No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brandraw House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Brandraw House, 2 West Street, Aspatria, Aspatria, CA7 3HG
Against the stunning backdrop of Skiddaw, located in Aspatria in the North-west of Lake District National Park, Brandrawhouse B&B offers relaxed accommodation, free Wi-Fi throughout and free public parking on site. The property is set right off the A596 road, only 15 minutes' drive from the renowned harbour town of Maryport
Each room at Brandraw B&B features an en suite bathroom. Some rooms offer views overlooking Skiddow Mountain.
Breakfast is available every morning, and includes an à la carte selection of yogurts, cereals, toasts, fruits, and beverages. A hearty cooked Cumbrian breakfast is also available. The property is happy to accommodate any dietary requirements
Your home away from home.
The house retains many of its original features, whilst providing the comforts of modern day living.
Families are welcome.
For children there is enough to explore, like the Aquarium of the Lakes and a climbing wall (indoor) in Maryport, Wild-Life attractions and walking/hiking in the surroundings of Lake Bassenthwaite……!

Please Note: We are a Non-Smoking property. Regrettably, we cannot accept pets.
Picture of Brandraw House, Aspatria at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly basic accommodation
Not the most modern of establishments but very clean and comfortable and suited my needs perfectly. Large comfortable bed with good linen. Large shower room across the corridor (far nicer than a pokey little cubicle found in most b&bs), personal toilet and wash basin accessed from room. Generous tea tray and fresh milk willingly provided with a smile. Early breakfast at 7am was beautifully presented with much attention to detail - candles to keep the coffee pot warm! My fruit and yogurt was such a lovely change from cardboard cereals and my hot selection came freshly cooked on a hot plate and again, was generous. Yes,perhaps the building could be cold in winter but every room had an electric heater if required and Robert was only too willing to switch them on, although I much prefer a cool room to the usual over-heated ones. No complaints at the price.

Reviewed by
Carole E

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Accommodation was everything I needed for the stay, and the owner was always on hand for a chat and to address anything required, Very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Daniel T

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place
Thank you very much, very friendly owner and very impressed with the service

Reviewed by
T Perkins

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brandraw House
The proprietors of this business are lovely people. Unfortunately, the building both inside and out desperately requires a lot of investment. Our room had a boarded-up broken window. The breakfast was meagre and all of our eggs were grossly over-cooked.

Reviewed by
B Major

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely home from home - very friendly welcome!
We stayed here just the one night. A charming Victorian house filled with personal mementos from the owner's lives. A lovely place - would recommend it to anyone. Well situated for the west coast and Lake District. Very friendly family-run place,
We will be back!

Reviewed by
Denise Hart Rodriguez

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exploring North and West Cumbria
Aspatria was a useful base, with good places to eat with 10 miles or so. Brandraw House may at first sight look a little run down, with scaffolding up on side of the property, but the interior was fine, and the room looking towards Skiddaw was roomy and light. The breakfasts were fine.

Reviewed by
David R

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Family run hotel with lovely views of surrounding countryside and Skiddaw.
We stayed in the Skiddaw room. There are some lovely period features in the property.

Reviewed by
S Read

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great guesthouse!
great location next to the Lake District with Carlisle and the coast within easy driving distance. Lovely old Victorian building with real character and the breakfast was excellent!

Reviewed by
M Ramsay

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Please don't let first impressions sway your judgement. From outside, the house and parking area look a little tired but our stay was very comfortable and the room was spotless. Our host and hostess were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our stay at Brandraw House. Can't fault anything very welcoming familly and made us feel at home. Will come back next year, this was our second stay.

Reviewed by
A Young

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next