No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmoral Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Kerley Road, West Cliff, , Bournemouth, BH2 5DW
New Owners Margaret, Dave & Denise welcomes you to the The Balmoral hotel, which has one of the best locations in town. The Balmoral is the perfect destination for visitors of all ages. The hotel is family run, in an informal, friendly atmosphere, offering home comforts and excellent traditional cuisine. Our aim if for all our guests to have an enjoyable and relaxing stay. The Balmoral Hotel is in a fabulous location situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, enabling us to have Glorious Sea View’s. There is a level access from our large Car Park and a lift which serves the main hotel. The Balmoral is just a stone's throw from the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) which makes us a ideal location for conference delegate or tourist alike. All rooms have either bath or shower en-suite, tea & coffee making facilities & direct dial telephone, with many of the rooms having the glorious seaview's mentioned above. We also offer free WI-FI to all guests. Our Bar, Lounge and Bar Balcony welcomes you offering comfortable surroundings along with the those beautiful views across the Bay,whether having lunch from our Bar/Lounge Menu or relaxing here with a drink..it.is a pefect place to relax & unwind. Our Balmoral Lounge which again boosts the same views, offers Sky Tv on our Cinema Television. We and our staff look forward to welcoming you to the Balmoral Hotel......' Same Sex Groups: The Hotels Policy is we advise that you contact the hotel direct before booking online. Should you not advise the hotel, the hotel can refuse the booking on arrival.
Picture of Balmoral Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 152 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a refurbished room but will look fab when returned

Reviewed by
Sam F

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one nights stay
excellent customer service, food great, lovely views over bournmouth coast, only stayed for one night but all was good.

Reviewed by
nigel s

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good in many respects
This is a difficult review because the proprietors have tried hard to make the stay a good experience, but there are some serious problems.
We booked a "Large refurbished luxury room with sea view" which was a very fair £80. The staff were freindly, the breakfast was good, the room was large and generally comfortable. The big problem is the poor general condition of this hotel. Unfortunately what was clearly once a beautiful Victorian building has suffered decades of poorly executed, unsympathetic alterations and stripping of decorative features. Theres too much damaged woodwork, dodgy decoration, gaps, holes and ugly surface wiring, especially in the public areas and the breakfast room. Unfortunately even our recently refurbished bedroom and bathroom lacked imagination and flare. Small details like a few pictures, a headboard and quality lighting were absent. The bathroom though clean and fresh, was just not good enough in 2014 to call luxury. Most of the above could and should be massively improved in a relatively short time by a competent handyman. I know the owners have a plan in hand to get this work done and I dare say the economics are problematical, but best returns on their investment will be restricted until these problems are corrected.
Having said all that, it's a good location, though our sea view (only on 1st floor) was somewhat compromised. The room was exceptionaly large, the bed was very comfortable and the car park was more than adequate. We had a good break staying here and would probably come again. But this hotel could be so much more and I sincerely hope the owners are able to succesfully realise its potential.

Reviewed by
D Taylor

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly hotel
Me and my husband truely enjoyed our weekend the new owners are currently renovating the hotel has it is very tired at the moment but the rooms was clean and warm the beds were very comfortable with lovely top class bedding the breakfast was beautiful with plenty of choice and the owners and staff was just beautiful helpful people would definately return to this hotel

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Craig

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Im sure there are better hotels in Bournemouth
The hotel was a little tired to say the least. As such it didn't feel that clean. There were holes in the curtains and even in a wall. The heating was not turned on even though there was rain and wind and a storm so the room was freezing. The breakfast was only between 815 and 915 and no option for an earlier breakfast even if you were running the Bournemouth marathon! Room had a sea view but nothing like those on the website. Music played from rooms nearby and bar area from 11am onwards. I would say its overpriced for what it is, and there must be better and indeed also cheaper options in Bournemouth. On the plus side the staff are really friendly and the location near the sea also its 1minute to the convention centre.

Reviewed by
SUZANNE A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money!
Good old school B&B! Nice warm home from home atmosphere.

Reviewed by
J Shamedje

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good phlace stay for a short visit to bournemouth
The accommodation was reasonably priced and with the added bonus of a good breakfast, it was definitely value for money.
The hotel is a little tired, but its current management is working through the building updating the property and I'd imagine once the work has been completed the hotel will look lovely. The room was adequate for our weekend visit. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Customer service was very good and the hotel personnel were very accommodating. Good location. Would recommend for a weekend break.

Reviewed by
Barbara Ohoro

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upgrade
The hotel is in an ideals location, but is in need of modernisation. Bedroom furniture needs upgrading along with the decoration and gaps in woodwork in the bathroom ( holes filled with toilet paper)

Reviewed by
Dawn S

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Balmoral hotel Bournemouth
Pleasant all round place to stay, clean and tidy somewhere to park the car what more does one need , the owners have pointed out what they plan to do regarding the decor so i don`t need to make any negative comments on that. I would have no problem going back to this hotel if I venture that way again.

Reviewed by
T Davies

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget
This hotel cost me £120 for 3 nights, but I wish I spent more.
The room I stayed in was ok, it was small and the bed was tiny.
The room needs updating and brightening up.
I think the hotel is undergoing renovations that are needed.
Like I said I wish I'd paid out some more.
With all that said I've stayed in worse and have stayed in a lot better.
Don't think I will be returning.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next