No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Armidale Cottages Bed & Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
29 High Seaton, Seaton, , Workington, CA14 1PD
Originally two cottages both built over 100 years ago, the first cottage was built in the late 1600s and is one of the oldest properties in the Village of Seaton. The cottages have been lovingly renovated to a very high standard, retaining many of the original features. A stone staircase, oak beams, a large walk-in inglenook fireplace, wooden and stone floors fill the cottage with old world charm. We look forward to welcoming you to our Bed and Breakfast. Set in half an acre of land with a small orchard, the cottage has wood burning stoves in the lounge and dining room and is centrally heated throughout. There are slate floors in the lounge and hall with wood floors in the dining room and bedroom. Bathroom is shared between 2 rooms only. A superking sized bed will ensure a comfortable night's sleep whilst the broadband internet access will keep you connected to the world outside. A full English breakfast with locally sourced ingredients is also available. Packed lunches can be made up on request. The village of Seaton nestles between the towns of Workington and Cockermouth. Seaton is an old village with easy access to the picturesque coastal plains of the Solway Firth with its stunning views towards the Scottish mountains, and fells of the Lake District. Derwentwater, Bassenthwaite Lake, Crummock Water, Buttermere and Loweswater are all a short drive away. Visitors to the area who are interested in historical topics find a wealth of Roman history. As a continuation of the Roman Wall, the Romans built a series of forts all down the Solway coast, including ones at Workington and Maryport. The most southerly of these forts can be seen at Hardknott Pass. We are committed to delivering the best possible customer service. To that end, please provide us with the most accurate time of arrival and a contact telephone number, preferably a mobile telephone number, so that we can contact you, should we need to.
Picture of Armidale Cottages Bed & Breakfast, Workington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation and I would not Hesitate to stay there again -Beautiful rooms and a spot on breakfast which I could only eat half as it was too much for me to eat and beable to get on with my job(Plumber)
I would definately recommend it and indeed put a photo of the bathroom on facebook to show off to my friends

Reviewed by
Terry Hart

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rob Masters review
A lovely place to stay. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
Robert Masters

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant bed and breakfast
Lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
PAUL N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Armidale
Spotlessly clean ! Excellent breakfast , great value for money would definitely stay again , only negative is the shower which is connected to the tap on the bath with no shower curtain so you have to try and shower in the bath without the water going out of the bath , virtually impossible and ridiculous but nevertheless great value ! Definitely recommend !

Reviewed by
R Lowrie

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Armidale Cottages was beautiful, very welcoming, room,breakfast all fabulous...would stay there again and recommend this B & B to friends.....

Reviewed by
D Morris

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, lovely clean room, excellent breakfast.
Stayed here at late notice on business. Really friendly reception, lovely clean and well appointed room and the breakfast was excellent. Well recommended.

Reviewed by
Malcolm G

From Weybridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Armidale cottages will be at the top of my list for accomodation if ever i am in the area again. I was greeted at the front door by Sue the owner who immediatly offered me a warm drink and sandwiches. My first impression was how well kept and clean the reception area was then when i was shown to my room this was uniformed throughout the cottage and into the bedroom. The bedroom was adequitly equiped with coffee/tea making facilities, tv, dvd player and a radio there was even a collection of dvd's to borrow in reception. The king size bed was comfortable with clean bedding. The one thing that put me off before staying at the cottage was that you had to share a bathroom with another person but when i arrived the bathroom is situated directly outside your bedroom door so this was not a problem after all. I woke to a cooked breakfast with all the trimmings and a pot of coffee. The purpose of my stay was to sit an exam close to the cottage and with thanks to Sue for providing all the above i actually sat the exam refreshed and confident so would like to end this review with a big well done to Sue for the hospitality she provided

Reviewed by
Chris Meek

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy and friendly

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a visit.
We stayed here for one night after a local family celebration. Spotlessly clean, comfy bed, friendly hosts, tasty hot breakfast; all in all, a good experience!

Reviewed by
Barbara B

From Sunderland, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Words not enough.
Everything about the Armidale is excellent. I can not fault one thing.From the moment i arrived i was made very welcome. I was allowed to bring food in and eat in the dining room which is really convenient. Room excellent, very clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning out of this world.
Will defenately stay again.

Reviewed by
R Marshall

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next