No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ambleside Lodge

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ambleside Lodge, Rothay Road, , Ambleside, LA22 0EJ
Our Lake District bed and breakfast, Ambleside Lodge, was originally built circa 1875 as a Gentleman‘s residence, and was named “Rothay Holme“ after the River Rothay which flows from Grasmere into Lake Windermere. Owning most of the land surrounding the church, both sides of the river and down to the lake, it commanded a respectable and enviable position in the community. In 1912 it was then bought by the local council, and used primarily as council offices until 1978. The field was used for the local sheep auctions on the last Friday of every month, and one of the ground floor rooms was occupied by the local dentist. The third owner of the property was the National trust, whom for 14 years used the building as their offices, and then finally after being empty for two years Rothay Holme was returned to private ownership. Beautifully restored, and tastefully decorated, it reopened its doors to provide quality and elegant Lake District accommodation to those visiting the National Park. Featuring some exceptional examples of original oak panelling, dating back to 1654, and brought here in 1875 from local churches, the skills and craftsmanship that were used, can now be shared by all, in the different rooms throughout the building. Most of the walls are between 2 and 3 feet thick and are primarily constructed from Lakeland stone. Facilities too are good and new for this year are DVD players. Bathrooms are all pleasant, with several having been effectively upgraded and some also have spa baths. The standard of housekeeping and maintenance throughout are to a generally good standard. We also provide a dog sitting service at the very reasonable rate of £10 per day. Please take note that only specific rooms at the property are dog friendly and this is clearly stated in the descriptions of our rooms.
Picture of Ambleside Lodge, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 42% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay was enjoyable to a point... facilities could have been better..No hand towels.....could have been more equiped with the tea and coffee facilities but staff were friendly and it was clean....

Reviewed by
L Botham

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stood waiting for ages when we arrived.
Was told we had wifi yet we could not connect on any of our 3 devices.
The hotel smelt of wet dog.
Not very pleasant.

Reviewed by
s jenkins

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

DEFINITELY NOT a 4 star B & B!
Plastic orchids and 4 poster bed do not make this a top class B & B. It was clean and conveniently located, but for the price, is not a good experience. Rude attitude when asked for hand towels as none in room. Had to insist. Indifferent quality food for breakfast apart from some fresh fruit, the cheapest sliced bread, stale coffee, sugary yogurts, no meusli or healthy cereals, overcooked scrambled eggs and greasy bacon. If you like a hard, lumpy bed, no heating, then this is the place for you. If not, stay away!

Reviewed by
I Green

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Really friendly staff. Room a bit dated but a lovely location and easy to find.
The breakfast was very good.
Would love to go back if the room decor was updated. Maybe real victorian style like the house.

Reviewed by
michael s

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
Hotel is in a great location very handy for ambleside town centre with plenty of parking. Room was ok nice and clean, tv was a bit old and my bed was a bit squeaky but overall it was ok for the price paid. Breakfast is a bit odd as its either a full English or nothing but not a problem for me overall a nice place with friendly staff

Reviewed by
christopher P

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rooms
We stayed in one of the downstairs suites, the staff were really friendly and the jacuzzi bath was a real treat.

Reviewed by
J Isherwood

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Superior room' was used to describe this room
This accommodation lacked the requirements I felt it needed to live up to the title of 'superior room'
although clean and comfortable, the tv could only get 3 channels, wifi could only be connected if you stood at the reception, lack of hot water in the morning, and décor was tired and dated.

Reviewed by
Paula c

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A building and site with huge potential thoroughly spoilt by being completely out of date to the point of neglect. Clean- Yes. Staff at breakfast- very pleasant and helpful. But I'm sorry definitely "not what it say's on the tin"

Reviewed by
Clive H

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we stayed in was clean but needed a complet revamp, its furnishing was very dated and at £135 a night was a bit of a joke.

Reviewed by
Alan M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basics expectations haven't been met.
The room was cold. Arrived at 2:15, heating on at 3pm which wasn't a great start. 3 Rads in the room, two turned off at the wall without reason. Plumbing needed attention though; both hot and cold isolated off under the basin, probably due to splash leaks because the tap itself was loose. We're we expected to carry out ablutions at the bath? Bed side lamp also U/S. We paid over the odds for a room that never met our expectations. Friendly reception mind. Breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
T Hart

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next