No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pheasant Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Casterton, , , Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2RX
Located under the fell in the peaceful village of Casterton you will find The Pheasant, an eighteenth century traditional coaching inn, standing in the centre between the garage and the church. The Wilson family Carole, Paul, son Duncan and his wife Heather new owners of the Pheasant are creating a warm and cosy atmosphere with the introduction of a log burning stove in the bar area and a comfortable lounge with an open fire. Enjoy either a quiet space to read a book or daily newspaper or afternoon tea with friends. Sharrow Bay trained chef Duncan creates new and exciting seasonally changing menus with the best of local produce. Enjoy the menu in our bar area or stylish new dining room. Our new modern refurbished bar boosts a selection of locally brewed cask ales which change on a regular basis and a wine list which has been carefully chosen for all tastes. Well behaved dogs are welcome in the bar area. Bedrooms look out over fields or over the village and to the fell. Private car parking is provided to the rear of the building whilst established gardens, lawns and mature trees enhance the north side of the property. Just a short distance from the interesting market town of Kirkby Lonsdale, Casterton lies within easy distance of the Lakes and the Dales and the Forest of Bowland. For golfers, there’s the excellent 18-hole course along the road, and round the corner in the other direction a 9-hole course where visitors are always welcomed. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Picture of Pheasant Inn, Kirkby Lonsdale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, comfortable and friendly
Unfortunately my stay was for a very short overnight- would have liked to stay a couple of days to enjoy the facilities and the food.

Reviewed by
Christine A

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

traditional country pub with lovely food

Reviewed by
i williams

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
We had a wonderful weekend we had at The Pheasant Inn. A beautifully presented, cosy pub with comfortable rooms, a great atmosphere and wonderful food. I cannot praise the whole team highly enough. So convenient for the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland too. Not to be missed and we will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Jane P

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab place - ideal stop over on a long drive north
So much nicer than the generic motorway stops. excellent value for money. I arrived late and left after breakie so not much time to try all the facilities, bar/restaurant etc but from what I did see it was really lovely, menu looked fab! Quiet and cozy, just a few miles off the M6 and in a really pretty rural setting. WI-FI a bit iffy in bedroom but it's free and available in the public areas etc.

Reviewed by
Julie D

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect place to stay
The Pheasant is such a wonderful place, clean , tidy and very welcoming. All the staff are very attentive and can't do enough for you.
But the best thing about this place is the food - absolutely fantastic is the only way to describe it. I would highly recommend anybody that enjoys good food to give this venue a try.

Reviewed by
Hughie Williams

From Pwllheli, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Very pleasant stay. ood food and staff very helpful

Reviewed by
David McNaughton

From Galashiels , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class.
One night stay on the way to the dales, l will stay longer next time. I booked a single room which was a good size with a lovely view. All very comfortable with a lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
Linda B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first class
hotel and staff very good pleasant clean, rooms were 1st class absoloutly no complaints in any way will use again

Reviewed by
Gérard Duffy

From Saltcoats, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Pheasant
The Pheasant is a lovely inn set in perfect country side: the food is excellent, and the staff very pleasant and helpful.
It is also a perfect base to enjoy the beauty of the Dales.

Reviewed by
John S

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lancashire Retreat
Just up the road from Lonsdale and surrounded by countryside, the Pheasant is an ideal quiet retreat with excellent food and locals in the bar.
Only observation: the keys are attached to a giant ball which is difficult to get in pocket!

Reviewed by
Martin Moore

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next