No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cross Keys Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
1 Park Road, , , Milnthorpe, LA7 7AB
Family run, the Cross Keys has recently undergone a major refurbishmet and now Ian and Sandra look forward to welcoming you to their historic and beautifully restored coaching inn.

Milnthorpe has a long history - its busy Friday street market in the Square dates from 1334. The village's heyday was from the middle of the eighteenth to the middle of the nineteenth centuries when many of the buildings in the centre of the village (now a conservation area) were completed including the present Cross Keys. When the turnpike road between Kendal and Lancaster was constructed through the village nearly two hundred years ago Milnthorpe became an important staging post and the Cross Keys gained a fine reputation as a coaching inn with stabling for 36 horses (and receiving guests of no lesser importance than a Tsar of Russia and a Queen from Austria) and a comfortable place to stay - a reputation which still continues today.
Picture of The Cross Keys Hotel, Milnthorpe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay!
We stayed at the Cross Keys to attend a friend's wedding nearby. We were able to check in early to get ready, and were left the front door key to get in if we were very late! Our room was great - a really good size, lovely 4 poster bed, large bathroom and all the facilities you need. Breakfast was excellent - the sausages and bacon were delicious! We just wish we could have stayed longer!

Reviewed by
Hayley D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired dated not very friendly hotel
Room dated decor, extremely uncomfortable bed, bad layout, noisey main road, food unedable, staff not very friendly ok if you keep talking to them they do come out of themselves after a bit. Bad value for money. Avoid if possible.

Reviewed by
l page

From hayling island, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, very poor customer service
We stayed in one of the four poster bed, ensuite rooms for £70 a night. The room was great - spacious, clean, good TV and ensuite facilities.
However the customer service we received throughout our stay was truly awful. At no point during our stay were we made to feel welcome. The food served in the restaurant was cheap pub food – that’s ok, you get what you pay for, but the service again was abysmal – we were put in a separate dining room on our own, the food was brought to us without a word, they kind of just dumped the plates on the table and not once did they ask us anything. Not even a “how was the meal”. The breakfast was served in the same manor.
Check out was at 10.30am, and the owner called the room phone at 10.20 to remind us that check out was at 10.30am. It added emphasis to the impression we received throughout our stay, that we were not welcome and they couldn’t wait for us to pay and leave.
I’ll never stay there again.

Reviewed by
Patrick Ferguson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were given a family room above the smoking shelter & outside beer garden.
The locals (who were not entirely friendly) were drinking to 2.00pm in the early hours so not only did we get no sleep at all my 2 year old son breathed cigarette smoke for 4 hours.
Would not recommend !

Reviewed by
Stuart McConaghy

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy
very clean great food good atmosphere the owner and his staff all very friendly ..... what more could you want ? We loved the nice little touches in the bedroom pens highlighter scissor and a sowing kit dressing gowns shampoo etc we would defiantly like to stay again if passing that way.

Reviewed by
m baker

From Heywood, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
Enjoyed our one night stay after attending a wedding in the area. Staff friendly, room clean with tea making facilities. Car very safe with cctv cameras

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but...
Only gripe was that the shower wasn't any good at all - water just dripped out, not enough pressure to have a proper bath!

Reviewed by
G Arumugam

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the lakes
nice place to stay, central to the lakes and the dales. very pretty village.

Reviewed by
h jenkin

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely big room, 4 poster bed comfortable, clean sheets etc, great breakfast

Reviewed by
j hewitt

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accomodation
The food and room was great. The landlord and staff were also very helpful.

Reviewed by
MARK F

From BOLTON, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next