No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ambleside Lodge

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ambleside Lodge, Rothay Road, , Ambleside, LA22 0EJ
Our Lake District bed and breakfast, Ambleside Lodge, was originally built circa 1875 as a Gentleman‘s residence, and was named “Rothay Holme“ after the River Rothay which flows from Grasmere into Lake Windermere. Owning most of the land surrounding the church, both sides of the river and down to the lake, it commanded a respectable and enviable position in the community. In 1912 it was then bought by the local council, and used primarily as council offices until 1978. The field was used for the local sheep auctions on the last Friday of every month, and one of the ground floor rooms was occupied by the local dentist. The third owner of the property was the National trust, whom for 14 years used the building as their offices, and then finally after being empty for two years Rothay Holme was returned to private ownership. Beautifully restored, and tastefully decorated, it reopened its doors to provide quality and elegant Lake District accommodation to those visiting the National Park. Featuring some exceptional examples of original oak panelling, dating back to 1654, and brought here in 1875 from local churches, the skills and craftsmanship that were used, can now be shared by all, in the different rooms throughout the building. Most of the walls are between 2 and 3 feet thick and are primarily constructed from Lakeland stone. Facilities too are good and new for this year are DVD players. Bathrooms are all pleasant, with several having been effectively upgraded and some also have spa baths. The standard of housekeeping and maintenance throughout are to a generally good standard. We also provide a dog sitting service at the very reasonable rate of £10 per day. Please take note that only specific rooms at the property are dog friendly and this is clearly stated in the descriptions of our rooms.
Picture of Ambleside Lodge, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
35% recommended this accommodation to a friend 35% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great value
Very nice old building, and I do understand that old buildings have their own uniqueness. However, I do expect cleanliness and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was certainly not clean, the bed while looking nice, was far from comfortable. I'm sure the mattress was older than me.
I won't list all the issues with cleanliness, suffice to say, the room was not worth the money.
On the plus side, the owners are very friendly and the breakfast was fantastic. I stress again that I do understand this is a very old building with it's own uniqueness, however, if the room and bathroom aren't clean I don't want to stay there.

Reviewed by
V McCarry

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location cosy but a little dated
Room was a nice size,clean but a little dated, The jacuzzi bath looked like there were hairs on the bottom but it turned out to be scratches. Was comfortable but at £135 pound a night expected a little more luxury.

Reviewed by
caroline w

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad stay
Not what expect when i go for a rest. Breakfast very poor standard. Bathroom shower compartment black mold on tiles and round door, extending shaving mirror rusty, smell of ? in bathroom. Bedroom not cleaned on tues 2/9 bed not made, had miles better for what i paid. Never to return

Reviewed by
GARY S

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby but not chic.
On entering the hotel it appeared to be quite nice although not worth the £230 for two nights.
The room was very modern, clean and nice but with electric sockets hanging off of walls not great. the bathroom and the reason my room cost £40 more than my friends was mouldy with paint marks on the floor and bath. The water temperature for the shower was either scorching or freezing dependant on the tap in the kitchen being turned on so I was unable to use. and breakfast was served 8.30 to 9.15am on Sunday but when I arrived at 9am was made to feel guilty as the cook would have to turn everything back on! I will not return to this hotel.

Reviewed by
Allison O

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dissapointed
The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in.
The toilet didn't flush properly
The TV wasn't tuned properly
The Jacuzzi bath was very old and the shower was a dribble
Didn't go for breakfast as it was only available for one hour between 8-9 am we was there to relax not be up at the crack of dawn just to be able to have break fast massively over priced for the room

Reviewed by
m furneaux

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cozy and quiet
I enjoyed my stay at ambleside lodge. It was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful! It was close to the city that you could walk into town but far enough for peace and quiet.

Reviewed by
shawna F

From Toronto, Canada
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stood waiting for ages when we arrived.
Was told we had wifi yet we could not connect on any of our 3 devices.
The hotel smelt of wet dog.
Not very pleasant.

Reviewed by
s jenkins

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay was enjoyable to a point... facilities could have been better..No hand towels.....could have been more equiped with the tea and coffee facilities but staff were friendly and it was clean....

Reviewed by
L Botham

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

DEFINITELY NOT a 4 star B & B!
Plastic orchids and 4 poster bed do not make this a top class B & B. It was clean and conveniently located, but for the price, is not a good experience. Rude attitude when asked for hand towels as none in room. Had to insist. Indifferent quality food for breakfast apart from some fresh fruit, the cheapest sliced bread, stale coffee, sugary yogurts, no meusli or healthy cereals, overcooked scrambled eggs and greasy bacon. If you like a hard, lumpy bed, no heating, then this is the place for you. If not, stay away!

Reviewed by
I Green

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Really friendly staff. Room a bit dated but a lovely location and easy to find.
The breakfast was very good.
Would love to go back if the room decor was updated. Maybe real victorian style like the house.

Reviewed by
michael s

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next