No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dunsford Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
16 Stanger Street, , , Keswick, CA12 5JU
Dunsford is a beautifully restored Victorian house providing high quality accommodation exclusively for discerning couples. It is ideally situated in a quiet location and yet is only a two minute walk from the town centre, coach station, shops and eating places. The lake is also within easy walking distance. All Dunsford's bedrooms have en suite shower and toilets and are furnished and decorated to the highest standards. Colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and a clock radio are provided. All rooms are fully central heated. Breakfast at the Dunsford is cooked and served by the resident proprietors using only the best produce in the relaxed atmosphere of their pleasantly decorated Dining Room Dunsford Guest House is ideally situated in Stanger Street which stands alone close to the Town Centre. It is quiet and peaceful whatever the time of year. At the top of the street is the beautiful River Greta with a footbridge leading into Fitz Park and to the fells of Latrigg and onto Skiddaw. The private car park which guests are welcome to use, can be accessed via the passageway to the rear of the property. There is also unlimited free on-street parking to the front.
Picture of Dunsford Guest House, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We arrived to a warm welcome from Deb. Our room was really nice with great views of the fells out of the window. The room was really well stocked and even had marshmallows to put into our hot chocolate. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The fresh fruit that was available was the best I've seen. My husband had a cooked breakfast each morning and he also said that it was delicious. The hotel is in a great location, close to the town centre, the lake and the fells so you are never far away from something to do. Deb gave us some good advice on places to eat and where to go. We will definitely be staying again and would highly recommend that if you are visiting Keswick then stay here.

Reviewed by
Kay W

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter break
We booked the Dunsford after reading reveiws on here and have to say it lived up to everything which was said. We were met at the door by Debs and received a lovely warm welcome. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean. There were lovely little touches all round form the marshmallows for our hot chocolate to a bowl of fruit and even a little Easter basket filed with chocolate eggs and sweets. Just lovely and thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent and Charlotte could not have been more polite or attentive. I would definitely recommend The Dunsford , we will definitely be returning. Perfect home from home . Many thanks for a lovely stay. Judith and David

Reviewed by
Judith Bosomworth

From Choppington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Deb and Keith go out of their way to make you feel at home. They make you feel one of the family rather than a guest.

Reviewed by
K Gallagher

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our short break, deb and keith were fantastic, it was like staying with freinds the food was great the guest house was close to town and the lake they gave you information on where to go they were brilliant would definitely recommend staying with them, will be booking again soon.

Reviewed by
carol c

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

thoroughly recommended. Very welcoming and helpful owners who made me feel very comfortable. I would certainly return. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Darren B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
The break we had at the Dunsford was perfect. The owners Made us feel really welcome and were so helpful. The place was spotless. The breakfast was fantastic. We would love to stay again.

Reviewed by
David C

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay for a couple in Keswick
There are not many B&B's which have a 100% positive reviews and for Dunsford Guest House it is fully deserved. Unfortunately we only stayed there the one night after watching the Tour of Britain Cycling. Deb cannot do enough for you and the place is spotless. Our room was waiting with biscuits, sweets and even marshmallows for your drinking chocolate. Breakfast was delicious. You had a good selection of cereals, toast, preserves, yoghurt, fresh fruits, berries and of course the good old English cooked breakfast. All you need for a day in the lakes. The location is perfect, very central for the town. We will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Gee

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dunsford Guesthouse - what a great stay. I'll be going back!
Dunsford was absolutely lovely. The cleanliness was exceptional, facilitates great and Debs and Keith, the owners were brilliant. The room was lovely with a tv (inc free view channels) and tea and coffee making facilities as well as a few nice treats.Deb couldn't do enough, she gave us advice on where to go, where to eat and where to see. She booked us into a lovely Italian restaurant with no fuss.Breakfast in the morning was delicious, with a wide selection of fruits, yogurt, cereals and juices and a great full English as well. An all round great stay, we would recommend and will b going back.

Reviewed by
L Jones

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Twenty-four Hours in Keswick
Dunsford Guest House has a four-star rating. It isn't enough stars!

Reviewed by
peter belcher

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay in keswick!!
My partner and i stayed here for two nights on the 26/27th of August 2013 after reading excellent reviews about the guest house. We were in no way disappointed. We were greeted upon arrival by Debs and Keith with a hot cuppa and some cakes... Which basically set the tone for our stay. We both felt genuinely welcome and found it to be spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bedding was tremendous! Haha We can highly recommend the Dunsford to anyone wanting to stay in Keswick. Thankyou very much Deb, Keith and family!!

Reviewed by
alan sarson

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next