No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pheasant Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Casterton, , , Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2RX
Located under the fell in the peaceful village of Casterton you will find The Pheasant, an eighteenth century traditional coaching inn, standing in the centre between the garage and the church. The Wilson family Carole, Paul, son Duncan and his wife Heather new owners of the Pheasant are creating a warm and cosy atmosphere with the introduction of a log burning stove in the bar area and a comfortable lounge with an open fire. Enjoy either a quiet space to read a book or daily newspaper or afternoon tea with friends. Sharrow Bay trained chef Duncan creates new and exciting seasonally changing menus with the best of local produce. Enjoy the menu in our bar area or stylish new dining room. Our new modern refurbished bar boosts a selection of locally brewed cask ales which change on a regular basis and a wine list which has been carefully chosen for all tastes. Well behaved dogs are welcome in the bar area. Bedrooms look out over fields or over the village and to the fell. Private car parking is provided to the rear of the building whilst established gardens, lawns and mature trees enhance the north side of the property. Just a short distance from the interesting market town of Kirkby Lonsdale, Casterton lies within easy distance of the Lakes and the Dales and the Forest of Bowland. For golfers, there’s the excellent 18-hole course along the road, and round the corner in the other direction a 9-hole course where visitors are always welcomed. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ We will be closed Mondays during November
Picture of Pheasant Inn, Kirkby Lonsdale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Place to Relax
Beautiful Inn in super location. Food and service excellent. Ideal place if you want a quiet, relaxing time but I think a car essential.

Reviewed by
John Lowther

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay at Pheasant Inn, Casterton, Kirkby Londsdale
We booked one nights stay and evening meal at the Pheasant Inn, Casterton and had a wonderful time. The staff were all very helpful and truly friendly. The food was outstanding and the range of wines was exceptional. I would thoroughly recommend this very well presented venue and will surely be returning.

Reviewed by
S Horton

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay at The Pheasant
I am re-iterating the comments that I wrote in the Visitors' Book at The Pheasant - every aspect was 5 star. Looking forward to having a longer stay next time.

Reviewed by
Margaret Tuzuner

From Y Felinheli, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 3, a bit small, bathroom basic, had to wash hair in bath using shower head attached to bath taps, t.v. tiny, however the food was excellent, bed comfy and very nice communal areas, bar restaurant etc. Staff very helpful and attentive would stay again.

Reviewed by
Shirley T

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay. Excellent food.

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was comfortable but food was great!
Very pleasant overnight stay at the Pheasant Inn. Staff were helpful and friendly, room was clean and comfy but food was the star of the show. Both dinner and breakfast were absolutely excellent meals with some locally sourced produce enjoyed by us both. Would gladly return and like to stay longer.

Reviewed by
Clare W

From Berkeley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best hotel we have stayed in for a long time. The room was lovely and the food was excellent as well as value for money. We were very well taken care of our whole stay. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
G MCGARVEY

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
The food was superb only slightly better than all the staff who were very freindly and helpfull. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
The Pheasant Inn is a real gem located in an idyllic village setting.
The food is exceptional and the accomodation represents amazing value.
Although it was a quiet night in the bar, the real ale options and the friendly service ensured the prospect of a return stay when next in the vicinity.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay unfortunately would have liked to stay longer, would certainly go again. Staff very friendly and effficient nothing was too much trouble. Room lovely outlook and food was delicious.

Reviewed by
P Rees

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next