No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cross Keys Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
1 Park Road, , , Milnthorpe, LA7 7AB
Family run, the Cross Keys has recently undergone a major refurbishmet and now Ian and Sandra look forward to welcoming you to their historic and beautifully restored coaching inn. Milnthorpe has a long history - its busy Friday street market in the Square dates from 1334. The village's heyday was from the middle of the eighteenth to the middle of the nineteenth centuries when many of the buildings in the centre of the village (now a conservation area) were completed including the present Cross Keys. When the turnpike road between Kendal and Lancaster was constructed through the village nearly two hundred years ago Milnthorpe became an important staging post and the Cross Keys gained a fine reputation as a coaching inn with stabling for 36 horses (and receiving guests of no lesser importance than a Tsar of Russia and a Queen from Austria) and a comfortable place to stay - a reputation which still continues today.
Picture of The Cross Keys Hotel, Milnthorpe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed and breakfast were good, and good value for money.. The food we were offered was very mediocre Pub Grub. Another time, if we visited, we would eat out.
Would we stay again? Well, maybe. Would I recommend to friends? Well the hotel is perfectly adequate as a place to lay you head. I had asked to book a table for dinner at 20.00. When I asked,we were directed to the bar, which had a good bar atmosphere,

Reviewed by
Maria L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was as described. Room was good . The staff were very helpful. Altogether everything was fine. Have no problem in recommending it.

Reviewed by
Leslie J

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
The overall experience was very good and the value for money excellent. They are doing a lot of things right although the room needs a little attention it was satisfactory. Excellent breakfast and the food in the pub was also excellent and cheap.

Reviewed by
P Metcalfe

From St. Annes on the Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel the room lovely 4 poster bed and a huge bathroom breakfast was good

Reviewed by
Margaret H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient location
This was a very convenient hotel for anyone visiting the Lake District or just a stop over away from the motorway.

Reviewed by
J Ferguson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
We booked two rooms at the hotel last minute over the phone and arrived late with two hungry children. The hotel staff had the rooms ready for us to unpack and then served us dinner.
We could not find a single fault or concern. The staff were warm and welcoming and dinner was great. Super nights sleep after stressful days of house hunting. Will book again and recommend the hotel to friends and family who like to stay at hotels who will cater for all even at a moments notice.

Reviewed by
Steven H

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience
Visited on way up to Ryder Cup at Gleneagles as convenient stop off from the motorway.
Met our requiremens of clean comfortable accomodation, warm welcome (including locals who use the bar and restaurant) good food and fast performing WiFi.
Would definitely go again if heading for lake district or Scotland.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
Our room was very comfortable with a lovely comfortable 4 poster and a huge his and hers bathroom and all the room missed was a fridge. We like a bottle of water in the room and if you forget to get onefrom the bar as we did you are stuck. Breakfast was really nice with fresh coffee on tap. All in a very nice hotel offering excellent value for money. We would stay here again

Reviewed by
Trevor Johnson

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unclean
windows appeared to have not had a clean for weeks, cobwebs hanging, dust on the wardrobe, central heating radiator in the bathroom was filthy

Reviewed by
linda s

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You could choose which breakfast items u wanted from a menu, but I only fancied hash browns, bacon and sausage ... They didn't increase the amounts to compensate my small option, got one hash brown and one sausage!!!!! But, u could chose hot drinks from a machine, the coffee was delicious... U could have as much as you wished and cereal, fruit and orange juice too.
Room, our room was very, very hot even though we left windows open and fan full on... This made it difficult to have a good nights sleep. Although the bed seemed clean, the floor and bathroom seemed to have been missed in places.
Lovely hot bath with plenty of hot water... Relaxing.
Delicious food in the bar, in the evening. Typical pub atmosphere loud, cluttered... Steak and ale pie was the best meal out we had during our stay in the lakes.. Meat tender, pastry puffed very high, gravy rich ummm umm um.

Reviewed by
H Wilson

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next