No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Homelands Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
85 Galgate, , , Barnard Castle, DL12 8ES
Homelands Guest House is situated in the market town of Barnard Castle, within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District, as well as the cultural and shopping centres of Newcastle and Harrogate. The A1 is just 20 minutes away. Barnard Castle has lots of interesting places to shop, from clothing boutiques and food stockists, to several antique shops. A short walk from the town centre is Bowes Museum. A very grand structure, which has very close ties to the late Queen Mother, the Museum houses the famous feeding silver swan. About 8 miles from the town centre is High Force, the largest waterfall in England. Only 6 miles away is Raby Castle with its large deer park and gardens; one of the best examples of its kind in the country. There are several reservoirs in the area; the furthest away is Cow Green, at about 12 miles. Most have day fishing permits available, subject to having a fishing licence. We also have access to 200 mts of the River Eden which is 25 minutes drive away Way marked walks are in abundance all over the area with several quaint old-fashioned public houses offering good quality food conveniently situated after a thirsty stroll. For those wanting more adventure, the Lake District is only 1 hour’s drive away. PETS POLICY : PLEASE NOTE PET OWNERS : WE WILL ONLY ACCOMMODATE PETS BY REQUEST. GUIDE DOGS ARE ACCOMMODATED.
Picture of Homelands Guest House, Barnard Castle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A needed break
Very accommodating hosts on our short break. This B & B is beautiful and in a brilliant location near to places of interest. There may be a little space to improve on specific dietry needs/options but the breakfast was definatley ample and very well prepared. Very friendly.

Reviewed by
Yvonne P

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night guesthouse stay
Extremely welcoming and friendly Guesthouse ideal for a just a one night stay, or longer.
Garden room where we stayed was lovely at the end of well kept garden.
Breakfast was very nice, with plenty of choice for all tastes. If we visit Barnard Castle or the area again will definitely see if they have vacancies.

Reviewed by
J Gorman

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Breakfast
Central location, warm welcome, excellent breakfast using top quality ingredients

Reviewed by
david t

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

start of the walk
Top hospitality, and monumental breakfast! I couldn't have wished for better start to re join the Pennine Way via Teesdale way and railway path.

Reviewed by
Alan MItton

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
Homelands B&B is a fantastic place to stay, just a few minutes walk along the road into Barnard Castle with its cafes and castle ruins. The owners are incredibly welcoming we got a tray of tea and biscuits when we arrived which was an unexpected surprise. The rooms are clean and very nicely decorated and coordinated, we had a small ensuite which was very clean with plenty of towels including bath sheets which was a nice change from struggling with a small bath towel.
Breakfast was great, nice fresh fruit salad, yogurt, cereals, and hot breakfasts too, all delicious. The owners couldn't have been any more accommodating and I would recommend Homelands then to my friends.

Reviewed by
R Thornton

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hosts. Lovely clean room and excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
W Mansfield

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flying Visit
Arrived late in evening, left early in the morning. Room was very compact but that didn't matter since all I wanted was somewhere to sleep.

Reviewed by
Nic B

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super place

Reviewed by
K Foulds

From Carnforth, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed and. Breakfast
We really enjoyed our stay here, rooms lovely and a wonderful garden. Accommodation was first class and hosts were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return again. Thank you.

Reviewed by
V Hopper

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay in Barnard Castle
Beautiful guest house really enjoyed our stay excellent service and food ten out of ten....

Reviewed by
s wharton

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.