No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Finnygook Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Crafthole, , , Torpoint, PL11 3BQ
Completely renovated in October 2009, the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming, combined with a light and fresh décor. There are no pool tables or fruit machines, just newspapers and books to read as you enjoy a real log fire. You could even re-discover the art of conversation! There are also five bedrooms, most en-suite, ideal for coastal walkers or for short breaks to explore this beautiful corner of Cornwall. Here at the Finnygook we have five simply decorated rooms, most en-suite, all providing a comfortable place rest your head and recharge your batteries. When it comes to location, the Finnygook Inn is incredibly privileged. Perched above the south east Cornish coast in the picturesque village of Crafthole with stunning views of the river Lynher estuary with the Tamar as a backdrop. In the other direction it is only a short stroll to huge views along Cornwall’s south coast. A great way to work up an appetite or even walk off too much lunch!
Picture of Finnygook Inn, Torpoint at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We have stayed here before hence picking it for our weekend break while dropping our son back to plymouth in navy. As soon as we arrived I knew there was something different and said to my husband that the manager must have left it was a bit rowdy which wasn't the case last two times we stayed. The young lady who booked us in wasn't sure what she was doing and was a bit confused a payed as soon as we arrived. Went out with our son came back for a nice relaxing drink before bed still quite noisey. Drinks for a pint of San Miguel and a dry white wine and soda 10.20 I expected upto 7 pound roughly but was shocked at that price also waited to be served a long time and bar man came back of pub floor to glass of customer behind me and served him not impressed. Really enjoyed our previous stays here but not this time did ask at breakfast if it had changed hands and yes as I suspected it had.

Reviewed by
S Lawton

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, value for money in a beautiful area
We stayed at Finnygook for 2 nights so that we could go to the Firework Championships. The staff were very welcoming - the room was small but extremely clean with fresh towels each morning. Breakfast was excellent and we ate from the Specials - both very good. The only unfortunate thing we found was that we were kept awake by people talking and laughing in the bar until the early hours of the morning and then slamming doors at 3 am when they finally went to bed.

Reviewed by
Trisha Ford

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay...
Accommodation was very nice as was the food and drink. The only slight criticism was the manager could have been more attentive to us, granted it was very busy the night we stayed.

Reviewed by
paul b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for one night to attend my sons passing out parade at Raleigh which is a 10 minutes drive away. The staff were very friendly and helpful - the food was excellent. The view from the library/dining room was fab - which made the stay even more enjoyable - I wish we had stayed an extra night - would thoroughly recommend it!

Reviewed by
F Mclinn

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for Improvement
Room for Improvement.
Staff are friendly and a good breakfast provided each morning.
Evening meals were disappointing as all the meals we ate over the 3 evenings in which we stayed were decidedly average especially considering they were a little over priced for a pub. Happy enough with the room, but a couple of the drawers were broken, and I had to use a plastic bag to hold the shower head in place!

Reviewed by
Alan Howse

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming staff & relaxed atmosphere, great stay, beer good, food good. Cheers

Reviewed by
C Moore

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quick break
good value quick break. single use of double room with private bathroom (not en suite) but en suite rooms available for extra cost. good full english breakfast. room a little noisy from bar until closing time but ok if you want to join them.

Reviewed by
A DAVIES

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great getaway
Good value for money, food excellent, staff helpful and friendly,a bit noisy at night but then it is a pub so we expected that. I'd stay here again.

Reviewed by
Mary K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location for a short stay
The location is very good. Close to beautiful coastal walks, small beach and nice views.
The staff also seemed to be fine. Helpful and attentive. Food fairly priced and good quality.
However, the room we booked in was just o.k. Bit stuffy, can't keep the windows open as the kitchen exhaust was close to it and the smell coming in to the room.
It was not ensuite but had a private bathroom just outside the corridor. Bathrobes were provided so we were o.k. as we were just staying there for a night.
The most annoying part was the music noises coming in from the bar, till late night. It was on till about 1.30 am and could hear it in the room continuously. Finally had to wake up, get dressed go down the bar and let them know to slow it down or switch it off. The bar was closed, but still just two people in the bar had the music on. After mentioning it, he did slowed down which I was still able to hear in my room. Put my ear plugs on and tried to sleep.
I would not stay here again despite of the location especially in the same room. Probably other rooms may be bit quieter.

Reviewed by
S Patel

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Finnygook Inn fabulous location, excellent food and great value for money.
What a wonderful find the Finnygook Inn was. Clean, welcoming, super food and all in a fabulous location.

Reviewed by
S Joiner

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next