No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Driftwood Spars

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Trevaunance Cove, Quay Road, St Agnes, Truro, TR5 0RT
Whatever the time of year, the 4 star rated guest accommodation at the Driftwood Spars offers a warm and friendly welcome. It provides a comfortable environment in which to relax and enjoy your holiday. This traditional, family owned Cornish B & B also has an onsite dining room and microbrewery. Driftwood Spars is ideally situated in St. Agnes, a place of complementary contrasts, from wooded valleys and deep dark tin mines, to light and airy seascapes. There are carnivals, fetes and fairs, music and theatre, regattas and fishing contests going on throughout the year. There are also numerous interesting galleries, potteries and design workshops. Pubs and eating-places abound and the village is famous for its old pubs and nightlife. The establishment is a 17th century building full of history. The name ‘Driftwood Spars’ hints at its local history - the ceiling beams in the bars contain spars from some of the ships that have been wrecked in Trevaunance Cove, the local beach. All of our well equipped rooms are ensuite and some boast wonderful views. Plenty of parking is available and there is free wifi for guests in the main building. Please note some rooms are located in the annex across the (quiet) road these do not have wifi, but are very suitable for dog owners. In November 2008 the Driftwood Spars was awarded for it's pub dining experience, it gained a 'Taste of the West' Silver award for 2008 and again in 2009. In April 2009 & 2010 we were named CAMRA Kernow pub of the year. In April 2011 we were named Free House of the Year by the Publican Magazine.
Picture of Driftwood Spars, Truro at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 4 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog Friendly
Great customer service from the Reception Staff. Great food and great beer. Great location. And best of all only a fiver extra for the Dog, the most realistic price I've seen in a long time. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Anna T

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Very nice room, excellent atmosphere and service. Friendly staff. Certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Eva M

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, I always try and stay here. The food is great the rooms are nice and they even have there own micro brewery next door. Also for the holiday types it is right next to the beach.

Reviewed by
john p

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, lovely food
My single room was small but nicely decorated and well appointed with plenty of complimentary teas etc. In the annex across the road from the main pub/hotel, it was quiet and allowed for easy access to the beach. The food in the restaurant was excellent - I had the fish - with good sized portions nicely served; for breakfast I chose smoked haddock instead of ther full cornish and again a generous portion. Parking is in the Pay and Display, but free to residents. Location is great - 50 yards from beach in small cove, and right on the cornwall coastal path.

Reviewed by
P DIckinson

From Painswick, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.