughly enjoyed out stay, I would definitely stay here again and recommend everyone too

Reviewed by
Abana Samuel

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no title
Rooms fine (except cups weren't washed or changed): food excellent and good value and reasonably priced drinks. To be recommended,

Reviewed by
M Halls

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very pleased with both our room and the food was exccelent
I would highly recommend the food, most especially the lamb shank, wondefull

Reviewed by
G Cooke

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was so good we changed our route to come back again, many thanks
Loved the atmosphere so relaxing

Reviewed by
G Cooke

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Really nice to see a busy pub, friendly, nice atmosphere, really good food.

Reviewed by
Judith P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for exploring Lakes.
We stayed at the Eagle and Child for a night break after Easter. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water and lovely soft towels. Breakfasts and bar food were good.All in all ideal for exploring the Lakes

Reviewed by
Elizabeth P

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely idyllic setting
Very impressed with cleanliness.also very impressed with the vegetarian menu,wholemeal pancakes with creamy mushrooms delicious. Breakfast best yet . recommend short walk in hospitality file

Reviewed by
S Duckworth

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location!
Loved the location, had a beautiful view from the window, and sat in beer garden by a stream! Lovely and relaxing stop over!

Reviewed by
A Slade

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a pub
A really lovely pub - good beer and food, comfy bed. We chose it from CAMRA good beer guide - and it lived up to expectations! Highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
T Hayes

From Market Bosworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.